My Quarantine Story - Fourty days after the lockdown in Italy

IMG_20200405_172744.jpg

Hi Hivees,
I decided to take part in the @theycallmedan initiative to tell you how I am spending my days after the lockdown.

The region where I live, Emilia Romagna, is one of the most affected areas in Italy after Lombardy and Veneto and from 23rd February our lives have started to change.

THE EVOLUTION IN ITALY

In my country things started changing quickly: there was the outbreak of the first outbreaks in Northern Italy and some regions including Emilia Romagna immediately closed schools and universities.
Another alarming event that occurred on the same day was the suspension of four Serie A matches.
Until that day we had only heard about the virus in China from the news and we thought that it didn't concern us, but things were about to change rapidly.

From 4th March the whole Italy became a red zone and the total lockdown began.

HOW MY LIFE HAS CHANGED

UNIVERSITY

I have almost finished my university career and I don't have follow lessons anymore, but I like sometimes attending lectures, just for self interest. Anyway, all university classes have been suspended, but thanks to teachers we were able to reorganize the courses through Google Meets in no time.
It is not the same as doing live lessons, but there are also many positive aspects of being able to study at a distance from home: you have more free time for yourself.

I have two exams left to graduate and a traineeship, I just hope this doesn’t delay my graduation, but being stuck at home now I can study even more and get on with my studies.

WORK

To maintain my studies I am giving private lessons of Greek and Latin, I have a degree in these subjects and I really like languages.

It gives me great satisfaction to help young students and try to get them interested in these subjects.I like doing it and I think I’m also a good teacher since all my students
have improved so much and have no insufficiencies in these subjects any more, this is one of my greatest satisfactions.

After the outbreak of the pandemic I can no longer tutor in person, but I had to readjust my work by doing everything online.

Initially I found some difficulties; the parents of my students did not conceive videolectures on Skype and it was thought that this quarantine could only last a couple of weeks.
As the emergency and the closing down of schools continued, even the most suspicious parents gradually accepted online tutorials for their children.
I thought it was harder teaching by Skype, but both, I and my students, quickly realized it was just a matter of habit.

Now my work has become much smarter, I am doing everything from home without having to move with the car, I am having more free time and I can do even more hours of lessons.

Despite the first inconvenience, I am now working more than before and receiving weekly requests from new students.

THE INFECTIONS IN MY COUNTRY

The virus has also arrived in the zone where I live in, a small village of 200 inhabitants on the hills of the Apennines.
Fortunately, no one of my family or friends has encountered problems with the virus.
But, in the small town where I live, unfortunately there are those who did not make it.
An elderly couple of my neighbors contracted the virus and they have been hospitalized more than two weeks ago.
The husband is deceased, while the wife is still hospitalized but should make it.

MY FREE TIME AT HOME

I spent a month of quarantine, I never moved from home, not even to shop.

The first days were the hardest, I missed going out, I missed friends, but now I’m adapting to this situation and I found new and very fulfilling things.

MORE CHATS WITH FRIENDS

I can’t see my friends in person, but we often talk on the phone, make video calls or meet up online to play with our favorite video games.

MORE TIME ON THE BLOCKCHAIN

I’m spending a lot of time on the Blockchain, too, and I’m trying out some interesting new projects that I can’t wait to tell you about.
I finally have more time to dedicate to my Blog, after the Hive fork I have even more desire to write and use this platform, I spend at least an hour a day.

IMG_20200411_224019.jpg

MORE OUTDOOR LIFE

I feel very lucky to have a very large garden and a grove where I can relax.
I can go out whenever I want for a jog or to play with my dog, only now do I understand the value of all this green around me.
I really like nature and animals, but I never really felt the importance of all this green.

This drastic change of life led me to spend more time out in my garden, to take care of it, to appreciate the tranquility of nature.
I also have a new project, I’m going to do my first garden!
I don’t know if I’ll have the green thumb to do it, but I’m also studying this new subject a lot for myself.
I’ll keep you updated on the evolution of my garden on Hive.

IMG_20200405_173529.jpg

MORE HOME COOKING

I’ve never been a good cook, on the contrary, I’ve never been passionate about cooking.
But this quarantine has spurred me to try to be more independent even in the kitchen.

Because I can’t go out for eating pizza, I learned how to do it at home, and I have to say, my pizza is not so bad.
The first attempts were a true failure, but now I can say I can make a very good pizza starting from the basic ingredients.
I know pizza isn’t such a hard dish to make, but for a incompetent like me, it’s already a great satisfaction.

I also bake a lot of pies and cook something new almost every day.
In the coming weeks I will also try something more difficult, the rosettes and tortellini, two typical dishes of my region. This might be a good time to learn the old recipes and carry on our grandmothers' traditions.

IMG_20200405_194133.jpg

MORE PEACE OF MIND

I know the virus is a bad thing for the health and economy of the whole world, but for me there are also many positive aspects.

