(Almost) Back On Track: The Black & White Surf Session 📷

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it. - George Moore

You totally got the point, George.

It was an extraordinary experience to travel to Lisbon and be part of Steemfest². When I came back home, I brought a bag full of uncountable memories and new ideas with me. Yet, it was wonderful to realize that: everything I am and I want to be is here - at home.

Head in the clouds and feet on the ground - happy to be back!

@surfermarly smiling after her yesterday's surf session

It feels good being home again!

I love to travel, to discover new places, meet new people and get inspired by new experiences. However, to me there is nothing more valuable than coming home.

It's important to travel and broaden one's horizon, but it's also important to know where you're from. I've always appreciated living at a place where I feel completely safe and happy. No matter how far I travel or how crazy a trip might be, when that airplane touches the ground of my island, everything is all right.

Yes, I'm a dreamer and an adventurer, but I know very well where my roots are.

Maybe it's one of the most valuable achievements in life, finding a place on Earth that is perfect for you.

To be honest, I was really sad when I left Lisbon since I had such a great time there.

It felt as if I had to say goodbye to a group of friends without knowing exactly when I'd see them again.

But then putting the key in the lock of my house's door felt incredibly right.

A couple of days later, the fresh impressions were safely stored in my memory and I slowly started to get back to my routine.

Wherever you go and whoever you meet on your adventures, there will be always moments, encounters, stories that are going to change you and your following path forever.

I'm right now in that stage where half of my mind is still busy enjoying the memories and the other half is already making plans based on these new experiences.

That's why I was still not very concentrated during my yesterday's surf session. I pretty much missed a couple of really nice waves, just for being distracted.

It was rather a fun session than something else 📷

Wave over head surprise - that happens when you're not concentrated at all :-)

But then... Clenching my fist after riding a good one :-)

I had a blast being in the water again, however I will need a couple of more sessions to regain full performance.

Lucky me, according to the wave and wheather forecast there will be plenty of opportunities to find my rhythm again during the next days.

Besides all the positive excitement for Steemfest², I felt a lot of pressure before traveling to Lisbon due to my speech. In the end it was much easier than I expected, but who would have known that! :-)

Also my regular life is quite calm. Being surrounded by 300 people, chatting with lots of them for hours and in different languages and not sleeping much during four days and nights was quite a challenge.

Now that everything is over and everybody is getting back to their routine, I have the sensation of being a bit burned and needing a break.

Even a surfer needs to rest from time to time :-) So that's exactly what I'm planning to do during the next weeks: reload batteries!

I'll keep you posted from time to time...:-)

Marly -

Today's album 📷

Half of my mind is still somewhere else...

Even though I wasn't very concentrated I caught a few good ones

That look perfectly demonstrates that I was acting as if in a trance...


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quote found on pinterest.com.

Sort:  

Beautiful photographs...

I am so grateful to be home as well. I was sad to leave, then had a really long transit home. When I arrived back it was the best feeling in the world. I didn't realize how much the familiar soothed me, how much I had missed it.

So glad your back on your waves, it was an honor to meet you. I am looking forward to the next time our paths cross :)

It was a pleasure meeting you. I'm wearing the necklace almost every day :-)

My return flight was quite long, too, since I had to fligh over another island to finally reach mine...
Now I'm looking forward to a quite silent winter time :-)
See you around!!

How in the world do you take such great pictures! I especially love the wave over the head. Really spirit lifting. Welcome home and much gratitude for your share.

Thank you! The GoPro takes them :-)

But where is it? On your board? A friend with you? A stick? Thank you by the way for the dialogue, you rock. Safe travels.

No probs, and I'm not traveling right now (see article written above).
The GoPro is mounted at the nose of the board.

This look classic...

This is an awesome photography. Its really amazing art and also creative photo. I really impressed your creative photography.

Thanks for your post... :)

Awesome monochrome...especially the first picture..

good post skiing, I love to ski. but have not tried it for ages.

Skiing???

Sky...

It's called surfing...

yes ... it's true my best friend ...

Today is also a wonderful wave ♫ It is good to have a good wave tomorrow ♫

wow this is awesome.... you love surfing...i like to watch surfing..love surfing.you had such a great time over there.

home is always the final destination.

Home is always the best destination :-)

Tus post son una wapada :)

Gracias, me alegro que te haya gustado :-)

Woooow..!!It's beautiful place😍😍👌
Best of luck✌✌

Welcome back @sufermarly...lovely photos

Thanks!

U look sexy in ur photo is absolutely perfect... Makes me wanna try surfing.. Honestly I love the swag

Hey dear @surfermarly i m Happy to see your photos.You look an expert swimmer. Dont you feel afraid of so overflowing water while swimming?
LISBON is among the charismatic cities of Prutgal.
No doubt it is very beautiful.

Dont you feel afraid of so overflowing water while swimming?

No, not really :-)
Thanks for stopping by!

wow great activity I appreciate you. Well done.
My pleasure @surfermarly

Though black and white...
but awesome

according to one of the sayings: "There's no place like home and home is where your heart is." A place where you can find comfort , love and safety.

Good reads here @surfermarly :)

this is such a nice post...worth it to stay

nice post.god bless you

So glad you arrived home safely. Isn't it wonderful how we travel the world exploring and meeting new people and arriving home is so "special" and sometimes I notice that I enjoy so many memories and experiences from the trip almost as much afterward as I become more rested and thoughtful.

The new hair looks so much easier to surf with.

Less weight when wet. ;-)

I really love this post, the pictures and its gifs makes it more cool to embrace...