Changing the world one step at a time: My country

in #politics6 years ago

abraham-lincoln-716182_960_720.jpg
When I was about ten years old, I saw myself being at the fore front of change in my country,I love my country and I believe with the right steps, we'll get to the promise land.
I realized that politicians were most likely to fail you, because you can't give what you don't have. You cannot promote transparency when you reek of corruption, you cannot promote peace during the day and violence at night.

I knew that was the situation we found ourselves in and I also knew that in other to create a change, I had to be the change. So many times, you see people carrying Nigeria's resources and wasting it on irrelevant things and I stop to wonder, is it that everyone is blind to these things.

Those in authority know that corruption is bad, but without you and I to checkmate them, they have a field day in office. We don't checkmate because our pockets have been checkmated already, the youths instead of clamoring for change are busy trying to change people's PCV levels with machetes and guns.

I realized that the cost of illiteracy is cheap and education is expensive, people forget morals and opt for rotten values. The word life is just a dictionary term and upholding elections are the only time roads are maintained.
The army and intelligence agencies are just tools for oppression of the opposition and all else who stand in their way.
people-2575608_960_720.jpg
The rule of law can be broken at will and due process is a joke, despite that, I love my country and believe we can change. The truth is that the change starts with our baby steps in the right direction.
To an average Nigerian, they pray to get into power, not to change, but to embezzle their share of the national cake.

We forget the when we exhaust or siphon all resources and funds, we become poor. There are countries where several million units of their currency can only buy bread, there are places so corrupt that once you get there, you can smell corruption in the air, but I know my country is not that bad and there is room for change.

We'll get there eventually, but not without the intervention of you and I. We should not spectate, rather, we should participate in the dividends of democracy.
The country only gets bad if we let it. The blockchain has given us another shot to live our dreams, why not live it to the fullest? Why not use the chance given to us to change the errors we see in our country.

The government cannot do everything for us, we have set the standard low for governance in the first place, so we should set it higher and do follow up...while effecting change along the way.
The change begins with you and I, I believe in my country, do you?



You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks to @camzy/ @samstickkz and @elyaque for the animated art and badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)

Images from pixabay


lion badge.png

Sort:  

You have spoken well about nigeria, the people in it and the ruling power. Nigeria is a country that has failed to impact more and justices into its citizen thereby giving everyone the chance of taking looting as a national pride. The mentality of an average nigerian is to get into power, loot the money and run oversea.

Power intoxicate, our leader taste of power and they got drunk in it

The moment we follower allows them to totally dictate the political movement then the country is left to rot.

Let change our orientation to better Nigeria.

The change we all clamour for doesn't start from the top but from the grassroot. Our leaders have failed to be a shinning examples but we governed can train ourselves into a better citizen.
We can wrestle the power away from them and take nigeria to the height of glory.

No matter how bad a home is, it will always remain the home.

Yes i do believe.
And i'm taking this into action to get my pvc, push for accountability in every area of public and private governance and champion political reorientation(like you are doing) among my generation who do not seem to understand that the days being squandered by these corrupt rulers of the old folk are the future days of our glory that can never be regained. We may be young but we can do better.
The change begins with me.
I followed.

When you were writing about politics, corrupcy, I thought for a second that you're talking about my country, but it seems that those are so common these days.

People are "waking" up a little, but it's not enough.

We need to do something until it's too late.

Many of my Croatians already moved to countries like Ireland, Germany, etc., but I still believe in Croatia, and I'll give it a last try.

all countries have their own problems, politics, corruption is now very rampant, big people always selfish regardless of weak society, politics can eliminate the future of the nation's children

This is just Nigeria in all ramifications....where the government promise heaven on earth before elections and yet we get nothing after elections.....honestly since the leaders are corrupt ..I wonder how change can really come to us.

