TimTravels - Adventures in Bali: Monkeys of Ubud Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

What's up my Steemian friends! Tropical greetings from Ubud, Indonesia


In my last post you already saw the beautiful rice terraces of Ubud with their impressive green landscapes. A place you should definitly visit when you are in Bali, Indonesia.

Today we will visit the monkeys of Ubud in their almost untouched home, the monkey forest of Ubud. It takes you approximately 20 minutes with the scooter to get from the rice fields to the monkey forest of Ubud. Once you arrived you will already see some of our little friends hanging out on the street. And when I say hanging out I literally mean it.

You will see them all around the place. The interesting part here is that the humans and monkeys live peacefully together. Sure, I sometimes noticed that the monkeys tried to steal some food from the local supermarket but other than that there were no incidents. The locals confirmed me that the monkeys are peaceful and happy - as long as you give them food.

Having this in my mind we entered the forest. We had to pay an entrance fee of 50k per person, 50k IDR of course. Not EUR or USD. 50k IRD should be around 3€ and the money is used to save the forest and support the animals.

Once you entered the forest a guide explains you to hide all kind of plastic bags from the monkeys. They are almost drilled to grab these bags from you since they think they might contain some snacks for them. Furthermore, never look them straight in the eyes, NEVER touch a baby! The mother most certainly will become mad at you, trust me you don't want this to happen. Otherwise you will have a good time there. For some IDR you can buy bananas to feed the monkeys. I however kept a safe distance to them since they are still wild animals and I were busy taking pictures rather then feeding them.

Enjoy the pictures and say hello to our hairy friends!










Right now I'm in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and we will leave tomorrow to Langkawi! Anything you recommend I should see in Malaysia? Let me know!

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

I was absolutely terrified when I went here! It’s incredible to see but definitely was a hairy experience for me.

Hey buddy, looks like 1st and the 9th pic are the same.

And seeing how there are no captions, I'm gonna do the honours. ;)

Epic Capshunz

  1. Classic distracting-your-friend-so-you-get-a-bite-from-their-plate trick can be seen pulled off here.
  2. When you're not sure whether to HODL or jump ship upon seeing the recent market.
  3. That pipe there makes it seem like it's a private toilet of the monkeys. lol
  4. Hanging out with the squad.
  5. When you see your post got upvoted by a gorilla (yep) and it's gone from $1 to $10.
  6. When you're caught in front of the fridge having midnight snacks. WHILE ON A DIET.
  7. When you're made to eat "fresh veggies" instead.
  8. Waiting for votes and comments on your article as soon as you hit the post button be like.
  9. "Seriously Tim, you couldn't tell me you were clicking a pic?" the monkey on the far right probably.

I remember visiting this place together with a friend where I have known in my former job in Japan. Just careful with your belongings because the monkey will get anything withn their reach to you like shades, drinking bottle etc. Great post @timsaid

Haha! That one of the monkey laying on the edge of that wall is great. Little lazy thing.

I'm a little scared of the monkeys since I've heard the news how one of them ate infants balls and ran away.
That was horrifying!

lol! Nightmare stuff

Monkeys knew that there is a great photographer nearby and started posing lol. I can say for sure they also wanted to participate in your vlog.
How bout you make another vlog in a month? I liked the previous one :d

They were definitely posing. I think if making a little drone video. Won’t be a Vlog but still a video. Let’s see, maybe a vlog will come too :)

In ubud, babies crying in the night hear what they hear and see people disappearing and disappearing. they explain that the strangers they did not know their doors stole and then suddenly disappeared. In the island where predominantly the Hindus live, these stories are often told and believed to be true. These were the things I heard before. Are these real ? What do you think about culture?
You really made a great sharing from where I was so curious. monkeys seem to be educated :))
you took great pictures. The compositions and the shooting qualities are very good.
As always, you are a successful photographer!

How beautiful! Well they share something in common with humans, only if they have food they are happy. Interesting to know how to relate to them so as not to interfere with their way of life. Excellent post Greetings.

Hi bro , want to visit ubud soon. Can you make a budget related post . Specialy the accomodation , safety , food , scooter costs and abything u like to add . Great photos btw. Keep them coming .

monkeys as they say are the most intelligent species after human beings

wow man its awesome photography of monkeys their movements

loving the monkeys!!

