You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The relationship between exercise and anxiety: from someone who has been there.

in #psychology7 years ago

I'll agree exercise is totally spot on for anxiety. When I was 21 I could run 200 metres flat out without getting out of breath. That was because I walked everywhere, biked lots and got up to mischief with my friends. I had a really slim and toned body. I'm going to say a strange thing to you though. I was super fit BECAUSE of my anxiety. I just couldn't sit still long enough to enjoy a fleeting moment with myself.

Now that I'm 37, have age on my side and experience anxiety very little I've slowed down. It's really weird. Over the last 10 years I've stopped drinking & smoking, stopped worrying and chilled out 10 fold. The result? Lazy fat man haha.

I'll agree though, everytime I do a jog or get up to some exercise I feel damn great :)

Sort:  

Ahh that's so interesting - I think that's definitely one way to deal with anxiety. I never stop in other ways too, never stop looking for opportunities, or a new job, or seeing friends, or working on projects. So much of the time I stop for a second and am like.... when was the last time I just let myself stop and just sit down and have a cup of tea and watch TV? I think exercise is good for this too, because it tires you out and makes you NEED to just take a few minutes for yourself after.

I'm glad to hear you're struggling less as time goes on. Don't think you count as fat though - I did see you in the video, remember!

This is true - although my belly is huge! I never show that on video haha. I'm probably not fat in the grand scheme of things but compared to what I was like as a young adult to now? I'm at least 6 stone heavier!

I was 29 there! A lot slimmer :)

Haha well there are more important things in life than weight luckily! I love your wedding photo, great action shot with the confetti.

That's true. I'm very happy right now as I am. :)

We were lucky with our photographer. She was new on the job, so as a 'portfolio case' we had her at a fraction of the cost :) She caught some amazing shots!

That's lovely :) and oh wow! Bargain! Took a risk and it paid off :)

Some says that a man's greatest happiness in particular is his wedding day @raymondspeaks