Question: Does The Current Implementation of Hive Communities Have Value?

in #question4 years ago

dsdwiy.jpg

For years I kept saying the same things...

STEEM wont grow unless we have "communities".

Well, here we are and we have them. But I feel like something is amiss about how they are implemented. I dont feel the need to use them very much.

I'm curious to know if Im alone in that sentiment. Please share how they have (or not) work for you and what is your overall thoughts about how communities are working on HIVE.

Sort:  

I think we probably need more numbers (of people, not communities). We are already a small population. Fragmenting that number doesn't leave much.

I think to have a "marketing plan" for your community and have an easy onboarding process for people to join it is key. For example: Let's say I have a "RenovationDIY" youtube channel with 100,000...how do you invite people in a way that is easy for them to join your "forum" on HIVE.

Right now, this is still, after years of development, too complicated for the average Joe.

Yep that is the issue; we need light accounts. Every time I have tried to bring people over from traditional media its just too hard.

I quite enjoy them. You get to meet like minds all in one place. I used to post a lot of sports content on Steem but it all got jumbled up with the rest of the posts on the feed that it never got curated as much..or at all.

SBI sustained me over on Steem else I would have had less than 0.05 on each of my posts.

That has changed a lot with the communities but this is the kicker.

If your community does not have at least 10 orcas or dolphins actively curating then it seems pointless.

What is lacking is a manual curation initiative in some of the communities such as OCD, curie, etc.

Building curation initiatives around your community is the key to making them work better.

I feel they make sense and will evolve to be better but many users are just posting where the HIVE power is which is sad. There are users who never post outside OCD and GEM.

Personally I see communities as hashtags but haven't gotten the involvement and development in a way. I have subscribed to many communities and I try to participate but it's all the same feeling I had with hashtags. But one thing I have realized is; there are more human engagement now. I don't know if it can be attributed to the communities or not. But it sure make me enjoy the chain more. And there is also support for new comers too like I have seen. I hope it stays like this with much more interactiveness like the other social media platforms. It's high time we incorporate chats into the system or at least messaging.

I believe the communities are a good idea but they lack community features to really take off.
Unless some sort of conversational direct messaging can be built in I don't think they will Foster real community.

i don't even know how to use them. i choose 3 on peakd but mainly use esteem interface

I personally think they're really good. I've just onboarded a friend onto Hive and the communities is literally the first thing she was drawn to. For new people creating content that suits a community makes so much more sense than trying to build a following randomly. I like that communities get a cut of the rewards too, it gives them some value to play with and upvote the quality pieces, which encourage people to create more quality pieces... which in turn brings value-adding content to the platform as a whole.

On PeakD in particular, communities seem well-implemented. I haven't personally used them enough to notice any pain points, but overall I think they're great.