Running Journal #7: Enough is Enough

in #running6 years ago

I couldn’t keep breaking those records every day, that’s for sure and today it was only my ‘Second fastest time’ on this route.

k6v2t16he0.jpg

I think those hike’s I’m doing are having some effect on my body, as I was suffering a little from sore calves this morning before my 7.30am run. This time it was the slightly longer route and I had to deter @bingbabe from making me do an even longer one that is well over 5km.

I noticeably stopped more, and for longer periods but what the hell, this is no race and no personal challenge either besides losing some flab. I doubt the fat will disappear quicker if I am pushing myself every day in order to gain a new personal best.

At one point @bingbabe glanced over at me noticing the pained look and said, ‘Smile a bit more’, yeah really! It’s taking all my concentration to keep going, smiling takes effort.

I do love being close to the Leeds/Liverpool canal, as in the summer you see many different things on the banks and the water, like this barge (above) that was moored for the night.

a1hnhvhdbo.jpg

Taking some snaps breaks up the running, and gives me a breather. So I have done this same run 46 seconds quicker several days ago. I really am not bothered and am now taking the weekend off without any more running.

I used the new running shoes today for the first time, at least for running. They are really comfortable. Its amazing what some proper shoes can do for you.

Monday is another hike for me probably around Bronte country; it looks like a nice one.

dr953dmje5.png

3381z4hh0c.png

oeiqofy71l.png

4aeflouqe5.png


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Good shoes really do help. They are usually fairly light, so that's less effort to lift your feet. Sore calves can be a real pain. Sometimes I could barely walk the day after a run, but I don't seem to get that as much lately.

They are lighter for sure. Still today's run was still nightmarish. I wonder if that will ever go away?

I would much rather play Tennis, there's always that satisfaction of hitting winners and making that good connection with the ball, but with @bingbabe its more, keeping the ball in play.

You are right about the weight loss not being more if you push yourself to hard. What really worked for me is to do consistent smaller runs, they really add up and require a lot less motivation while it's easy to slowly do better without a real need to push it too far.


I have a small favor to ask,

Would it be possible to show support with a small comment to the nomination of @woman-onthe-wing by @plantstoplanks to also get upvotes from the @upvoteshares account. [ Nomination Link]

It would be nice to see someone from the health / Vegan community be one of the winners. Thanks !

Sure, consider it done!

Thank You !

That is a pretty cool barge. It is always fun where I live to go to the great lakes and see the freighters go by. I am glad you shoes are working out for you!

Appreciate those updates you provide as part of your running. I am sure you are an inspiration to youngsters there.

Thanks @coolguy123!, I will continue to document my rather poor running prowess over the next few weeks.

*Don't listen to your mind: open your heart and run for sensations.
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Good Run!!!
Next time don't wait so long to renew the running shoes...
Injure prevention start from that stuff

Thank you friend for sharing you so beautiful a post in us because I love running this post. I enjoyed this post very much for you and a very respected father will honor you a lot and you post a lot of good wishes and many congratulations Greetings

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #57! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.

Thank you!