NOSTALGIA JOURNAL - From Crafts, Arts & Illusions

in #proofofbrain2 years ago (edited)

Stepping out of the feminine closet

In fashion I am not into contemporary trends. I'm out of the age where I'm interested in current or future fashion. Rather, I take a look backwards and lean towards nostalgic contemplations that, even in my youthful days, almost belonged to what is now called

"Vintage".

For several years now, I have been experimenting with fashion from the forties and fifties & later, especially with regard to hair wear. Cribbed from the film classics and what has stuck in my mind from the countless fashion magazines and pin-ups, as well as video-tutorials on the net, I toyed with my own wardrobe of clothes, and sometimes even go out with it. Much of what I show is self-sewn. By now quite a respectable collection of trousers, skirts, pullovers and tops.


A peak into my closet

The middle picture of the title shows me with a pair of jeans for which I took some making photographs.

I don't buy new fabrics very often, preferring to tailor my wardrobe from second-hand garments. To do this, I unravel the old pieces and then cut them completely new. For this trousers, however, I bought a denim fabric with a very slight amount of stretch. It was the very first pair that I sewed with the help of a pattern and that was actually wearable. They sit very high on the hips, are tightly cut at the top and fall out in a wide flap at the bottom.

Blouse in the making, too.

Some call those "Mom-Jeans"

On the left, you see me with a pair of thrifted suede trousers, as well as a blouse, both of which I consider to be from the 70s. Strictly tied back chignon at the bottom of the head and a centre parting remind me of the hairdo of the older Romy Schneider.
I like the smell of mothballs in those stores.

Scarfs were used widely between the 40s and 60s as a fashion object. Later, the scarfs were often sewn onto the blouses, like in this picture

When you dress in the style of other eras,

you notice the great effort women made to acquire their looks and status for the day.

There is a certain comfort and appreciation in consciously performing the slow ritual of dressing and make-up. The costuming - how one presents oneself to the outside world - takes on a greater awareness. At least, that's how I see it from my perspective today.

The hair, however, if you don't put it in curls the night before, is tied up quite quickly with a certain twisting-in technique of the side parts from front to back and you look like you've come out of an egg.

A look I call "Billy of the Hills".

If you have beer in the fridge, get it. For whatever reason, it makes me think of James Dean and the beautiful cars from that era. All you have to do is pile the fringes up really high and then pin them on top. I have lots of hair, so this works very well.

The grey long skirt - to the right - is the result of re-purposing an ankle length wool dress (size S!) that had become too small, stored from about 30 years ago, which I cut apart and sewed together to make a governess skirt.

The wollen blazer is a purchased piece, don't know from when, but be certain that all I am presenting here is minimum more then two decades old. Note, that the ladies from back then used belts to give their fashion the right curves.

A check mini, with an outrageous shortness (!) which I had never worn and which also had to spend many years in obscurity, was exploited for the waistband. Sorry skirt, but no legs were shown off down under.

For the inside of the skirt I chose extra large pockets, in a different, less thick fabric. They go all the way where the belly sits and serve as a belly cover. Above the skirt pattern you can already see the satin fabric for the underskirt, as this is not only ladylike and, appropriate to the era (not sewn to the skirt, but to be put on separately) but also protects against the scratchy wool.

Sometimes I need sweets when sewing.


Here is a display from a pastry shop in Verona that my camera couldn't resist.

If you don't care at all about confectionary modesty, your mouth will surely water at the sight of these delicacies. Once again, the Italian way of life gets a reflection here.

Elegant waves

If you look really close, in the picture on the left, you can even see the hairstyle from behind, as I photographed myself backwards in the mirror.

I went to great lengths to achieve a result that the women of the past times showed: no curls, but waves. This is done by carefully brushing the unorderly curls in a semicircle with a hairbrush over the thumb and then gently shaping them into a wave. The curls remain in the rollers either overnight or for several hours. Curling is done in dry, not in damp hair, only the tips are slightly moistened.

For the nostalgic effect, I edited the photographs, framed them and went for the sepia look.

Speaking of gone things:

Hamburg's Smallest Warehouse - now only a memory

The many tablecloths and fabrics come from a jumble and antique shop called "The Smallest Warehouse", which unfortunately closed two years ago. I went there very often to browse and breathe in the smells of the second-hand goods.

A few days before it closed, I bought some haberdashery and sewing paraphernalia and took some last photos of the shelves and narrow aisles. I also got the magazine from the 1930s that you see here from the store.

The owners of the shop answered my question why they wanted to give up their business: "We don't want to buy a new cash register, these electronic devices are very expensive and we don't fancy the modern stuff."

The same skirt, but this time in the style of the 20s,

both in terms of the shape of the hair and the comfortable jumper and a loosely tied fabric belt. The less glamorous lady of the house in her sporty wardrobe. Variations are the fun of costuming, aren't they?

The wardrobe is never authentic if the hair design doesn't play along with it. It took me some practice to learn the techniques and do my hair on my own. Since my head wears a massive hair amount, it gives me some trouble to keep my arms up for so long, sometimes I would need more than two hands.

Above you can see many intertwined sections of hair arranged into a complete structure. I went to work with it. The arrangement stands up quite well to wind and weather. However, there are lots of hairpins hidden in it. The evening ritual of removing all the pins again and undoing the hairstyle is fairly easily carried out.


