Is it true that when we die we go to hell or to heaven?

in #religion6 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

 

This is not a question that can be answered due to the lack of empirical evidence to support the claims of anyone trying to answer while stuck in this plane of existence.

That said, it is a very intriguing thing to ponder for sure. I've been fascinated with spirituality my entire life. I was born into a staunch conservative Christian household, but I was never able to simply adopt the beliefs of my parents because I had questions. Questions that I didn't feel my mother, father, or any pastor could answer sufficiently.

In my life I've gone from being highly committed to my spiritual practice, to completely agnostic, and then back to being interested in spirituality to differing degrees. A few years ago I had a particularly intense experience during a pranayama (breath work) session that really opened my mind up to a different way of interpreting the teachings of the various spiritual traditions that are observed in this modern era.

As far as I can tell, Heaven and Hell do exist, but I'm not convinced that they are places one would go in the afterlife, but rather these are ways of expressing states of being. One can "go to hell" at any point to "atone" for a decision they've made, or one can dwell in heaven right here, right now on Earth. All based on how we choose to live our lives.

An example would be I am visiting a holiday party at a friend of a friend's home and while there I run across an expensive watch in his bathroom drawer. I had no intent of stealing when I accepted the invitation to the party, but at the moment, I am not in complete control of the voices in my head, and my demons shout down my better angels. I put the watch in my pocket and rejoin the party as if nothing happened. The next day I find the watch in my pocket and kind of marvel over what I've done, but at the same time I'm also confronted with guilt associated with the act I've committed. Over time the guilt builds, and I have to resolve it in some way--there's always a price to pay or reward to reap for every action we take in our lives.


Even if I somehow manage to resolve the guilt internally and decide that it was a good idea to have stolen from my now friend, that isn't a get out of Hell free card. I feel the Universe has a way of sorting out the good/bad/right/wrong that occurs, and perhaps I come down with an illness, or something else happens in my life that generates illness or another type of "unfortunate" circumstance in my life. This is hell in my opinion.


At the same time, I have observed people who I feel live highly admirable lives. They steadfastly adhere to a moral code that is unshakable. They are disciplined with their time, and they are almost always in a heavenly mood. This is heaven in my opinion.


I believe that modern religions are helpful in the sense that they inspire many of their followers to live by a set and mostly accurate set of morality that is a public service to us all, but at the same time they create toxic tribalism that pits followers of one way of thinking against the others because they all market themselves as the one truth or "the only way" when in fact, they are all tools that can lead to self realization and peaceful interaction between humans and nature. This simply isn't true. There is almost certainly no "one way" to live/pray/believe/etc. We are all wonderfully unique and will have our own relationship with Spirit/The Universe/God/etc. 


The key is to develop the ability to hear the call of our soul, and to follow that call. 


Hope this adds new perspective, thanks for asking!

Sort:  

I also think the experiences we have in life will help steer our way of thinking and our beliefs. My own story is a pretty hard one to tell and I started out with one bad thing happening after another, From a young girl to a grown woman, and for a long time I felt like I was living in hell and thought that maybe I had been a really bad person in another life (possibly) to deserve the things that were happening because I couldn't understand what I did to deserve it.

I don't know what I believe and I tell people, and often times I'm judged for it, but they haven't walked a day in my shoes... that if there is a heaven or hell... and the day comes that I meet my maker, I have questions and I have things to say. And then he can do what he will.

Some people are blessed, some people are not. Do I think that if I prayed more maybe things would have been different? No. I prayed and prayed as a child and help never came. It wasn't until I was old enough to take care of myself that I got myself out of the situation I was in.

This was an awesome thought provoking post @abhaya504... I'm really not a bitter person despite everything and you will always see a smile on my face and will always be in good spirits with the occasional days that you just won't hear from me, I try to do good and be good not for fear of going to hell but because I think it's just who I am ... I've suffered and know what it's like and have decided to not let that define who I am.

Oh geez, I'm so sorry this got so long lol... it's definitely a subject I could probably write a book about.

Wow @monchhichi23! Thank you for sharing your story with us! Your brief description of your past reminds me very much of the story of Job in the Christian Bible. Job was a good man, and the Devil made a wager with God that he could make Job curse the Lord he loved.

The Devil threw horrible circumstance after horrible circumstance at Job, but Job never lost his love for God.

Perhaps you weren't being punished at all. Perhaps in your previous existence you were in ideal circumstances and weren't given the opportunity to learn from pain—one of the greatest teachers and motivators for a human being. This feels especially true since it happened earlier in your life which gave you the opportunity to transcend Hell here on Earth and find your way to a Heavenly state of mind while you are still in your body.

Congratulations! That is an amazing accomplishment! Maintaining a positive mental attitude even when the going is rough is one of the most difficult skills one can master.

I'm sure you're keenly aware of the many lessons your early life struggles taught you. They litterally formed you into the bright being you are today!

So lovely! 😍

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Congratulations @abhaya504! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @abhaya504! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!