Beautiful photo!

Great job! I've never had a shot at monkeys but I know these are not easy shots. I like the last two pictures. The first picture is worth repeating in the sequence so I kind of assumed it's there on purpose. I assume you're using a zoom lens. Would you share any settings of your camera? Thanks!

Whether you are still in Bali or already in Lombok. because I will march 31st to lombok

I’m in KL, Malaysia

Wow welcome to KL .
Do not forget to stop by our place
PUTRAJAYA

Enjoy the beauty of Bali and Lombok my friend

wow great photography @timsaid. you still now malaysia? Malaysia is a beautiful country, they have so many beautiful place. if you stay here 2 more day then i will recommend so many beautiful place. i will travels here for 15 days. its amazing.

Nice pictures! We'll be in Ubud next week but I already know we won't go to the monkey forest, I'm scared of so many monkeys in one place! We'll definitely check out the rice terraces though :)

I also like to travel...
nice photography, taken by an expert hand..
your content of the post is so informative for us..
thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post with us..
@upvote & @resteem has done..

Wonderful photograph, I appreciate this monkey

Wow, it looks really good in the forest. In addition, the monkeys should always be in contact with...

Have a nice holiday

Your writings are perfect and the photography is too enthusiastic...@timsaidz

hahahaahahah... its a monkey gang :P

you can join my channel on discord to promote your post here
https://discord.gg/BPFWudT

Nice photography of monkeys! You pass the great time in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

wow you have captured them beautifully :)

Very cool friends and adventures you find very good results

This makes me so impressed to travel and witness the beauty of nature!!!! You have done a great job!!!!
-cheers-

They are beautiful for me they are very intelligent although sometimes they tend to be aggressive, I have not gone to Malaysia I do not know places there I hope you meet and show us some place there, success in your trip

Awww you're in Malaysia! So jealous! Hope you have a safe trip :)

Amazing photos as always @timsaid, great that you travel so much. With your photo talent you will collect so many beautiful pictures for your self and years later will have a great time looking at them. I am sure.

I have been to Ubud already twice in my life and that place is amazing. Monkeys also love to steal plastic bottles from people and they sometimes climb on people's heads, but not actually harming anyone. Once a monkey climbed on me and tried to get into my pockets. That was so funny. Good that I did not have anything in my pockets :)) Thank you for great flashback.

To travel and leave some personal things it's not that easy,even I am not privileged to travel and the beauty of nature I thank God for having you as a role model. Thanks for sharing.
Wanna be like you someday

excellent post !! Congratulations

Good day sir, thanks for sharing this piece it was wonderful taking time to read, and above pictures are all nice will be looking forward for more

Good day sir.
Please am a newbie I just joined steemit this month and I posted my introductory this week, but I noticed I didn't receive attention on it, I don't know if there is any advice or help you can render @steemtab God bless

wow....what a photography my friend
doing gerat job
nice photography
i like this photography
just amazing
DSC_4564.jpg

Hola @timsaid
Que nota con los monos
Te recomiendo saltar de playa en playa.
Son de aquellas de ensueño bañadas por aguas turquesas donde puedes estar durante horas y horas y donde ponerse las gafas de snorkel e ir en búsqueda de miles de peces de colores.
Las islas favoritas se encuentran en la costa este: Perenthian, Redang y Tioman.

)

Pretty cool life as monkey in indonesia :)

Awesome travel! Rare opportunity...you are so lucky travelling the world...Nice monkey pics...

happy see monkey his life peacefully disana.moga the existence of monkey there no menggunya.biarkan mareka life peacefully there

hello hairy friend!! he/she is so cute! you know so many peoples thought monkey was their born father/mother! how funny!

Nice shots gaandu :P
Don't they come after your camera? :O

Nice pictures!
I was in Ubud last year and also visited the Monkeys :)
It was nice to take me back!
Thank you for sharing

Cool pics, especially that last one.

the monkey was thinking why @timsaid captured my photo! may be he likes me! hahaha

Very cool article and great photos.
Good job 👍🏻

Awesome photography, sir. It’s so nice to see that the monkeys freely roam around the town and that there’s mutual respect between the humans and monkeys — though I think that the monkeys are really playful! Haha. Anyway, thank you for sharing these photos. Made me want to visit Ubud as well. :)

There are 3 pages
Pages