SteemitPoetryContest #10: A Man's Worth

in #poetry6 years ago

This is my entry to @terrycraft's poetry contest with the theme "GROWTH".




Height-men-768x610.jpg
Source



A Man's Worth

•~•~•

I saw a man who stands six feet tall.
He was eating an ice cream on an outside stall.
A kid approached him and asked for a bite.
He got angry and left, stomping with his might.

On the other side, I saw a small man.
He told the crying kid that he’ll buy him a ton.
So the kid and the man enjoyed their fill.
Eating ice creams without worries of the bill.

What I’ve learned from these two men,
Is to stop measuring height by the age of ten.
Height alone does not measure a man’s worth,
Because maturity is also a sign of growth.

●●●



I really tried my best. But sadly, this is all that I could come up with. I'm sorry.

Anyway, thank you for reading.

Love lots,

  • tomogiroe ❤❤❤


Hi everyone!!
I encourage you all to support and vote
Terry @surpassinggoogle as your witness.
Just click here and type 'steemgigs' on the first box.
a.png
b.png



U5dtTkKheiGA5GsgxJfpP9pgg1YV4Bc_1680x8400.png
STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Sort:  

Don't be too hard on yourself, it's good! I like the overall message you are trying to convey, but the rhyming feels a little forced. I see you have more poetry on your blog. I can't wait to read your other stuff. Following!

Thank you. Yeah, I think it's forced too. Haha. But I'll try hard next time :)

Thank you for reading.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tomogiroe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This is pretty good, don't feel bad about it. Although your first 2 lines of the 2nd stanza do not rhyme.

Thank you. I couldn't think of something that would fit.

Anyway, thank you for reading :)

How about "fan" or "flan"? Just suggesting. It's your poem and I think it looks good as is.

good one
it's a good lesson !
mine was about the same idea
" wisedome is more important than zise" :)

Oh, that's also a good one. It's a nice lesson.

Good luck to us, mate! :)

yeah I guess we need much luck :D

This is short but deep. I love the message about how AGE does not define a person's maturity. I know a lot of people who are young but are responsible and dependable, and I also know people who are old yet possess a child-like behavior. Nice work! :)