From left to right: A designer costume jacket for the fabulous price of 30 euros. My very unusual dressing cabinet, reminiscent of the vanishing chamber at Hogwarts, a dress from the 70s with narrow sleeves (unfortunately polyester!), a view into the aforementioned closet, a folklore blouse like you see in Hungary

The instant of a photograph sets up an illusion

My journal illustrates such an illusion, a mental excursion into the fashion world I never witnessed. This could be a mansion to which this car could belong.

I took the photographs in Italy in 2019, one in Verona, the other from the Auto-train with which we decided to travel - another memory of how wealthy people also used to get to their destinations.

But do these women also belong there? Hardly. If you look very closely, you can see the simplicity and partly also the worn-outness of my mother's dress, who probably only owned this one piece at the time.

My mother's fate was that she and her family were on the run for a long time, first it was the Bolshevists who drove my grandfather off his land and the flourishing mill business, later it was the Russians who took Russian-German prisoners and deported them deep into Siberia. Fortunately, they all survived these difficult times.

But I enjoyed playing with the materials I have at hand. Costuming gives me the opportunity to empathise with other perspectives and express my love of theatre, the small arts and personal human destinies.

I close the journal with some photographs and in memory of my relatives.

On the top left you see my uncle, next to him my mother with a friend, below is my father and my aunt, all deceased. (Uncle: ca. 1995, father: 1991, mother: 2016, aunt: ca. 1999).

This is very rare footage and I never saw my parents themselves in those young years. They were all simple labourers and worked for the first half of their lives as farmers in self-sufficiency as well as by supplementary income in agricultural enterprises. The fancy hairstyles belied the fact that they did not care for glitz and glamour and had only occasionally been up for dancing and going out.

All of these things are very pleasing and in the pursuit of creating something pleasant to the eye, I know that it is the contrast with these impressions that makes the difference. Is there beauty in ugliness?

Images

I am the copyright owner of all the images used. They have been taken over the years and I have carefully selected and edited them for the purpose of this journal.


Related publications:

Vintage Furnishing

A Hotel from the SH-BOOM era

Travel with me to Italy

Sort:  
Loading...

This is a great post! You covered an awful lot in it!

As I was reading, I thought "She would be a fabulous costumer for a theater!" Have you done that?

I just watched a couple of movies from the 40's last night, and was astonished by the hair. It was just as you described it. The clothing at that time was gorgeous too. You wear it very well.

I spend as little time dressing and on my hair as possible. I hope to take up sewing again - I was very good at it as a teenager - but time simply does not allow. Too much paperwork!

I love knowing more about your family's history - fled the Bolsheviks and then Stalin (if I remember my history correctly) no less!

I would have loved working in a theatre. That was my first wish when I was a school girl. Never happened, though. So I guess, the love for costuming, make up and the like must express itself somewhere. For quite a while I worked as a PR-consultant for some brands and was lucky to be in the position to fully live out my creative interests and skills. It gave me the chance to work with artists, cabaret-people, craftsmen, photographers, musicians and even magicians! It was a fun time.

Oh, which movies were you watching?

Yes, start sewing if you already have the basic skills. At least it gives me a feeling of being grounded, not, that you seem to need that with your garden.

I spend as little time dressing and on my hair as possible.

I am the same, normally. But once in a while it gets me.

I love knowing more about your family's history

Did you open the given link in this posting? It's the first part of my family history. There is also a second part. I can give it to you, if you are interested.

Wow, what an amazing post!!

Thank you, happy that it pleases you. It took me a while to put it together :)

Das merkt man auch! Der post ist mit Liebe gemacht - genau wie Dein Styling!

Exquisite! I have a lump in my throat right now...oh, what a reflection of beauty. Your personality shines. You are a true artist.

I happily receive the compliment, thank you.
Art, yes, I love it in many forms and shapes. I stumbled over the "Tryptichon" on your blog and left a comment.

Do you have a taste for Vintage? I have some more picture material but this publication already got long and I may safe the other materials for another one. Do you have old photographs or stories from your family (grandparents)?

I guess we all have stories, but most of my grandparents’ photos were lost after their home was cleared out after their death. Pity, but that’s how things go. Your memories are beautiful, though, enjoyed your post.

Wow, this is very stylish and retro-futuristic! What a wonderful idea to take clothes from different periods and re-design them for other eras. I used to buy clothes from second hand stores during my "raver" period. So, I looked like I had just stepped out of the 60s or 70s. Now I'm wearing a glowing Tron hoodie and cargo shorts. 😅 You take fashion design to a whole new level, and this post is a visual treat.

Thank you, I was hoping to get as much out of my material as I could. I've developed an ambition over the last few years to dress primarily in clothes I've tailored myself. It's not completely feasible, but to a large extent it is. It is a pity that I have lost some of the "in process" footage. My handbag was run over by a car with my mobile phone in it.

So, you are also someone who experienced the beginnings of the techno era? I was once at the Love Parade in Berlin and at very many club weekends or sometimes Goa parties out in the woods. It was wonderful. The Tron hoody would have fitted in well there, because the canopy was covered with luminescent trinkets. How is it to be cleaned? Just put it in the washing machine?


P.S. the blog your link directs me to: very interesting :)

It's fantastic that you have the skills and nimble fingers to fashion your own designs. It sounds like a lot of work but very gratifying.

The rise of the techno age has been fascinating. I was in Goa a couple of years ago, so I missed the original electronic scene there. I imagine Berlin was really happening during the techno era.

I just throw my hoodie in the washing machine and seems fine, though it has lost some of its glow effect. I found the blog when I was looking for images of the hoodie that shows the design, so it's the first time I see it. Looks funky.