Hive Creative Contest - The YOLO moment that changed my life

image.png
Source of the Image

Thinking about the craziest thing I've ever done in my life, I can't think of many anecdotes, since I was raised to be a "good girl". My parents were very overprotective and took me everywhere they had to go to, they would always pick me up, and thus, I didn't know how to use public transport. In my country, Venezuela, public transport is not very safe, sometimes robberies occur inside the bus and that is why my dad did not want me to use it, in my city we also don't have subway stations or trains.

So protected in a plastic bubble I started university and since love makes us do crazy things I was no exception. In my first year I met a very handsome young man who completely captivated me and it was love at first sight, my parents would not let me go out with him and then my rebellion began.

We began dating and over time my parents accepted him, he visited me in my house but we were always at the mercy of the watchful eyes of my parents. We wanted to be alone and to be able to give free rein to our feelings, so one day we planned to see each other at his house and the best way was for me to go there. I always did what I was told in my house but I decided that I had to grow up and stand up for myself.

On the day of the appointment, I got ready and I felt really beautiful and excited, I who had never taken public transport, armed myself with courage and got on the bus, I looked everywhere and thought that at any moment I would get mugged, I was very scared and everything was going through my mind. But luckily I got to his house safely and there was my boyfriend waiting for me.


image.png
Source of the Image

That day I felt free and I spent a wonderful afternoon in the arms of my boyfriend, a moment we wanted last forever. When it was already late at night we ran to the stop for me to take the bus back home. When I boarded the bus, a very bad-looking man sat next to me, I couldn't move around because there were no more seats left. The man began to tell me that I was very beautiful and I felt very uncomfortable, I was very scared but luckily a young man who was seeing everything came up and pretended that he knew me, making me feel safe and making the weird man leave.

Upon arriving at my destination the young man got off with me at the bus stop and accompanied me to my house, we exchanged telephone numbers (since back then we had no cellphones) and in time we became good friends. He always supported me when the relationship between my boyfriend and I did not work. Over time we fell in love with each other and he declared his love for me.

Source of the Image

Today he is my husband and we have been married for 30 years, from that YOLO I met who today is the love of my life.

This is an entry for: https://hive.blog/hive-114105/@zord189/hive-creative-contest-or-that-yolo-thing-contest-details

Sort:  

cool history, like a lot

Hi, thanks

Nice story!!

Hi, thanks.