Gun control - my unpopular opinion

in #politics5 years ago

Well, ladies and gentlemen, it is time for me to touch on a subject on which many debates have reached the level of fighting: gun control.

As I have stated many times now, I side with liberals. And, I do support the advancement of gun control laws. But before you hate me, hear me out.

I have a gun of my own. As an American, I support the second amendment right to bear arms, and I don't want your guns taken from you, any more than I want mine taken from me. However, as a liberal, I also see the very real need for more control.

Many accusations have been thrown at liberals over this topic, some so far as to blame us for the school shootings as a way to push "our agenda". Well, this is a conspiracy theory, and I do NOT support it. These shootings are horrible. The violence can not be condoned. So, if I don't support violence, but I also don't support taking away weapons, what do I support?

It all comes down to one word: EDUCATION. If we have stricter regulations on who can legally purchase a gun of any sort (I'm talking about required safety classes and the like), then we take them out of the hands of those who should not have them. If you handle your guns safely, you know what you're doing, and you stay within the confines of the law, I see absolutely no reason why you should not own guns.

So then comes the argument of "bad people will always find a way to get guns". And yes, this is true. I am not trying to say my plan is perfect, because the truth is - there is no perfect plan. Yes, there will always be illegal guns in the hands of bad people. But by doing SOMETHING to at least try to keep the guns in the hands of good people, it can become at least a little more difficult for the others to get them.

The other half of my "plan" goes against everything most liberals believe: support gun ownership. The more likely it is for good people to be armed AND educated, the less likely the bad people are to think they can easily get away with this. Nobody wants to run into an ambush, unless they have a death wish.

Just my two cents. Gun control is needed, confiscation is not the way to go about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What do you think of the idea of having gun safety class a part of the national curriculum in Jr. high and in High school as a required class?
Like in Jr high they get a semester of videos and lessons, show an tell with a plastic replica gun that comes apart like a real gun, maybe a cop comes in and tells stories then they get a field trip to a range and shoot .22 single shot bolt actions under supervision,
then in High school they do the same thing but more advanced and with pistols and rifles? And no one would be forced to shoot if they didnt want to touch a gun but they would have to do the classwork.

That is certainly an interesting idea. I do think that I was lucky to be able to get the training at that age, through Boy Scouts. It certainly is VERY important to teach them that the guns themselves are not the problem...I have noticed that the crazy anti-gun people tend to be the people who have never even held a gun before.

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Dear @sagitta6,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!