You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What sports did you play at school?

in #physicaleducation5 years ago (edited)

Great post mate! Ok.
So at infant and junior school we had no choices. The school was in a small mining village in which we lived and it was Rugby in the rugby season and a month of cricket either side of the 6 week holiday except for one day a year which was sports day and we spent the day before getting the athletics stuff out of an old outhouse which stunk like a 70s subway, washing it down before a day spent being told to run here and jump that followed by a further day putting it all away again.

I played football in the street every night as I lived in a cul de sac with a perfect brick wall at the end for the goal. The guy who lived in the end house and who owned the brick wall hated us kids as he regularly had to have the wall repointed after the ball hit it so many times the mortar used to drop out!

High school was in a slightly posher village a couple of miles away so did a range of sports except for rugby . I loved football and played cricket but we also had the dreaded cross country running and we had a gymnasium and I hated jumping over pommel horses!

As I started O levels I stopped PE as there was no room on my timetable due to doing an extra O level in French and as I also did drama, this got me out of PE!

Cold miserable days and the smell of winter green and piss are suddenly filling my nostrils so I will leave or there!

Looking forward to reading the other replies to this :-)

Sort:  

Cheers! Original content and less of the dlike is my plan :)

Sounded pretty limited and weather dependent to start with but you got lucky with a brick wall and a cul de sac - ideal!

@blanchy mentioned the dreaded Pommel Horse as well - you guys are scarred from that one!

The link I shared above does say that the amount of sport teens do drops heavily in the UK at 16 y/o because it's no longer a required part of the curriculum. I was doing OK until Uni started and that first term without sport really left its mark that winter.

The pummel horse victims are ending up on sportstalk. No coincidence that! 😂😂😂. I feel a national enquiry coming. 90% of pummel horse victims are introverts and rely on virtual worlds to build relationships

hahahaha....I couldn't get up the damn climbing rope either and regularly got pelted with bean bags.

hahahaha....I couldn't get up the damn climbing rope either and regularly got pelted with bean bags.

I never did any sports again in education. A levels were at a tertiary college and I went on to do an HNC at at Poly. However, I worked at BT and we had a Sports and social club to die for back then so we had departmental football, cricket, pool....you name it, there was a team playing it with the added bonus of beer of course!

weather dependent

You are joking right? If it was light, we were out on the rugby field come rain, shine, sleet or snow.

BT sounds like the place I need to get a job at.

You have to be a bit mental to play rugby in the snow - no thanks!