Lunchtime run: Run in the sun

in #running6 years ago (edited)

It's definitely been colder and wetter since we got back from our holiday, but today the sun came out and made for good running conditions. I did some pyramid intervals before working out on the outdoor gym by #Stevenage swimming pool.

Selfie

As has happened a few times before, taking a photo made Endomondo and my podcast app quit, so I had to start them again, making for two runs in one.

Run

I found the sprints hard in the second half and it all took something out of me. I want to keep building my strength and stamina to get some better times at parkrun and other events. I still think I have potential to do it.

Run free. Support the runners of #RunningProject.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Good to see you are still out there doing it ;-)

We're moving into summer here, at some point, maybe, if the earthquakes stop.... oh, and the rain....

Another day running in the gym for me ;-)

Given that you are keeping this up and doing so well, it might be time to think about getting a GPS enabled watch to record your runs. That way your podcast won't get interrupted ;-)

I listened to my second podcast on this morning's run.... that was hard!! Trying to run fast while laughing is not easy hehehe

I listened to a couple including this one by some Steemians I know, @teamhumble and @dayleeo

No matter how high your peak is: what matters is to commit yourself to reach it?
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

This is the first photo I can remember with the exercise equipment in it. That is very cool. I wish we had stuff like that around where I live. I don't think it would probably hold up to the elements very well. Our Winters can get pretty intense!

I think it's been there a while, but our winter is b not too bad really. I've also seen these in Spain. It's a nice facility to have for free

Ahhhh the old broken GPS problem. I'm always surprised how upset I get if my tracker craps out and I think I'm not going to be able to save my precious, precious data.

Good job getting out at lunchtime!

Mine mostly works apart from showing ridiculous top speed, but I think this is an Android bug. It's just convenient to run at lunch, especially now it gets dark early

I'm kind of interested in the top-speed display issue that you're getting. Though, I'm not too familiar with the Endomondo -- so I don't know if there's just something weird going on with their app.

If you feel like it, you could upload a run to EXHAUST and I could take a peek to see if there are actually some crazy spikes in the data.

Site is still a W.I.P but over the next few weeks/months (I'm slow at a lot of this stuff) I'm hoping to flesh out:

  • Some detailed running analytics;
  • A "how-to" and "what is this?" post / page;
  • Ability to form running-groups, like @RunningProject;
  • Achievements / Badges;

You can find me (@mstafford) on discord if you're curious / interested).

I've not been able to contact Endomondo about this issue. I think it may get GPS glitches that give false readings, but those should be ignored. The most extreme was 5000km/h on a bike ride! I just look at average pace. I'll look at your site soon.

Excited to have another set of eyes on it. Still early days. Constructive criticism and feature suggestions are welcomed :)

Keep in touch!

Good on you for keeping up the exercise!

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.810 which ranks you at #387 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #211.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

So clean and good.

I suggest you write less generic comments if you don't want to attract flags for spam. I can see you are new, so take note. You need to make it clear that you read the post.