Lisboa (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Like the smooth stones
that sleep in your sidewalks,
you are a lovely mosaic
with roots, deep and rich.

You are the old woman,
crossing the street alone
with her grocery bags
under the stars of night.

You are the trumpeter
playing in the town square
for the lonely man eating tapas
and young lovers drinking wine.

You are beautiful but not pretentious,
the cogs of your inner workings
go about their day thoughtlessly
as they do in any place, everywhere.

Yet, your charm, it is palpable,
your voice has softened my edges
in ways I can’t quite comprehend,
like a sweet song sung somewhere beyond us...Lisboa.


(All photos are original.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Thank you all for the tremendous support you showed us at SteemFest2 in Lisbon!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Your poetic manipulation of the English language is something that is every bit as artistic and detailed as any picture could hope to portray.

Humbled by your excellence. Yet another subtle, delicate and beautiful masterpiece by you. I'm sure all who attended Steemfest and walked those mosaiced, bustling streets of Lisbon can all relate...

It was an absolute honour meeting you at the Steemfest and I can only hope our paths crossed again in the future. All the best to you and your lovely wife.

Till next time...

Thank you, @ezzy that means even more coming from someone as talented as you! I'm so glad to have had the time this year to talk with you and hang out a bit. What an epic time it was. Are you based near London? My family immigrated to America in the late 1600's from Oxhill Parish in Warwickshire. My wife and I (and possibly my brother and his wife) are planning on visiting next year, it'd be great to meet up if possible. We plan on getting together with a few other UK-based Steemians as well. All the best to you and yours my friend. Take care!

Your sentiments are echoed tenfold from my side, Eric. Steemfest was a real rush and such a unifying and engaging event. I loved every minute of it as I'm sure you did too. Also, thanks for the brief summary regarding your native roots. It's awesome to know that your life's journey has led you and the family to visiting the UK! I will be checking back regularly to keep myself updated of your future scheduled plans, of course. :)

Bless you, Eric. Again, a real honor and a prilivege meeting you in person. Till next time...

ezzy you always won my heart by your words 😍😍 stay same 😍 kind and lovely

Thanks, buddy. :)

This is so good! It completely dovetails with my impressions of the place. Beautiful.

Thank you so much, @dougkarr! What an incredible experience we all shared. I'm happy Travis dug it so much. You'll have another excuse to visit in 16 or so years. : )

That was a great impression..on steemfest ...
Meet togheter..with lot of people....
Thank's for sharing your enjoyble momemt

SteemFest was so incredible this year! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I love the refrain on each verse of this poem.

There desccriptions and the word play, makes it rhythmic, awesome metaphors, thanks for posting

So glad you connected with it, @josediccus! Thank you for the kind words!

Of course, i did connect with it, the deep connotative meaning makes the poem such a lovely piece. Im Josediccus, im following you.

She is beautiful but not pretentious... and my legs are still feeling the pain from all those hills!

Hahaha, those hills were beautiful to look at but not always to climb. I hope you and the family had a safe trip back @opheliafu. Raymi and I really enjoyed spending time with you and chatting.

What a beautiful poem. Your essence was really evident in your writing. Thank-you for a warm and reflective moment. I hope your experiences at Steemfest has been joyous, positive and energizing! Some of my Steemit friends are attending and they seem to be having a wonderful experience! I hope you and your wife are well and very spirited with all the activities you have been going through. :D

Thank you @cabbagepatch. I hope you're continuing to feel better every day. SteemFest this year exceeded all expectations. It was so much fun getting together with everyone and experiencing a new country. I hope you're having a great week!

Nice poetry friend

Eric, your poetry is always mystical and enveloping. I always enjoy reading your work.

Thank you, my friend! What a fabulous trip. We have to catch up soon!

Superb Pics!!! I simply love your articles, what great content and quality of posting you offer the community here on Steemit and abroad.

Thanks a lot :)

I really appreciate the kind words, @dhimanyog. Thanks!

The poem really bring out the portuguese spirit in you eheheheh

Poetry is the journal of a sea animal living on land, wanting to fly in the air.

That is such an interesting description!

Beautiful poetry Eric

Thank you, @spiritualpower. I was flying home and wrote this on the plane over the Atlantic.

Nice to know you are at a time novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast, great Poem

Great photography!

words damn omg 😍😍

for the lonely man eating tapas
and young lovers drinking wine.

ah sigh, lovely

Thank you, Ruth!

Very beautiful, your article is remarkably expressed in verse and beautiful photos. I really liked it. Thank you @ericvancewalton

So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

sE PARECE MUCHO AL CENTRO DE LA CIUDAD DE MÉXICO :)

¡Estoy seguro de que la arquitectura es muy similar!

beautiful composition dear friend @ericvancewalton congratulations, I admire people who have the gift of creating beautiful poetry.
I wish you a beautiful week

Thanks my friend! I wish you the same!

Very Touching, I especially like these lines :

"your voice has softened my edges
in ways I can’t quite comprehend,
like a sweet song sung somewhere beyond us."

Thanks for your ambience (shown in your words about the smooth stones), & the quality in your #poetry.

(Will check u again)

Thank you very much! I'm happy you enjoyed it!

Very beautiful poem, Lisbon was amazing. Had a big workout walking on all those stones and sidewalks. Was great seeing you again this year, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank you, man! We had such an incredible time and logged in lots of miles every day we were there. It was a pleasure seeing you too, my friend. I hope to see you next year! Time is going so fast it'll probably feel like we've just blinked our eyes and SteemFest3 will be upon us. Take care, @ballinconscious!

Your welcome ^_^ Yeah, my leg are definitely way stronger after being in Lisbon. Was great seeing you too, will for sure see you next year. Yeah it is really crazy how quickly it all went by, was not ready for this year to pass so quickly .

Whenever i get time i like to read poems.. This is good whenever I am using steemit still I can read poem! I enjoyed your poem with beautiful photography! Hope your Lisboa tour was interesting!

a lovely poem, we also visited Lisbon and it's an awesome place :)

early to bed , and early to rise makes a man healthy wealthy and wise!!
that is damn true..

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @steemed-proxy valued at 40.78 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Nice poetry. Good job

Nicely written poem buddy and those are some nice shots as well !

Great photos a words!

This is very interesting. I really liked it. Thank you for sharing about this..

Nice poem with beautiful photos buddy....

That's really a great one thanks for sharing :)

@ericvancewalton : Beautiful poem. This is the type of content I would like to promote more on Steem platform. Thank you for that poem.

Its,s really very nice poetry. its heart touched and very nice.
i never like it

so touching, i love it

I loved your poem......see life from the view of the stones and what goes on throughout the day is a very different way of seeing life..... you have truly captured my attention with this.....
I write poems at times too and love reading the way others write.....poems truly touch the soul :-)

Excellent poem and photography t go along with it!

It's true.

Beautiful imagery! Thank you!

Nice bro good deeds in here, be well @ericvancewalton

Nice poetry. Thanks.

wow great post..

Spamming comments is frowned upon by the community.

Continued comment spamming may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More Info: Abuse Guide - 2017.