You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wildlife: Hare - Rabbit / Feldhase

in #photography5 years ago

The Last time I hunted I think was the week before I joined the UN, so close to 30 Years ago, but no rifles the friend i went hunting with used a crossbow, and i can say although we saw a few deer, we were terrible and knowing the way the wind was blowing or at being quiet enough to get close enough to any of them to get a shot so no Amina’s were injured but it was a fun experience

Sort:  

Wow, a crossbow, that's real hunting like they did hundreds of years ago :)

A wildlife photographer has to behave like a hunter, I mean a hunter with bow or crossbow, because he has to get closer to the animal than a hunter with a rifle. He also has to take care of the wind and has to be quiet ... and he does not injure any animals, although he gets his trophy ;)

And to me the best trophy a photo of the animal in its natural habitat and at its best

Some set up a hide and wait for hours on end just to get the perfect shot got to respect them for that

I agree - and one day I will try it myself, but these photographers are really incredible patient.

Not sure I will ever try it myself although I would love the thought of the potential shits my patience or lack there of would lead me to do some other sort of shots

Same with me - I don't know, if I have the patience to sit and wait for longer than 15 minutes, but I think, I'll give it a try when the weather is OK this weekend :)

I am sure you can do it and WOW 15 minutes I would struggle with 3 or 5 minutes lol

I don't know, what we are going to do this weekend, but I think, we are going to visit my parents. There I could try to go for a "hunt" with my long telephoto lens ;)