You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How We Create Family Beyond Blood

in #psychology6 years ago

This is beautiful. I cut off the majority of my extended family well over a decade ago. It was essential for my mental health and to help in breaking the cycle of abuse that has haunted my extended family for generations.

I totally agree that 'family' doesn't necessarily mean blood relations, I have many people in my life that I consider family. At the same time, my own children are still very close to me and we all get together often just because we enjoy being together and supporting each other. I hope that they always feel that our little family is a good place of support.

Your post is beautiful and it is awesome that you are making conscious choices about what is healthy for your life.

Sort:  

Thank you for this amazing comment and share. I’m sorry you had to cut off the family ties, but it’s beautiful how self-aware that action is. Cycles of abuse are pernicious. I am working through my own grief about these changes. Right now I almost feel on pause, if that makes sense. If it feels good, I would love to read more about your process of creating boundaries. As a comment or a post. ❤️

It is a very difficult thing to do, but in hindsight, it was the healthiest decision I have ever made. I will think on writing more about my experiences on this subject. Since being on steemit, I've found that a lot of my processing is happening through fictional writing and that has been very therapeutic for me.

I am sure I will have a lot to write soon, as we are going to visit my mother after Christmas due to her failing health and that will involve a lot of processing=writing on my part.

I look forward to reading more of your writing as time goes to see how you are doing as well.

Writing is such a healthy way to process. I love how you are turning to fiction to control your narrative. Because you mention how you’ll need to process post-holidays, I have three openings in “Writng through Trauma to Truth” beginning January 16. If it feels like a good fit, I’d love to support your processing. And you are welcome to use fiction throughout the class.

https://creativewritingcenter.com/online-writing-course/writing-through-trauma-to-truth/