Brainstorm (An Original Poem)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

Thoughts thunder
through me,
twisted magic
minus metrics,

Creating absolute,
unbridled hope,
within the confines
of my mind,
the air is electric.

Immersed in
the many fathoms
of my muse
during these
autumn days.

I wring the darkness,
as words run slowly
and freely, like syrup
and to my soul,
they taste every bit
as sweet...brainstorm.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

Writer's Notes: This short poem pays homage to the wonderful and mysterious aura that is the creative process. After writing for a few decades I've learned how to coax creativity out, given the proper conditions. I can sometimes feel it within my bones when the conditions are right for it to strike.

However, there's an unexplainable magic to the creative process and if creativity doesn't feel like "coming out to play" there's absolutely no forcing it. I sometimes wonder if creative people are merely channels who can harness and focus this amazing energy, bringing it into the world as something concrete -- like art, or music, or literature for all to experience.


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Thoughts thunder
through me,

I like the way you begin this poem.

Have you seen the old movie, Brainstorm? It is a really good 1983 movie.
You made me think of the movie.

Researchers (Christopher Walken, Louise Fletcher) develop a helmet which allows its wearer to feel another person's recorded sensations.

Thanks! I haven’t seen that one but will put it on my list! I like Walken in just about everything he does.

It is old now but a very good story.

That was stunning beautifully written always love to read the poems :)

All poem is in good wordings . Second stanza is good piece of creativity.

Lovely and creative poetry . Like it .

Here is another masterpiece from the boss. I love the splendid use of imageries to describe the brainstorming process. Great job!

Short but deep poem i like you creativity :). Regards

Excellent poem! I really congratulate you 👍

the mind is a beautiful thing / peace

Peace to you my friend.

I saw a beautiful picture of a turbulent scenarios, I love your use of pathetic fallacy and personification as well, it's a beautifully written poem, I mean through the storms between the lines, there was this calmness that comes with the ending part of the poem.
Well done Eric, it's awesome.

Thank you, @josediccus! I appreciate your comment!

Definitely, brilliant poem my friend

According to you, @ericvancewalton! I think writing is one of those lovers that shouldn't be rushed. The process of delivery takes time, its silences. Sometimes we have to let the environment come into us and settle like turbulent water. Clear water becomes lines and it is easier to say! Like those rays that sometimes light up the sky, sometimes those ideas come and fill us with light. Other times it is darkness, waiting, waking before the white leaf. It is always good to read you. Greetings

Very nice @ericvancewalton. You definitely have a knack for writing poetry and writing in general. Thanks for sharing

You write all poems in good imagination. Good wordings .

Most deeply meaningful poem you wrote. Exactly there has more powerful thoughts. Great work.

Ah, the electric current of creation. Nothing like being in the arms of the muse.