On Raising Warriors

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I've been inspired by @everlove to write a little about my connection with my son today. His name is Kaiden, which is an Irish name, meaning warrior. He's 8 years old, turning 9 on April Fool's Day, hehe. He's the best thing that has EVER happened to me, despite the falling out that I had with his father. Without him, I would not have this sweet young man in my life at all, so I am grateful, more than anything! Being with him gives me the support that I need during my time of grief, and though he lives with his grandparents, I cherish every moment I get with him. Just look at this adorable little man! He is my life!!
DSCF9312.JPG
He makes me laugh, he makes me smile, and I want to be someone in his life who always allows him to come exactly how he is. I want to make sure that with every day I spend with him, he feels I honoured where he needed to be that day. Whether he was happy, sad, angry, hyper, sick, or tired. I want to be there for him when he is angry at the whole world, and when he falls in love. I want him to know that it is okay to cry, or yell, or be completely silent. Because I love him, and I want him to know that for the rest of his life.
DSCF9314.JPG
His feelings matter, and I think far too much of our world is telling men that they shouldn't cry, that they shouldn't be emotional. I don't want to let my son grow up thinking that he has to hide any parts of himself, in order to fit in. But this is a goal that may prove to be difficult, with the pressures of his school, his peers, and perhaps even other family members that are not in touch with themselves as well. He is a strong spirit, and I can only hope that is never taken away from him. I will do everything I can to show up and honour him.
DSCF9316.JPG
I want to see his smiling eyes and face light up the room, instead of hiding away behind someone else's ideas. I want to nurture his emotional intelligence in every way that I possibly can, like for example, acknowledging his perspective. I can't change everything for him, nor would I want to. But I can listen to him, no matter what state he is in. Expressing emotions seems to set them free. They can change when they are voiced... When we feel heard, we don't bottle things up so much anymore, right? I can empathize with him, without needing to completely agree. I welcome him every moment I am with him, to speak his mind. He has every right to do so, just like any of you. Nobody should ever be denied the right to feel their emotions fully. It's time we, as a species, open up a little more.
DSCF9306.JPG
I want him to know he can breathe deeply and get through anything that life throws at him! But first, he's got to feel it, he's got to tolerate what he is feeling, and then work on problem solving. We have so many opportunities in this life to change how we react. Once we go through the acceptance, we can watch sour feelings dissipate, and we are free to carry on. Moving forward, we are much more content, and ready to face the moment. We can't fix all of our children's problems FOR them. But we can teach them how to process them on their own. Compassion goes a long way, and so does listening. Play with your children, and let them tell you exactly what they are feeling. They will be strong, and will thank you for it later.

Sort:  

He will most assuredly live up to his name. :)

I am very confident in that <3

I love this. Great read

Thank you so very much <3 Is from the heart~

Thanks for sharing! @inamorata.

Definitely happy to do so <3

Congratulations @inamorata! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I want to meet your kiddo someday Shay! He is so cute and your relationship sounds lovely <3

That'd be really cooool :P

Oh @inamorata! What a beautiful post honoring your child. It is very rare that anyone, children and adults alike, are allowed to be themselves. We are constantly trying to change other people, most especially so we can feel better about ourselves. Your son is blessed to have you holding space for his authentic feelings to be acknowledged and accepted, and his authentic self to shine!

I am grateful you shared this post with me, and that your son has a chance to truly be himself! Blessings to you.

I actually loved getting this into writing as well :D Thank you for the inspiration to write it out <3

I am blessed to have sparked such a great post of appreciation. Doesn't it really feel good to share the love--I'm sure your son will also benefit greatly from seeing these words in print!

It truly does feel good to share it. I think I will have to show him one day <3