TimTravels - Preveli and Kournas Lake - Day 3

in #photography7 years ago

Welcome my dear Steemian friends to a new episode of TimTravels!

Have you ever been on an island and thought it's too big to see everything within two weeks? Well Crete is one of these islands for sure. It took me four hours to drive from the west to the east coast. Every minute was worth it.
In todays episode I will show you the beach of Preveli and Kournas lake. Both are places you need to visit when you are on Crete.
Preveli is known for its palm beach and fresh water coming together with salt water. I would love to show you pictures from above but I have to wait for a new drone.
The way to Preveli leads you trough a canyon which is stunning to see. Once you went past that canyon you will need to walk a long way down. Considering the hot temperatures it is very exhausting to get there.




Welcome to the Palm Beach! Time to visit a little paradise





Since the water is from a spring it's very clear and drinkable. As you can see many people are enjoying a little bath in the very cold water. I also took a bath and forgot the cold temperature when I saw the beautiful surroundings




Far and wide you will see palms, hence the name palm beach. Not what you would expect on Crete!



Either you come by car or you take the much simpler way by boat. For just 8€ it will pick you up at one of the major harbors, bring you to Preveli and back.


On my way back. Many stairs are in front but it's quite enjoyable. Don't you agree?





After Preveli I was on my way to Kournas Lake, the only lake on Crete. The moment I saw this sign it remembered me of an horror movie. Kinda scary: The Lake




The horror movie turned out to be a heaven of peace and relaxation! A little fairytale world









Tomorrow I will drive to a place called Saitan beach. It's quite far away but many locals recommended me this beach. It's known for cliff diving and goats. From there I will visit the next palm beach, Vai. There is much to do and I am excited to take new pictures. I also have good news, I ordered a new drone and it will arrive on Monday. So stay tuned and I hope you enjoyed this episode of my traveling.
Steem on
Tim

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Wow. This is breathtaking man. Please, don't take so long to post next time.

Haha I will try. Tomorrow I will make a post for sure!

Which camera did you use?

hey @timsaid can you follow me plzzz i will be happy if you do that

It really is a beautiful looking place isn't it.

I'd dip my toes in those waters any day of the week! :)

i love stuff like this because i dont get to travel much OS. its got me wanting to do my state. there are so many wonderful parts of your own backyard that u miss

It's amazing what you can see when you actually get out there and explore. You've got my vote & follow. Can't wait to see what is next!

Yes, It's really very beautiful. The photographs are awesome. Thank you for sharing..

Hey @timsaid! Do you have a IG or twitter account I can follow?

I only use Steemit 😄

Me too....

this is perfect also for instagram @timsaid

Wow, this seems to have been really worth every foot step. Glorious location and what amazing views. Thanks a lot for sharing this goodness with us again!

Namaste :)

I am fascinated by your posts and your travels @timsaid Great photos, beautiful views ... I would like to be able to travel like you ... Unfortunately for 4 years I have no possibility to travel ... I hope steemit will allow me this ... I want to travel and get to know the world! Upvote and follow you!
Regards! :)

I wish you all the best luck!

Beautiful photograps, thank you for sharing with us. It's so nice that our community share so many different topics. I've learnt a lot from all the posts on steemit. Look forward to see more.

It is a wonderful place.
I want to go.

Palm beach looks amazing from top of the hill, but i wasnt aware that there are water snakes..

Gorgeous! What an opportunity!!

This post received a 1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @finnhaasl! For more information, click here!

Picture of the mountain and the sea is very beautiful, this place is almost similar to a recreation place in Sabang, Aceh.

@timsaid this is a DREAM thank you so much for sharing

Glad your enjoying your stay in our beautiful Crete... Unfortunately, Two weeks are not enough to see everything there is to see!

I need at least two months!

Omg great views @timsaid, gonna safe some and use them as wallpapers. Nice post.

Feel free to use them

Amazing beach and palm forest 🌴 Very pleasant indeed!! Cannot wait for the view from above with your new drone! Travel safe @timsaid

Thanks! Next time I will take care of the drone

It's been a while since your last post glad you are back with another location and great shots. Those palms look like a prehistoric jungle, and that snake in the water, i am speechless... did you swim in there? :) We are planning to do a sail trip with a yacht to Crete so nice to find out about the locations in advance. Thank you for sharing.

A trip with a Yacht? Where is my invitation? :) and yeah I swam there, was awkward next to the snake

very nice to be able to walk the road, can enjoy the beauty of nature, thanks, I can enjoy other nature through your post, because I do not have time to walk, at least can know about the state of nature there, but very satisfied if you can see directly ... thanks.

the photo of the scenery is very amazing, I like his photos

Very interesting article , i feel like i was there :)

Hello Tim your pictures are very good and welcome, there are many people who can not afford to visit such places. You do a good job. Good luck in the future!

Beautiful clear colorful photography, thanks for sharing with us. Those pictures make me feel as if I am there too. Look forward to see your new drone pictures.

Beautiful travel😊. Have a safe trip.

Very nice photos!!!!

thx for sharing

Big story - beautiful travel!!! I like photos

@timsaid I really hope that you have time to go to Chania and visit falasarna beach, kedrodasos,elafonisi and balos. Then i promiss you will be amazed! Chania area is by far the best part of Crete.I think in the past i have uploaded some photos from there. Also while you are there visit also sfakia town and try the local pie. Crete is my favorite island.

Your posts are very interesting, the pictures you show are also very interesting.
I'm sure this post is on the tranding list for this Week.
Reesteem!!! 👍👍👍

Wow such amazing views. These are awesome photos. Beautiful clear cool water. It looks so refreshing. And all the palm trees just add more to the beauty. Thanks for sharing your visit here.

Your photography is incredible, what camera do you use?

Thank you so much for sharing u r amazing experience with us....just amazing...hope one day I will experience this dream to travel ....I m facinated by

Very interesting trip, I did not even sorry the time spent on such a long article.
I am waiting for more such stories.

What an interesting article. I envy those who have time to travel

Thank you for sharing ...nice @timsaid

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @kingscrown from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

enjoy enjoy!

Thats the paradise great water and nice palmtrees i like it thanks for sharing:)

Tavern is a good place for me :P I gotta hit 45 rep Maybe someone could read my articles about Astana, car sharing and Bolshoy Theater? Huh? Thank you

I really like your pictures. You're color grading is very good!

Good Job

That was so beaitiful, majestic. So relaxing and calming. I really start to love Crete.

Wow what a spectacular friend, really looks like to forget about everything for a moment and just enjoy the beautiful scenery. I was surprised by that photo of the snake in the water. I had to use translator to understand, since my language is in Spanish, but I did not want to miss out on this beautiful post that caught my attention. Very good post, and greetings.

Lovily photos!

So wonderful, thanks for sharing this beautiful pictures. These pictures make me feel as if I am there too... the water just so crystal clear, and the scenery are breathtaking.

Wow...this is lovely... Cool photos..which camera did you use?? I love the quality of the pictures..thanks gor sharing..i would really love to visit someday

Wonderful tour, and nice photographs. I look forward to seeing more of your posts because they're awesome!

I love traveling and I love photography as well so this was something great to read about! thank you!

Saving is Earning

When you travel, saving money is often the exact same as earning. Quite often, exchanging a couple images with a hotel for a free room or a tour company for a free tour is totally worth it. In fact, when I was in Southern Africa, I did this a lot. Safaris are expensive, so I’d create a couple images for a company to use for their marketing purposes in exchange for a free safari. It really is win-win.

i want to go on an adventure! awesome capture!

There are 3 pages
Pages