A Candy-Striped Leafhopper

in #shadowhunters4 years ago

I was outside in the yard several days ago taking photos of some wild rose vines leafing out. After reviewing my photos I noticed a strange and colorful tiny bug in one of the photos.

zdh4w8.jpg

I decided to go back out to the yard to see if I could find the bug again and, possibly, get some better photos of it. This is the first one that I actually got of it so you can see why I would want a better photo to show off.

4mm2sc.jpg

It was great also when I went back out the second time as the sun was now shining on the wild rose vine and I located the colorful little bug. I snapped a few photos and I was happy to also see some shadows on my photos of the bug and the leaves. I then proceeded to the computer to figure out what kind of bug it was. After putting in several descriptions and viewing way too many photos, I found out that it is a Candy-striped leafhopper aka Red-banded leafhopper (has other aka's as well).

815mvq.jpg

Okay, now I know what it is so I needed to know is it a good bug or a bad bug. Sadly, this pretty little bug is a bad bug. It sucks the sap out of a host plant and can cause a lot of damage to it. I'm not too concerned though as I do have a lot of birds in the yard and that is one of their biggest predators along with spiders which I've seen in the yard as well. I still plan on keeping an eye open to make sure they don't start showing up in droves and don't seriously hurt any of the plants cause if I see more than a few of these little buggers out there then I may have to start helping the birds out with the Candy-striped Leafhopper...pretty or not! 🤨

q36izv.jpg

Thank you @melinda010100 for #shadowhunters!!

Source
Source

tt1vxt.jpg

63ruk1.png

2z6zfz.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 2 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

What an interesting insect and it has a great shadow, too. You did get some great shots of it.

Thank you very much @melinda010100!! I'm glad I looked at the photos when I did and even more glad that the sun was shining when I went back out. 😉

Leafhopper is so pretty Dee. Great shots!💞

Thank you so much Jo!! It is and it was the color that jumped out at me when I first saw it in the photo. It is a small little bugger and I only saw the one out there although I'm sure there are more..lol. 💕

Hey @deerjay, nice article on those little creatures. When I was a kid I was fascinated with them. Would go out and catch them like a Pokemon...hehe

I have been keeping an eye on Hive and impressed with the support. So I will be posting random stuff again.. You are doing great things friend 😃
Be well...

Thanks so much @johnnycopper1!! Lol.."catch them like a Pokemon"! It's so nice to see you back and I look forward to see the paint on the truck along with some great food photos! Are you still flying the Mavic and keeping your eyes on the skies? A watched a yt channel Bruce Sees All yesterday and thought about you. He has a high powered telescope and was catching what looked like pulses/explosions near Venus. 🤨

Thanks for asking @deerjay, too chilly for flying. Soon though. And my night vision Goggle's died :-(. So are you enjoying hive over steemit? Explosions near Venus, wow. I'll have to check it... Or not much difference yet? Thanks again...

You're very welcome @johnnycopper1! Too bad on the night vision goggles (sigh)! It was interesting to see the flashing. So much craziness going on it seems. Bruce Sees All looks for UFO's and such but I've only seen a couple of the pod casts so far. Hmm..I had a little setback a few posts ago but all is good so far. 😉 💕

Oh no, I hope not serious set backs... I'm powering down Steem and gonna send it to hive. Not sure how to do it easily, but can be done. Enjoy 😃😃😃

No..not serious at all but I didn't handle it well and I feel a bit bad about some language that I used. Just been a bad couple years and "I lost it" so to speak. I can tell you what I did to exchange some steem and if I can do it then I know it will be a breeze for you. First I set up an account through ionomy and transferred a small amount of steem there but then I got stuck as to how to exchange for hive so it is still sitting there till I figure it out or bother someone on how to exchange. Second try was much easier. I made an account with blocktrades and here is their link that I followed and worked great. Wish I had transferred more at the time as the exchange was better a week ago but so it goes. https://hive.blog/blocktrades/@blocktrades/blocktrades-re-opens-support-for-selling-steem-e-g-steem-hive That was the first time I've done any crypto exchange outside of marketplace on the platforms..lol. 😊

Yup, that's what I read. Using ionomy. But, then I think you can use blocktrades to move it to hive some how. So setting up ionomy was simple? I will need to do that I guess.

Well, I'm glad you got it out of you system. I remember the last time I was getting upset on Steem, it was all the downvoting going on.

Thanks for your help. Wow, your finally helping me with tech. How much you grown heheh