A Few Thoughts on Leaving Portugal....

in #portugal2 years ago

Although I've only been back in the U.K. for a few days, really it feels more like a month as I spent most of late July and August here (in the U.K.)

My overwhelming feeling is that I'm glad to get out of Portugal - not because it's a bad place to live, quite the opposite, it's got a lot going for it, but really I'd got so sick of not being able to understand a word anyone said to me it was getting silly - being anxious to speak to anyone or even go out, and relying mainly on just waiving to the neighbours!

Maybe it was a bad idea to have moved out of my little, very isolated cabin in Vale de Prazeres and into a more crowded town where my neighbours, all non-English speaking Portuguese were literally in my face because the streets were so narrow, but then again that was the idea - to force me to learn the language!

20220829_171412.jpg
Packing over a few beers a few days ago!

I mean the point was never to move over to another country and just hang out exclusively with the English speaking ex-pats - for the most part EVERY foreigner in East Central Portugal speaks English whether they are from England, France, Germany or Israel - but hardly any local Portuguese people speak English.

So you've got this situation where there is a very strong expat presence, and all very pleasant and alternative off-grid types for the most part in that part of world, but for me it just was all a bit wrong - integrating myself into that British speaking group of people but not being able to speak to the actual native-locals.

On one level this is a real shame - the cheap cost of land, the Expat community, the ease with which you could build on your land with no hassle from the State, the climate all made for a situation in which you could live for really minimal income, and especially with the beneficial zero tax on crypto - Portugal really DOES have a lot going for it.

But I dunno, it just wasn't right for me - I gave it a good couple of years, spent quite a lot of money I won't recoup (a few thousand), and now I'm leaving it all behind and actually I'm VERY HAPPY to be back in the U.K.

However I can't regret anything - at the time, in mid 2020, I had to go do this and try the whole off-grid thing, but it just wasn't for me in the end.

I've given my friend POA to sell my land so I don't need to go back again, and if necessary the house, but I'll cling onto the later for now at least, I think that'll go up in value and requires zero maintenance unlike the land....

20220827_094118.jpg
The land in late August 2022 - crispy!

Thus is life, back in Medway, the town where I was born, and unexpectedly the town (Well, city), where I feel like I just belong right now, and of course having a new bird in the area helps too, not entirely the reason I left Portugal, that was already decided, but certainly the biggest pull back to Medway by a long way!

Sort:  

Are you in a rush to sell?

Not especially - it's going to be easier to sell after the autumn rains when it all looks a lot more lush!

It is tough going moving somewhere where you don't know the local lingo, worth a try though!

I'm wondering if the Oct-May weather will make you think about trying somewhere else, the UK is fucking dire in my eyes over these months!

I think I'm back in the UK for good - I'm in a nice middle class bubble where I am so no worries!

Class is permanent, good weather is not :)

As long as you are happy!

You were totally in a strange place but it must be a good experienced as well. Glad you are back safe and sound in your motherland!

Cheers, I enjoyed myself while I was there, can't really complain!

It's good to see you back again in a familiar environment

I had to go do this and try the whole off-grid thing, but it just wasn't for me in the end.

Yet! :-)

Come visit sometime bro.

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you: !PGM !PIZZA !LOL

Want to mine some more crypto? If so, Join #Fractally, start earning $RESPECT
https://genesis.gofractally.com/share/P3y08N-PpNgcxJQh and help to #savetheworld from the #massmurdermachine of corrupt centralised organisations effectively controlled by #thepowersthatshouldntbe!

Cheers, I might just pop down at some point, and there's always the future, true!

Although I can see myself ending up Wales somehow!

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @atma.love

remaining commands 13

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Why are brain surgeons so good at persuasion?
They can really get inside your head.

Credit: reddit
@revisesociology, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @atma.love

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/10)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@atma.love(2/15) tipped @revisesociology (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

The land is in a lot better condition than when you bought it, so I imagine it would be quite attractive to potential purchasers. It's been an interesting insight into moving abroad - something I think I would do on a temporary visa, keeping my England base. I already know I wouldn't do the off grid thing, but I would like visit places for longer than a fortnight.

Yeah I think I'm back in the UK for a fair while for now!

relocating and relocating back.. this is most tiring stuff IMO.
Good that you are back in home town that will have soothing effect.

Yeah happy to be back in the UK for sure.

i hear you. i was in Mexico for about two years and am currently back in the US. The language barrier is a big deal, even though i do speak a fair bit of Spanish.

My plan is to have a base in both countries.

I guess the more you speak the more you pick up, but it was just too much for me at the end of the day!

At least you gave it a good go. When I went out to Germany after uni I had to learn the lingo as some people did not speak English. I got good enough to get by. I hope you can find things back in the UK to suit you. We'll have to meet up somewhere.

I'm very happy back in Britain for now, even loving the current rainy weather here in Kent, and I'm always up for a few beers!

Not all wasted as you did give it a shot and no regrets. How many people get the chance to do what you did as you tried to live the dream and realised it wasn't for you.

Oh yes I can't complain, a privileged opportunity for sure!

Unless you try to speak like the locals, language barrier will always be an issue bigger than people like to admit.