You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on being muted by the #plantpower community. Do you think this is fair?

in #plantpowered2 years ago

what a douchey way to manage a community...

honestly, I can relate how that felt degrading but you really shouldn't be worried about that... just make a mental note that their specific community isn't a very welcoming place.

these "communities" only represent some moderated sub sections of this blockchain, and I am sure you'll find like-minded folks elsewhere who'll accept your authenticity by your interactions and not based on some formal #introduceyourself post or what-not.

pfffft

I've been on this platform for quite a while now, I am using multiple accounts for my personal means as I see fit, I've never done any proper introduction of my irl identity whatsoever.

You certainly should be careful not to pick fights with whales who could flag you into oblivion around here, but you also certainly don't need to let anyone bully you into introducing yourself in any specific way they want.

You'll also have to accept if they don't want you there if you don't accept their rules... but who wants to be with those sheeples anyway... lol... I'm sorry, probably a bunch of really nice folks over there, just with an overzealous power tripping moderator...

Sort:  

Thanks so much for all of the upvote support! And most of all for the comment. I have come to the conclusion that submitting content into groups does not really matter for the bigger picture. The purpose is just to put it out there, and anyone who might be interested will somehow find it. Any other vegan related efforts will be placed elsewhere relevant or most likely just onto my blog or within actifit reports only - with generic food tags. And besides, nobody can stop me from visiting other plantpower member articles and leaving some good vibes there.

I will say that intentionally picking a fight with a whale will never be part of my agenda. But saying nothing is not my style either. True intentions are not often clearly seen by those who are power hungry. I guess it depends on their own filter of reality whether or not to flag someone into oblivion. It is true there is definitely some balance needed when it comes to standing up for yourself, and also not sabotaging yourself.

I am perfectly willing to have any of my opinions on this page changed over time, after new interactions and experiences on hive. And I have already moved on from wanting to be part of that group :)

well, I wouldn't underestimate the power of being part of a group, and especially here for the purpose of building upvote support and "curation" on your content communities will be an essential part... but you don't have to abide by arbitrary rules is what I am saying.

the experiences on this chain can be a mixed bag and the underlying economy is heavily skewed to say the least, but it's a great place to meet interesting folks, too...

anyways... let's be actifit friends (so that I'll get notifications when you post your reports) I'll gladly extend the upvote support that way and I've also enlisted you with @dustbunny to help with the teensy weensy rewards on comments, too.

Just when I think that something finally makes sense, there is always another angle to consider. As you have seen, understanding the social aspects of being part of a group does not come very easily to me. The way my mind works can be a bit perplexing to say the least. Even just trying to join in has mixed results. But I will take a break, then try again with other groups. There seems to be so much that goes unsaid here because most people have been here for quite some time. This is why I appreciate your thoughts and guidance. I would love to be actifit friends, thank you for the help in making sense of this :)

I've sent you a friend-request via actifit.io. You'll have to go to their site and accept the request, that'll let me get your notifications in the actifit app. I'm notoriously bad at touching base on hive itself, so those notifications of your reports going up will help me a lot. ;)

I had no idea the website has a friends feature, and that we could get notifications via the app! I accepted your request, and one other that was sitting there for who knows how long...lol

excellent... looking forward to your next report.