You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: the @hive.curation scheme

in #pob3 years ago

@acidyo. Can you explain to me what the different is between how hive.curation is doing what he is doing to what Ecency is doing??
I delegate to hive.curation and get hive, thats generated through upvoting members and posting posts.

I alao delegate to Ecency where I get hive and points, I can then exchange the points for upvotes = paid upvotes.

Same with actifit. Exchange points for upvotes.

Where is the big different between all of those and maybe even others??

Sort:  

The difference is we earn those Ecency points by being active on the platform which are then ours to do with as we wish. This means supporting other Hive content producers as well as many other options. "Vote trading" or whatever involves a mirror I guess.

You don't have to be active. You can earn it from delegation and just use other interfaces :)

With all due respect, I didn't say have to. I'm not familiar with the delegation side of Ecency, I assume you're awarded ESTM the same you would be awarded Hive by delegating to OCD, Curangel, etc. We then power up, exchange, trade, those earned Hive. If I'm mistaken, let me know. Those earned Hive dividends on the delegation are then ours to do with as we wish the same as those ESTM which have multiple ways to earn.

Leaving your app on earns, each reblog or post earns, commenting, voting, etc, they all earn because it's your Blockchain activity. Once earned, they're yours to do with as you wish.

What Acidyo brought to our attention here, including that hive.curation screenshot he attached which looks pretty shady to me is questionable. What good-karma and ecency have going is not shady or questionable and I don't think considering them a scapegoat is cool when an account is in question.

You are reward ESTM points from Delegation + Hive. What I question is that you can use ESTM to exchange for Upvotes which is another way of paying for Upvotes.
So I struggle to see the difference in paying for upvoting with delegation or with points exchanged for me that 2 things are the same.

Now with ESTM, you are not on an automatic whitelist and you can't assume you will get an upvote with by using ESTM. You can try and if the Ecency team redeem your post good enough, they will allow it and this is the biggest difference I think

When you spell out the difference like that it's a fairly significant one, we're in full agreement.

Ecency is my choice front end, I've seen them mentioned one other time now when a vote sharing account is in question and I can't help but do this because I, personally, earn ESTM and think they're good for the Blockchain. Points allow me to increase vote value of content I appreciate by adding much as $1.60 (last time I checked) which is nearly double my vote strength.

Ye it is :D

Ecency also uses the RC for creating accounts for new users therefor helping with onboarding which has always been problem for Hive, that another way to add value here ^^ :D

I'm not sure, never looked into them properly. Maybe @good-karma can give us some insight on that.

I'm assuming there's limits and it's not offering just self-votes back but also something that highlights your posts on their dapp as it goes through it. I also doubt the focus there is to maximize rewards for posts and returns for delegators where that's the main shtick here with hive.curation.

As you said yourself the 16% APR is too good to ignore, yet you ignore the effects it may have on the ecosystem or your investment in general compared to proper curation and distribution of inflation.

Delegation to @ecency gives Ecency points daily and we started to return all curation reward back to delegators because we mainly need delegation for onboarding people. Points have some use cases within Ecency where you can promote and boost content, tip others, etc. all reviewed and we do manually curation. We don't promote self voting or have any special rule for self voting. I will just mention @cwow2 so he sees as well. Also we will likely remove all this hassle once RC delegation is out so we can continue onboarding people...

Yeah I figured there's more to it than what was mentioned, the main drive for delegations being account credits is really good and I respect that, at the same time returning all curation rewards to delegators. Thanks for chiming in.

I understand how it works, I just have trouble seeing how thats different :D
I delegate to lots of different things including Ecency, but also Hive.curation.

Ecency never promises a vote, since all reviewed you might not get curated at all. Here from what I understand problem is automated self voting encouragement. Haven’t read in details just quickly skimmed through the post.

That is a good point.
Well its like self-voting since 20x is getting advetised for delegations above 5000k.

Under that you just get the hive curation but no vlotes

Also it may every promise a vote, but it can be a bit scruwed. I try to test this, where I boost different kind of posts and from what I can see, if a post doesn't have a picture then its not considered to be worthy.
But some of my actifit posts are worthy and I would say that a lot of my other posts are way more valuable that just actifit posts.

Oh I didn’t know that, me personally don’t mind if post doesn’t have any images, so that maybe personal preference of curator

I don't see a problem with, I just found it funny that they can get boosted my another more indepth / better post, didn't xD

So if Hive.curation made a token on HE and you could exchange those tokens you earn via delegation for upvotes, then it would be ok and legit?

That just sounds like the same thing with a side token. There's no extra value being created or efforts being put into curation, etc.

Okay so thats the difference. So because of onboarding efforts from Ecency and Actifit and other added values to the Hive ecosystem, than that makes it okay to exchange points for upvotes or getting upvote just from using the app (actifit).

I'm unsure about actifit but ecency does place a lot of value on Hive with their dapp and like good-karma mentioned above the main point behind the delegations and point system is not to enrich or unfairly reward the delegators and their users compared to the rest of stakeholders.

I agree. Ecency is creating a lot of value for hive and I use their mobile exclusively.
I just think the margin is thin and tricky when it comes to stuff like this.

But I have undelegated 1k from Hive.curation now :)

Yeah but you must see that hive.curation does pretty much nothing but automate everything and collect a cut (most likely). That doesn't bring a lot of value to the ecosystem, if anything it takes value from other deserving authors since we share the same rewardpool and gives it back to those who delegate to it.

@cwow2, I'm asking myself the same question.
I don't know about actifit but I can't see how using ecency points to boost your own post with an upvote up to $3.17 is different than what hive.curation does.
I have no take in either by the way, just trying to understand why one is ok, but not the other.

My understanding from this post is that the main problem is self voting, whatever way it happens, no?
Well, personally I never do it simply because it doesn't make sense to me and is unfair to everybody else. However, the authors of most of the posts I read and upvote do it. I've also actually noticed a few influential people on Hive doing it. One of them was actually mentioned and commented on this post.... I find it a bit ironic to point the fingers on one side at the little guys but let it go on the other because it's a friend or someone who's doing a lot for the community.... we should all be equal, no?

Well. Your self-upvote is 1-1 equal to your HP stake. But if you delegate 1000hp to hive.curation then you can get an upvote x20 = 200000 hp. Thats where the unfairness is