Don’t Run With Me #1 - Ughgghhhh!!!! Runner Problems

in #running6 years ago (edited)

Runner Problems

I decided yesterday to take it easy on my knee still. It’s not 100%. I really wanted some cardio...I’m going freaking nuts without it!!! So, I went to the gym for a light elliptical workout and some upper body strength training.


Begrudgingly (because EVERY runner would rather be RUNNING!!!) I got on the elliptical.

DE630494-68AF-487F-8A14-B8BC99683CFD.jpeg

I had my knee all wrapped up with an ace bandage for support. I’ll go today and get some of my beloved K tape, but this is what I had....so...

5DFBAA50-46F1-4D37-846E-D29541AD7048.jpeg

I spent 30 minutes on the machine and listened to an audiobook. I accidentally stopped my Apple Watch before I got off...not sure how 🤔 and had to restart it. I had to keep the resistance low to keep the pressure off of my knee but at least I got my heart rate up a little.

C0CA7CCA-88FA-4107-AC3A-E9CF36069C23.jpeg


Once the 30 min was up on the elliptical I did about 10 min of upper body and core. Just regular bicep curls, shoulder presses, delt raises and some weighted sit ups. It’s cool to see the difference in calories burn. If you do your strength training right after or peppered in with your cardio you’ll get a bigger calories burn because your heart rate is still elevated.

5AFBAAB5-6D29-4045-B252-57F8C14341B5.jpeg


I think I have at least one more full week of knee rest before I can hit the pavement again. I’m going to straight up lose my mind. I’ve got to find away to release the endorphins!!


Happy Running Y’all

Run If You Can!!

Sort:  

Knee problems are the worst! I've had on-again off-again knee problems for years now with lifting and marathon training. Probably overuse... Do you have any secret remedies that have really helped you out?

My best advice and the hardest to take is simply resting it and then not over doing it when you come back. Ice and epsom salt baths never can hurt though. The best thing is prevention...stay hydrated and avoid hypertension.

very nice share thanks

You are very welcome!

welcome :)

Take care of your knee.