Running training for this week...good lord is it hot!

in #running6 years ago

So I only got two runs in this week partially due to the heat and partially because I had two appointments after work this week. When it gets much above 75 degrees F and the humidity is (always where I live) above 70% it really slows me down...but not too much.

My first run of the week was a short tempo run and I finished strong with a sub 7 minute per mile pace. The temp registered by my watch seemed inaccurate. It felt like 90 degrees F both days I ran this week. Here's Thursday's run.

thurs.JPG

I was happy to keep a 7:13 per mile pace as I was worn out from the work week and laying flooring the past 2 weekends. Never did catch up on sleep.

I did my other run on Saturday and the distance was a 10k but the heat index when I finished was a hot 90 degrees with humidity factored it.

saturday.JPG

I was happy to keep the average pace in the 7:20's due to how hot it was. It'll only get worse as we move into summer.

Fortunately my race will be early in the morning when it's cooler so maybe I can hit that 42 minute target.

I'm gonna keep on training in the evenings as I have been. And now that I'm down to 1 chiropractic adjustment per week instead of 2 I'll have more free time in the evenings to train..

2 weeks until race day! They're still finalizing the course so I'll have to see what kind of hills get thrown into the mix...that's the major variable.

I have a feeling it's gonna be a long hot summer and I'll have to adapt my training to it. As I do every year to some degree....

Sort:  

Yeah, that heat sounds like it would be terrible to run through.

It’s really warmed up where I live the past couple weeks. Looks like we’ll be getting 25 degree days for a while.

Yeah the heat is one thing but the humidity seems to double the awfulness of it. It's usually about 70-90% humidity where I live this time of year and it'll only get worse as summer gets into full swing! Short training runs for me for awhile...and races.

You on the west coast? I grew up in the Vancouver area, but live on the prairies now. The humidity puts the heat in a different class on the west coast.

make sure you are bringing water or a sports drink of some type but not an energy drink
just water should be fine unless you are doing like marathon runs but you def want to have it

Yes I bring one bottle per 5 miles so I had a total of two for the 10k run...one with water and one with gatorade. I've suffered the effects of dehydration during the hot Nashville marathon in 2011. I broke my 4 hr goal by 11 minutes still but I had to sit down going up the last hill because I started seeing spots and nearly blacked out 0.2 miles from the finish. But I finished.

ten miles, hell no
I might do like one

Wow...In that heat, you're running a 7.13? I ran a sub 10, (9:45) at 55 a couple years ago...lol...but that was in 40 degree weather. I'd probably be lucky to run a 12 today...

It's crazy how much difference the heat makes. Those faster miles (slightly faster) were done in shadier areas and I could run a 7:10ish pace in the shade but in the sun I could barely keep a 7:25-730 / mile pace.

Yea, the body is like a big heat sump, in essence. Again, congrats!

The atmospheric humidity is a factor very determinant when it comes to workouts, feel the discomfort of excessive sweating and of course fast dehydration, is something that affects the performance of any. But with proper training the body adapts gradually!

Success in your races! keep going on!

I usually bring a small face / sweat towel to mop my brow when sweat builds up (and it doesn't evaporate at these humidity levels). I haven't needed it until this week but forgot...noted. Today it hit 90 degrees F and it's been hot for this time of year.

Hopefully I adapt to the heat a bit, it just takes awhile each year to get used to it again. My ideal condition is about 30 degrees F cooler than it was this week (low 50's F / ~10-12 deg C).

I had to google F to C. I like to run in the mornings when it's that hot. I think you still managed a good pace! :)

Yeah I used to get up and out the door by 7 a.m. on long run days but I've had trouble getting out of bed early on weekends lately. That's gonna need to change if I'm to continue to get faster.

I know the feeling, sometimes it is so hard to get up! I try to lay out my clothes and shoes and keep in mind "how bad do I want this?".

Our running shoes have magic in them -
the power to transform a bad day into a good day;
frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence;
chocolate cake into muscle.

- Mina Samuels

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 16!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold