Saddest Christmas (Original Poem): being alone in the holidays

in #poetry3 years ago

These days are days of joy and laughter, presents, lights and being surrounded by your loved ones, that's why December is one of the favorite months of so many people. But even though it is a time for sharing and giving, forgiving and feeling happy, it doesn't always turn out that way because the joy around us might increase our sadness if we're lonely. I wrote this poem so many years ago and tried to express that feeling of a deep loneliness because of the leaving of the loved one. We've all lost someone sometime, someone we'd love to spend this days with so we might relate to these lines. It's not my intention to make you feel sad in the holidays, I just remembered this poem and wanted to share it with all of you. Thanks for reading it.


“Saddest Christmas”

I hadn’t felt this sad before
tears are running down my face
love, you’re not here anymore
where you used to be, there’s an empty space.

I can’t believe it, your shadow’s gone
so has your voice, so have your eyes
I’m sitting here, I’m all alone
I’m filling up these holes with lies.

And I tell myself I didn’t love you
and even when I’m crying for the pain
I shout out loud: I can ignore you!
these ain’t tears, it's just the rain.

I had never seen a sadder snow
so empty, love, so lonely
it’s not a nightmare, now I know
it’s true I lost you …you were so lovely.

You used to wait for me everytime
and girl you never let me down
you were the reason, you were the rhyme
you were my queen without a crown.

So what happened? I keep asking why
why have you gone? why? dear and where?
I don’t know, honey, and though I try
it doesn’t matter how much I care.

‘Cause this December, well it’s just me
you won’t be here for Christmas evening
I hope someday you come back here
though I bet then I’ll be like sixty.

If you can’t come, send me a card
if you don’t find it, well you can call
I got the gifts, the tree, the star
but without you girl, it ain’t Christmas at all.

Sort:  

Hi cristiancaicedo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.