The global pollution is dropping fast, there are incredible videos showing an unusual Venice, with crystal clear waters, dolphins swimming nearby of the bathing establishments.
Even in my area, the Po Valley (which is one of the most polluted areas in Europe), the sky is visibly more crystal clear and I no longer see that gray blanket of pollution on the horizon.

Maybe we were too busy with useless things, too many useless things that filled our lives, too much frenzy, too much consumerism.

I am understanding that we can live very well without going out to dinner twice a week, indeed a pizza or a good homemade pasta give even more gratification.
We don’t have to drive 100 kilometers or take a plane to see things that strike us, sometimes the most beautiful beauties are closer to us than we think.

Now the days seem even longer and more intense, I feel like living a more real life.

IMG_20200405_174254.jpg

WHAT I THINK OF THE FUTURE

It is difficult to predict how long this will last, but I think it is difficult for us to return to life as before.

THE ECONOMY

I hope that this pandemic will finally bring an end to capitalism and central banks and bring a breath of change to the world.
I believe that all this will benefit Bitcoin and the whole decentralized world, monetary inflation will be inevitable and a lot of confidence in governments and banks will be lost.
Many companies will probably close down and many people will be out of work, and I am very sorry about that.

But do we really need so many material objects?

Is it so necessary to buy a new pair of shoes every month or change the car every three years?

I do not want to be moral, but I believe that the economy in which we live is profoundly wrong and does not take into account too many factors, including the environment and people’s health.
We live in a world where appearance and money matter more than moral values, where “Master Chef” is followed by millions of spectators, but then no one is able to cook anymore, and we rely daily on Street Food or JustEat without even worrying about our health.

SOCIETY

There will certainly be important repercussions in society too.
Perhaps the globalization we knew until yesterday will change and we will have to accept it.
But I think that once the worst will be behind us, there will be much more desire to meet, there will be more dialogue between people and more respect.

This virus could make us all a lot more aware, it could open our eyes for real.
Planet earth does not belong to us, just as people and animals.
We’re all guests, we all walk the same land, we all breathe the same air.
I am pleasantly getting used to the images of dolphins swimming near the shore that were previously the most polluted of Italy, I like seeing videos of wolves and bears that are reclaiming their own woods. I would rather give up my previous life to keep seeing images like these.

This virus is testifying that we can also live in a different way, leaving the right space also to the other creatures of the planet.
We can live without gathering into the shops every day or without invading cities and roads of cars, we will start to buy only the things that are actually necessary and maybe we will give up using the car to go to take out the garbage or to go shopping two kilometers from home.

Perhaps the most difficult thing is precisely to predict what will happen to the society, since from an economic point of view we are in the recession of the centralized world.

But today’s world is evolving fast and we must accept change, indeed we must be able to adapt to the future without necessarily wanting to go back.
And there’s nothing new or strange about it, the pandemics have always been there, and Darwin teaches us that only those who can adapt to change can survive.

HOW AM I PREPARING FOR THE FUTURE?

As I have said before, I do not expect a return to normality in this 2020 and frankly I hope to never return to the world that was there before.

In the near future I see a different world, where many jobs will disappear, a bit due to the virus due to the blockchain revolution.
I also believe that knowledge will become the currency of the future, and that is why I am trying to create a career path that takes this into account.

My biggest dream would to be an archaeologist in Egypt, but I am a realist and I know it will not be easy to achieve my dream in no time.

That’s why I plan to continue teaching my students languages, I’m thinking of creating my own online academy, where I could teach all the students in the world, not only those who live in my area. I could also teach them blockchain and how to approach this world safely.

I’m going to publish on Hive with much more consistency than I did on Steemit, to try to build my own social profile and my online image and why not, also get a nice monthly income.

I want to learn how to make bread, pizza, pasta, the dishes my grandmother made, starting from the raw materials, the most genuine ones.
I would like to become as independent as possible also in food, using my land to grow fruit and vegetables and why not, try one day to raise chickens.

There are those in this pandemic who see the end of the world, I see many positive things in it, things that without this virus would have remained invisible to our eyes.

One thing is certain; this virus has not affected the Bitcoin, and our enthusiasm for the great Blockchain revolution, that we are carrying, has not prevented Hive from being born and will not limit our freedom
digital.

Let’s treasure this and wake up into a world more beautiful than ever.

Banner firma.png

Sort:  

Hi @maryincryptoland, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 100%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.

Only an hour a day on Hive!

I'm sure you can do better than that~!

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 12/18)

Of course, you're right... I will try to write 200 posts this year, at least
💪💪💪

That's a pretty good goal, sounds like about Monday - Friday weekends off!

Easily achievable!

You can post on the Splinterlands challenges once a week, that's an easy start!

Brava Mary

Appena ci rifaranno uscire organizziamo una bella grigliata ;)

Sai che per una buona mangiata e un altrettanta buona bevuta sono sempre disponibile. 😁

!discovery 30


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212