crackshot, December 6th

IMG_8920.jpg

The camera didn’t cost much, only $1400. I made that in a few weeks at the Shack, but it wasn’t much. No, the distinction that changed would amount to much more than any paycheck or summer sale event. As a new owner of a Canon 6D MK I, I evolved from a novice to an enthusiast. Prior to these two books this winter, I believed in passion alone. Passion’s… overrated. So’s self-control. I worked damn hard, flippin’ patties into double burgers. In the motion a smithy drops molten iron into water, I dropped fry baskets down, shaking them to aerate and crisp. Dollar above minimum wage, I earned my stripes in the Square. Yet, the same issue with goals came up. Once we met, I lost all direction afterwards.

IMG_8905.jpg

I grow stronger each photograph, but the man in the frame never changes. Pictures only capture what can be seen, evidently.

I got my camera cracked the same month I got it. I simultaneously learned the utility of both insurance and a dedicated bag. I see a pattern of taking less care of my toys than a child. I really am a Gameboy. The camera’s crack only highlights a large issue: I enjoy the play but stay away from practice. I am not at a level to ignore that; no one sits above work. In fact, work could be the name of the game if I play it right. Take, the challenge of photography, for example. People say they can’t do it for a few reasons. Don’t have a “good” camera or anything to photograph. Boom, we’re done here. Now, try this. Photograph what you have, to make it attractive. Maybe that’s only good for me- the fact is, focusing on taking “good” pics or having a “good” camera limits yourself, about as much as having a new camera and cosmetically breaking it…

IMG_8915.jpg

Cameras aren't porcelain; taking care of it doesn't mean never touching it.

To no one’s surprise, a craftsman is nothing without their tools. Conversely, I am something of a photographer with a point-and-shoot, light meter and other devices. If I didn’t keep up the upkeep though, I could go outta biz. I ruined my last 50mm lens. I cracked this LCD. I dropped the Canon PowerShot, breaking its door hatch. The cameras telling me I look more like a klutz than a creator. However, if these readings continue as prescribed, then maintenance means as much fun as making. My mother always said something like, “You know, eating is fun. Cooking isn’t. Everybody wants to eat, right?” Her banter could be on the right track. Sure enough. Although, cooking to music or splitting up tasks with a significant other adds enough spice to have great taste. Improvement of the tools spells improvement of the work. Care for the tools means care for the trade. Organizing the environment’s beginning to bear fruit. The next item to organize doesn’t need much space, but better planning. I have to schedule my time.

Post Summary

  • Goals thinking pales in comparison to systems thinking. Reaching goals feels good for the moment of completion while processes persist in that good feeling.
  • The clothes don’t make the man- “a man made them pants”. A tool is only as adept at its user- self-imposing limits reduce the possibilities.
  • Environmental design improved my space, thus far. A similar application to time management may increase productivity, a theory worth testing.
Sort:  

Oh man! I love these shots, and I love how creative you've been with photographing your own camera -with the same camera-. I didn't even notice that you used a mirror until I saw the reversed "Canon" logo in one of the shots. Very nice.

Care for the tools means care for the trade.

Exactly Kai. We learn how to appreciate the things we use. But we also have the opportunity to see something that most of us don't pay attention to; we decide in having a closer look at objects most people choose to overlook. This mirrors our very own life. I take care of specific stuff, and I'm very well aware of it, so I hunt for stuff that fits my personality rather than my needs.

You're spitting facts here. Genuinely grateful for the challenge- it hadn't occurred to me how mindful I might be with everything I've got.

Makes me want to challenge myself to do other things. Check out my books, my train stations, neighborhoods and as small as my desk drawer.

Dear @thatkidsblack,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

Arcange, you are the dear one for maintaining this platform with your contributions, and apprising all its participants of the relevant happenings. For that, agreeing to a proposal is as easy clicking a button.

It's my pleasure.

Thank you for your support @thatkidsblack, really appreciate it! 👍
Without imposing and as we are in a renewal period for proposals, if you could take a look at the HiveBuzz Proposal Renewal - #248 as well 😁