BUILDING OF A HUMANOID ROBOT using ROBOROBO KIT

in #robotics5 years ago (edited)

STEEMIT THUMBNAIL BUILDING HUMANBOT.jpg

Humanoid Robot is probably one of the coolest technology ideas ever came into the human mind. Somebody might probably think that this idea is just a childish dream but this is actually a technological breakthrough when the field of robotics come to a point where it can produce a robot that will be able to perform all the different movement of the human body. Humanoid Robots is actually one of the ultimate goals in the field of robotics engineering. In the movies, one of the most famous humanoid robots is perhaps C-3PO of STAR WARS, at least in my opinion.

Image Source STARWARS.COM

Well, I think that's enough of a little introduction. In this post, I just want to share with the building of a simple but working robot prototype using the ROBOROBO Kit.

Below are the pieces of a ROBOROBO Kit. You will find ready-made circuit boards that will function as the CPU, Sensors, signal receivers. I plan to write a separate blog providing the details of what's inside of this robot kit.

IMG_2623.JPG

The screenshot below is the head (still incomplete) of the humanoid prototype that I am going to show you in a video.

SS humanbot.png

Watch this video to see the robot in action. Enjoy!

I hope you found it to be interesting, Thanks for dropping by.




Vote: @surpassinggoogle, @steemgigs, @deveerei, @bayanihan, @rcarter , @curie , @blocktrades , @neoxian , @liondani , @precise @pharesim , @good-karma , @roelandp , @jerrybanfield , @neoxian, @arcange and @adsactly

Some photos in the video were from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Ehhh wow that is heck awesome stuff I just witnessed.
Can you build something like iron man suit too? or I mean is it possible?

I watched Avengers Endgame and I am also a fan of ironman so I know where you are coming from. hehehe. Can I build something like an iron man suit too? Well, the answer is YES. ironman suit is termed "wearable robotics" in this field. I built a weareable robotic arm using a different robot Kit and I actually posted it here on steemit but here is the video:

Once I have all the materials that can complete a wearable suit where I can design it to look like an ironman suit. It will be my pleasure building it. :D

woah man. I am blown away by your skills and the kind of knowledge you keep. Nice I will be in awe for a while after reading this comment :)

hehe. Thanks, I highly appreciate your feedback and I am glad you found it interesting.

This is pretty cool project. I hope you had fun building it.

You were featured in week 56 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @gibic. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure and meet new people.

I highly appreciate it @tryskele @pifc. It's honor for me to be featured in your curation project. More power! Yes it was fun building it.

Hello @jerome-morales! This looks interested and complicated as well for me. It reminds me of a game kit we had when we were kids but that wasn't robotics, it was just a building kit.
Congratulations on the great work, I like the outcome! Keep up the good work and have a nice weekend :)

Thank you @erikah. I am glad you find it interesting :) Have a nice weekend too!

Does the kit include instructions on how to build the head or did you free build it?

Posted using Partiko Android

The kit includes instructions on how to build robot models for you to get started, that includes this model. In my next post, I'll be showing my own built that we used in the last competition where we won as 2nd runner up in the driving skill category. Thanks for dropping by @mytechtrail

Looking forward to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool. See u here in my next post.

That is a very interesting little robot, @jerome-morales. And quite funny, too! Great effort! Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations on being featured by @gibic in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'm so thankful for being featured in #payitforward. It's very nice to know you like it too. Have a good one @trincowski

Feel free to join us and make your own #PayItForward post. That's how I really got started around here... 😉

on the photos we can see a lot of pieces, but in fact you surprised me with a final size of the robot. During the whole video I was thinking that I am watching some kind of new level Lego Technics For A Bit Older Folks. Great idea of involving your daughter into the video, its something very creative. Also you add a nice soundtrack, may I ask for a track ID ?
Content definitely worth our time and upvotes !

Thanks for the nice feedback @cubapl, and I highly appreciate your support and the support of the community, it means so much for me. The music track is by XANCITY in youtube, I ask permission from him to use his music in my video, try to check out his channel. This is the link to the music track:

Hi jerome-morales,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I am definitely having a great day because of this support coming from all of you! Thank you so much to all of you guys the @curie community. More power!

