You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whales downvoting on newbs? How is this a thing?

in #proofofbrain3 years ago

Ok thanx good to know. Maybe someone should let them know they're targetted. It might cause them to lose tags. Shame innit. I'll keep using it tho coz they're righteous and like you say it's only a small vote. It's kinda like swapping flying under the radar on social media to dodging bullets here hahaha


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Nah. That bot is so insignificant that you'll get more votes up than it can come close to cancelling. Right now that vote is costing you $0.04 in potential votes.

This is a decentralized network. Letting them know won't actually change anything. There is no authority to do anything about it other than to perhaps do the same type of thing.

That just results in war.

Overall, the easiest thing is to ignore it.

A good number of my posts I put in #informationwar. I get downvoted by them every time. I've gotten downvoted more significant amounts but it has only happened twice when my potential rewards went above $100.

Well that's disgusting, sounds like a kind of 'glass ceiling' for little fish to me.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Loading...

It is. Yet none of us that have thought of it have come up with a solution. This tech is decentralized. There is no centralized authority for a reason. They can't technically censor you. Yet as you probably have guess if people amass enough power here they can effectively financially suppress people here. They could vote your reward to $0 all the time. This happened some on steemit which is the project hive forked from. I was involved in arguing against this behavior back then. I also tried to find a solution.

Any solution we could think of would require a centralized authority. That would make the entire network vulnerable to take down. It would create an authority that could in fact censor everything. If they were compromised/corrupted for whatever reason it could make the point that this network is decentralized moot. At that point you might as well just give that authority control of all of the servers, equipment, etc. They would have the same power as if you had done that.

We also tried grouping up and mass up voting to counter down votes we thought were bad. That just resulted in a kind of warfare.

So is there a "class" system? To some degree yes.

It got bad enough on steemit I stopped posting there for about two years and discovered HIVE and it wasn't as bad here. That doesn't mean it might not take those paths. We didn't have communities when I was on Steemit. It was all one big community.

Communities in theory were supposed to address this. Yet as you can see we have a bot that seems to be designed just to downvote everything in one community.

It's human nature. Some humans are assholes. It is unfortunately unavoidable.

So what can you do?

Ultimately it is up to you. Yet personally unless you notice a pattern of malice from a powerful enough source to truly impact you it doesn't seem like a battle worth waging to me.

That is totally your decision though.

I can say I dumped a lot of time into trying to solve this problem over the span of around 3 years. I never came up with a solution that didn't in the long run create more exploitable outlets that could lead to far worse problems.

Yes nice explanation and we must not fall of any kalergi plans they might be using. I was also on steemit in fact I visited there today funnily enough. I never noticed the monetization before. Has that always been there? Anyway re the downvotes, I can live with it. Thanx for taking the time to give me some learning.

In the early days, 2016, the money was good...Jeff Berwick got 15k for one post, and I was regularly getting over 100 myself!

Jeff was on here? Is he still on here? I was following his video's but they're hard to find now. He is one clued up dude.
I'm not too worried about the $'s on here, I've been doing this for donkeys years with no gains for me, I'm used to it. I'm still amazed that I'm getting anything for it now. It's a nice bonus as I see it but not an incentive.

Yes he is, he shares links to his vids.

In Aug 2016 it was an interview with him and James Corbett that got thousands of new people onto Steemit.

The combination of rewards on Steemit, and some well timed trades...like selling most of my Steem when the price was up, is why my Hive wallet is reasonably valuable now.

Hive is shaped by rewards for better and for worse. Using the same levels of intelligence and research as is need for vaccines for example, it is possible to make ok money on the blockchain. An independent thinker has an advantage over the herd. But the game is fixed!

It is a game though, and can be played. Just like cryptos!

Yes the monetization has always been on steemit. It's pretty much the same as here. This has communities, and while I see some of the old bad behavior it hasn't gotten as bad here yet from what I have seen.