What is depression like?

in #psychology2 years ago


source

The question was put to me by a friend who has never experienced it. "What is depression like?" I thought about it for awhile and told him. Imagine you've fallen into a pit that's dark and deep. You try to climb your way out but you keep slipping back down. After awhile you just stop trying because you've given up any hope you're ever gonna get out. You get occasional little glimpses of sunshine but they are incredibly fleeting and afterwards the darkness rolls back in even darker than it was before somehow. Family and friends come by and they try to give you advice about how to get out of the pit. And even though they mean well and want to help you, you either don't believe they can or anything can or you get angry at them for even suggesting there could be an easy fix to you being in this pit. After awhile you give up completely and resign yourself to living the rest of your life in this dank, dark pit. I'm glad that I'm finally out of there and being productive with my life and accomplishing things and just plain enjoying life. I know there will still be periods where I find myself back in the pit but that I can get out of it now. I have before.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chainpire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!