You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Animal Intelligence and its Implications for Alien Life Part 2: Umwelt

in #science6 years ago

Oh, definitely not! They have much, much keener senses of smell than we do, for instance- they essentially have access to a whole world of sensory data that we lack. They prioritize their senses in a manner entirely different than ours. Take television, for example. Most cats have little to no interest in televisions, while most humans will be well aware of what's on any TV near them. Some humans, like myself, have trouble looking away from televisions, which is a big part of why I don't own one. This difference in interest can be very much understood as a difference in our umwelts- the umwelt of the cat really has no room for the television.

All of this doesn't even bring in differences like them being four legged compared to our two legs, or the fact that they lack opposable thumbs. A jar lid is easily navigated for us, whereas it is an impossible barrier for the housecat. Ultimately, we have to understand the same dwelling place as being an entirely different habitat for a cat and a human- the manner in which the two navigate the exact same space is entirely different.

Dogs are another great example- for us they're adorable companions, for cats they are, more often than not, gigantic and terrifying predators.

Sort:  

I live with four cats. One of them is bonded to me. We've been together since he was a kitten. (about six years) He never leaves my side. I don't get out much and when I'm on the computer he's by my side on an end table (like now)...when I sleep he's on the bed beside me. when I go outside and sit on the patio he allows me a certain amount of time then he starts bitching.

I'm convinced that he can see things that I can not.

I'm like you regarding TV. Hate's them I do. I've not watched TV since the seventies. I can't stand to be in the same room with one.

That's adorable! I'm jealous, I just have one cat, although he's pretty cuddly.