Sort:  

While it may be ironic that this post is paying so well compared to others on this blog, I don't think there's really any comparison to be made between your payout and his. You joined last month and this is literally your only interaction not on your own posts, while @whatamidoing has been blogging, interacting, and engaging in time-consuming activities that boost other members of the community.

That's not intended as a scolding, but merely to point out that you can't expect to come here and do well early on unless you're porting some massive following with you. And that if you expect to start earning more, you will need to go beyond your own content. A lot. And sadly, as this post points out, even that is no guarantee.

That said, I checked out your blog and your writing is good, and I'm not sure what group @whatamidoing had in mind, but you're welcome to The Isle of Write Discord server where we have a lovely community of creative types including many fiction writers (myself included).

Welcome to the platform and good luck to you :D

I recognize the irony here, I was not expecting to do so well on THIS post out of all of them. Trust me, I’ve been there too. I still don’t get any comments on my fiction, steemit is too oversaturated and the seven day payout limit encourages us all to keep going as readers and as contributors so I don’t think this is an ideal platform for fiction....some people make it work though. I’ve taken a break from fiction and hope that’s one day I can consistently make this kind of payout, then maybe my stories will get the attention I wish for them.

Do you know the discord for fiction writers? If not I’ll dig it up for you

I wonder if you've been by the Isle or seen the anthology project we are working on. We certainly aren't any whales I'm sorry to say, but I was recently directed to your Deadpost Initiative and it might be mutually beneficial to chat. I'm following now and will start linking your Deadpost posts in our server as well as going through them for possibly curatable fiction.

Thanks for all you do. I know it can be discouraging and I haven't done half what you apparently have here. Hopefully it's not so poorly rewarding forever. You definitely deserve more.