With blockchain everyone can life their dreams without the government. my question now is, are those who have earned heavily in block chain willing to help others to stop depending on government?.
#steemsoccer1

are those who have earned heavily in block chain willing to help others to stop depending on government?.

I believe the proper question is are you willing to help yourself?

I do believe in the people of Nigeria, someday you will overcome the corruption there.

I get very angry when all a person is complaining about is government this government that... The other one in a network news said he needed #50000 empowerment.... 50k empowerment you need ehhhhhh??

It will take a while to solve the corruption problem of this country. Nigeria was built on corruption. Only God can help us now. Not even a politician born or unborn can help without him.

I believe so much in Nigeria. I feel sensitization has been helping. Youths are beginning to be well informed about politics around them. I thought Nigeria was moving forward with our previous president as regard age!

Like it out not, change begins from us all and our leaders we put in offices have big roles to play too. So let me say this, before you decide who to vote for in the upcoming election, ask yourself this question! Am i voting party A because party B isnt good or because i know who party A is?

We really have to be wise in picking our leaders! Trust me, there are good aspirants but we do not take out time to look at their personality. Most times we just choose who the press brings to our notice.

Get your voters card today and let us stop trying to change things with our mouth and use our hands. Do not sit down watching the process and wait for good results.. go out and make results! Our positive actions will change this!

Well said. The rule of law has no place in this nation... Security and watch agencies (name withheld) have become political watch dogs.

It's a pity though. Change begins with me

Check out my posts on Together We Can Make Nigeria Great

Great! The boss himself has spoken...Another excellent post. Seriously, the truth is that the youths in Nigeria are comfortable hearing the deceitful cliche "the youths are the leaders of tomorrow" a tomorrow that never comes. They forgot to ask themselves the questions "What position am I in now as a leader of tomorrow?", "What am I doing right now in preparation for leadership tomorrow?", "What are the mistakes of today's leaders and what lessons have I learnt from their actions to help me become a better leader tomorrow to my people?"
Instead, the youths are busy risking their lives in engaging in a lot of corrupt acts, assisting today's politicians and leaders in remaining in power, embelzing national funds, destroying our dear economy and leaving the masses in anguish and suffering. They (youths) forgot the the key aim of leadership "The welfare of your people"; all in the name of filling their selfish pockets, some even call it 'survival instincts', what a pity, a leader of tomorrow.
Until, we the youths come to realise that we are leaders and that tomorrow is the product of today's actions, our tomorrow will never come. Because we will keep helping today's politicians remain in power despite their corruptions and incapabilities to lead our dear nation.
The boss, thanks for this 'wondament' post...keep up the good work.

Some time or another you will beat the defilement there.

Well spoken, change begin with us though sometimes we recite those words with no effect in us or possibly lack ways to begin the change from us, thanks for outlining the block chain as a means to start. " I believe in my country 100%" no matter what , we fall and will always rise till the goal is met

Amazing post, just followed, Follow me back and upvote my posts as well. Hope we can be good friends.

Truly we will get there,but there won't be any wiping away of corruption if we still have corrupt leaders that are there doing their corrupt practices.if we want to stop corruption we start by changing our leaders first,but the corrupt will still enter because they bribe their way into power,then people that collected bribe to vote for them turn around to still complain about corruption.Am with you on this.

Damn! That's is it! I written something synonymous to this before now.
In my country, Nigeria, people are yet to understand that governance is a collective responsibility. Your support for an administration began the day you went to the poll to cast your vot, regardless of whether or not the administration you supported emerged.
Interestingly enough, when people clamour for the restructuring of the system, I just laugh because unless there is a mental restructuring (or reconfiguration) for everyone, the system will continually be this bad.
There is hope for Nigeria.

I still believe in Nigeria and in the little way I can, I have started helping the country, I pray we all get to where we want to be.

The devil is powerful, I don't blame those that embezzle money, if we find ourselves in their shoes, we myt do the same, the thing is they should look back and attend to the needy ones too