Three Tune Tuesday. Radiohead.

in #pob2 years ago (edited)

I knew this day would come sooner rather than later. Radiohead, one of my favourite bands ever. The genius that drips off these guys knows no bounds. The Bends is one of the best albums ever with songs like Creep and Street Spirit. Guitarists hated the song Creep so much that he tried to ruin the song while recording but strumming down on his electric guitar with a high level of distortion before the chorus. The producers declared that this was the missing piece of the jigsaw and kept this sound in.

Three.png

They could have made ten more "The Bends" but they chose to push boundaries with albums like OK Computer and Kid A. Their album In Rainbows is a masterpiece. They can't really do no wrong.
So as per usual I'm not gonna give you main stream like the Creeps or the High and Drys. I prefer the tracks that are hidden in between the greats but are greats in their own right.

Spectre

They only went and asked Radiohead to do a Bond theme tune and this is what they came up with. I tell you what it is a grower but now I love it. The orchestra alone in this is unbelievable. It's so Bondy with the swirling string section and just the Shirley Bassey backing. It's class.


Source

Weird Fishes

Ah I just love In Rainbows. I recently watched a video on Youtube of a son sitting down with his classical music educated father to sit through In Rainbows and the father nearly creamed himself at the quality. Weird Fishes is one of those tracks that is just class. I quite like dancy music in general so I am a big fan of the high tempo, fast beat music.


Source

Vegtable

We go back to the beginning for this one to their breakthrough album of Pablo Honey. I loved the guitar arpeggio all the way through on this one and then the build up to the guitar solo at the end. Johnny Greenwood is a legend on the guitar with his own style. He makes the guitar scream at him. His solos are amazing. Here is a live version. Love the ending. Doesn't make sense but it is right. It's in E minor if anyone is asking.


Source

So these are my three tunes for this Tuesday. I could do 90 tunes on Radiohead and they would be great. The three I picked out are the ones I liked this year. Maybe next year I will do 3 different ones. The Bond song though. What a thriller.

But the sad part is I have never seen Radiohead live yet myself so they are on my bucket list the next time they are in the UK or Ireland I will be there.
Thanks to @ablaze for hosting Three Tune Tuesday.

Sort:  

Weird Fishes is a great track. My favourite on In Rainbows and would be up there in the reckoning for a top 3 spot for me too but damn it’s hard to choose!

My Iron Lung, Black Star, Airbag, Subterranean Homesick Alien, Idioteque, Pyramid Song,Jigsaw Falling into Place would all be contenders for me.

Love Pyramid Song which got me into e verything in the right place. There are just so many. I was gonna go with Sunterranean Homesick Alien because it is one of my favourites . Its just class. We could go on forever here.

I have never been a huge fan but do like them. I will listen to the second two as haven't heard them. I did think their bond theme was a belter when they did it. If only it got chosen!

I didnt even realise it didnt get chosen Boom..i didnt know there was a Eurovisiom.song contest for the bond theme..who bloody got it? Adele? EILISH???

I can't quite remember. I remember reading about the song online somewhere and reading that it didn't get chosen to be in the film. Can't even remember who did get it now!!!

So I googled it!! They wrote it for Spectre but the director couldn't find a use for it! Shitey director then!

The film wasnt great either so i recall.

I liked it, I have liked all the Craigy ones apart from quantum of pish

I can't tell them apart. Casio Royale and Skyfall were classics.

I'm a huge Radiohead fan as well. They are such amazing musicians, each album is a work of art in my eyes and ears. I love how they have evolved and always manage to sound ahead of their times, not many bands can do that. Love your choices here. Weird fishes, wow that song means a lot to me, represents quite a huge part of my life xxxxx

Great minds @trucklife-family ... great minds. Yeah the song resonates with me as well. Don't know why. Just love it. I think they are geniuses. That daydreaming video is amazing. Read up on this song. It's about Thom's ex partner of years and years who passed away. He opens the same amount of doors for the amount of years he was with her. Powerful song.

Radiohead used to be one of my very favorite bands ever, too. I like almost all their songs. I was lucky to enjoy them perform LIVE thrice, in the late 90s and early 00s!

Wow a fan so. Yeah I love their 90's era. It was class.

Congratulations @blanchy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Ah you're a big Radiohead fan, very good. They are band I've never seen live, but are most certainly on my wish list. I love that you avoid the classics and go for the lesser known gems that will be new to some listeners and may open the door to them listening to more. Weird Fishes is next level brilliant and I agree that In rainbows is a masterpiece and a under appreciated one at that.