It’s looks really cool. I’m waiting for another post from your robot journey. Maybe someday I will try build it with my kid. 👍🏻

Thanks, @anaerwu working with technology, especially with robot systems is fun. Yeah try it with your kids it's a good idea to have quality time and at the same time doing what you love to do.

I'm not sure if my kid will be interested in building robots but it could be something different and as you said still have great family time.

Well, actually robots don't have much appeal to my daughter. I tried to induced robotics to her but she prefers other things hehe, and since she loves telling stories, I thought she could be a great host in my videos, that way I can help her in drawing out more of her talent. I'm just glad she agreed with enthusiasm.

My daughter loves writing stories as well but she loves lego so maybe building robots will be something that will absorb her.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can try EV3 Lego Mindstorm Robot Kit. It is a Lego product. All miniature robot parts from this package are compatible with the standard Lego pieces and this comes with a user-friendly programming interface good for youngsters. I am also using this Educational Robot Kit to teach robotics to my learners in the school where I work.

Oh so maybe we try this. Thank for the info.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's really interesting 😉 what will this humanoid robot function for human @jerome-morales? A friend or a future helper to human daily works .. or just for educational purposes😯 forgive me if I ask you this questions.. I like robot if they're as cute as a dog😊 ... I found your post through @gibic entry post in the pay it forward contest this week.. but I think you already chosen by curie too.. so congratulations😉 keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @cicisaja. I'll definitely keep up the good work posting content from my passion, the act itself is a reward for me and the existence #steemit community is truly a blessing. I like people who are as inquisitive as you asking these questions and I'd be glad to answer them. Humanoid robot is the ultimate goal of robots engineering does not just promise specific funtions but its potential to push humanity forward is so great, being a friend or a companion, a helper to human daily workds, for educational purposes are just a few feats for what an ideal humanoid robot can do. This KIT that I have used is for educational purposes and imagine what the children can do in the future since there are already fully functional programmable robotics systems with miniature parts that resemble of what is in the industry, that has been designed to be teachable as early as in the elementary grades. Unlike before learners only starts their robotic journey when they are already in college. We are already indeed living in a different era. :)

Haha that's a cute introduction @jerome-morales!
Very cool to see how you build a robot. I am not really into robotics, but I knew there were some kits available. Didn't know that it was this far though :) Looks pretty awesome :)
Thanks for sharing!

hahaha. Thanks for dropping by @lion200. Yeah, there are a variety of kits available now for enthusiasts to have fun with or for educational purposes. I am glad you find it cool. I appreciate it.

You're welcome! Thanks for the effort and sharing!

No problem. Have a great day!


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 56. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thank you so much @pifc. I wish more growth to your project.

Congratulations @jerome-morales! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you @steemitboard.

You're welcome @jerome-morales
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.
Have a good day!

I'll definitely support your project. I wish for you continued success.

hi @jerome-morales
you really have a nice job with building this robot! How long did it take? But are you an engineer or is technology your passion? And what are the competitions in driving skills in which you are involved? you are opening me a whole new world !!
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

Thank you @road2horizon, I am a Robotics trainer/coach in the school where I work as a Math and Science teacher to kids. Driving Skill is a category in a robotics competition where a robotics team will build a robot that they can maneuver using a remote control device. I was once a full-time computer technician and a helpdesk technical support professional. I am not an engineer but perhaps the one thing in common between an engineer and me is the passion for technology. We are indeed in a new world where robotics has found its way to be teachable even to the kids just like the Robot Kit that I used in this post. A complete concept of computer programming can be introduced to youngsters using these tools.

It is fantastic. I studied pedagogy and I still wonder why I wonder why the programs of the various disciplines always start from ancient Egypt and then you don't have time to explain the contemporaneity to our children! We should be able to keep up and I think they learn how to have fun! Bravo, you do a very good job

Thank for dropping by @road2horizon. yeah, it seems Egypt put a high value so much on the accumulation of knowledge probably the reason why pedagogy can also be traced back from them. yes, kids do have fun learning with these tools. I always love doing my best for the job. thanks again and have a great day!