Shins

in #shin2 months ago

Since my last post about changing habits, I figured I'd post an update on how it's gone.

The good

I've been drinking more water, less soda and coffee.

It's been kind of irritating at times but it's gone surprisingly well so far. Haven't checked if there's been any difference in weight yet but it'd be too soon to check up on that either way.

The bad

I was planning on walking daily and increasing the distance by a bit until I hit a good amount of 5k+ steps, I even prepared some podcasts to listen to while I walk but on the second day after my initial post my shin muscles were hurting like crazy. This is normal for me in the past, whenever I had gained some weight they'd start to hurt during my first sesssions of jogging but it was surprising that they already started to hurt due to just walking. The reason is most likely the elevation, my route I walk on has quite a few ups and downs and while I was trying to keep a constant pace I think the ups put pressure on my shin muscles. They were quite in pain for the next two days but today the pain has gone away so I'm looking forward to doing the walk today.

image.png

The 16th was the day the pain was the worst so I didn't do any walking except a little around the house where I didn't have my phone on me. The next day we decided to go to this one restaurant we've been meaning to check out due to them having some swedish dishes in their menu, afterwards we decided to go to this big supermarket to purchase ingredients for healthier food I can make at home both to save costs and fix my eating habits.

Ever since I had my gallbladder removed I should've taken better care of what and how I eat. What being healthier, less fatty and less red meat and how meaning I should eat smaller portions throughout the day. I plan to make sandwiches that I can eat once or twice per day in small amounts and also eat less of the regular meals in between them.

I guess other things to place on the "good" list would be me stepping away from the pc a bit more often these last few days. On the 15th we even went to buy some gardening things to plant some seeds as a hobby with @hiddenblade which could make for some fun content to post here and there along with my other healthy plans.

My sleep has also improved lately, been falling asleep around 10-11pm every day and woke up at 7-8am, it's gotten a bit longer for some reason but it's probably due to me switching back to regular rhythm which may take some time to adapt. As usually I would've pushed it forward a few hours by now, I'm hoping I'll be able to keep falling asleep at the same hour every night now as my body will need that stabilization which will help a lot of other things get better such as energy and clearer thinking (I think).

Anyway, that's it for today. Definitely planning on going for a walk in the afternoon today as my shins aren't in pain anymore, I expect some more pain after this next walk but hopefully it recovers faster this time.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Dude, that sounds like shin splints... which is essentially an overuse injury. It makes sense since you're walking up hill your calves are being extended/lengthened more than usual.

One thing I found helpful was massaging my calves with a wine bottle while I'm sitting down... it hurts like crazy but in a good way. Try a bunch of different calf stretches as well. I had shin splints for a while, but I honestly haven't had them for years now.

Yeah I've had them for a long time but of course they're not a problem if I'm not doing anything. xD

I had this one dude in military training give me some kind of russian oil that I put on them and it helped so much when running, but then when the time came to shower it burned like crazy, lol.

I think I just need to ease into it and like you said do some stretches and massages until they get used to me dragging all this weight. With the weight going down it should eventually go away but it'll be quite a long process.

So yeah, it's not the first time but didn't wanna get into all that as it's a whole thing, lol.

I'll generally cramp or get really tight from the knees down doing anything more than a light jog, UNLESS I've spent 5/10 mins warming up.

Get the workout app, go for beginner lower body and use that as a warm up for the walks.

Okay cool... I wasn't sure if they were a brand new thing or not. Definitely not fun.

Hey, great update! I can really feel the effort you're putting into your health. I've experienced some pain during walks too, but your perseverance and changes are truly inspiring. I've also started jogging for about 3-4 months now, 2-3 times a week, and it's been a mood booster for me, enjoying the fresh air just like you. Improved sleep is a major plus! Keep up the great work💪

I weigh 117 kg and I enjoy walking 6-8k steps. Sometimes I sit on a bench and read a book. I hardly drink soda and eat little sweets, but have not yet reduced the amount of fatty meat in my diet.

Try actifit ! I've been using it because of my friend. It's apparently pretty convenient though I'd definitely hope they can improve the UX and UI a bit. It's pretty motivating knowing how many steps you take + they have this mini challenge which rewards you some token, gamifying your exercise make it even more fun. Hope you get to recover soon as well!

Your sleeping patterns are very healthy, I wish I could do that but it would mean pulling my whole lifestyle forward like finishing dinner before 7pm.

As for eating, home cooking is definitely cheaper and healthier, and batch cooking is great to save time and effort. The other thing I do is to place little plates of healthy snacks and fruits in every room that I can nibble during the day

Ooh… Self improvement arcs make fun reads. Happy to read you’re switching things up and enjoying their results. If you visit the restaurant, try any new recipes or sandwiches, pls post the pics. I wanna try ‘em too. 😌

Everyone gets a little scream of dissatisfaction from the body when they decide to change rhythm.
So sorry about the shin pains but with consistent movements and walking, it'll get less and less till it's gone.

Goodluck on your healthy habits..

I've also began sleeping earlier too..

The previous 3am till 6am sleep has now been moved to 11pm to 6am with a few times of inconsistencies in-between 😂

Wow,very impressive. Some months ago I switched from coffee to Chinese Pu'Erh tea. In the gym I can sweat much better and it helps losing weight, I think I have to write a post about it 😉
Greetings Tom ✌🏼

Glad you have better sleep.
Yeah when you feels pain, you need stop for while. But not for long, because when you start over again, you will in pain again.

💚 Growth and elevation is associated with pain. Even in the process of improving health. Praiseworthy pain of existence.

Good job! You could also try cycling (if you have a bicycle). Cycling has less impact on your sgin muscles and joints.

Been actually planning on getting a training bike for indoors, whatever they're called. :D

It's called an indoor training bike 😉
I have an old one here, but hardly use it. It's hard to motivate myself to do indoor rides. I really prefer exercising outdoors.
The indoor bike is taking a lot of space and just gathering dust at the moment, so I think I will get rid of it.

I'm sorry your exercise had to take a backseat due to shin pains. I feel like my unused muscles get painful a day or two after using them, even though I wasn't doing anything strenuous. Try to ease into your workouts.

Recently I noticed I have been taking more of Carbonated Drinks. I noticed it and instantly I just need to work on reducing it because of my health

You should use @actifit also

Yeah will check into downloading it for tonight.

Ways to improve one's health and well-being.

Also drinking more water. Though hot and with coffee. Keep up the great work 👍 !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Hello, my name is Lucas and I would like to ask for your help by liking and commenting on this week's post at the link: https://inleo.io/threads/view/hive-br/re-leothreads-2fbduorg7: llet's make the community spin and interact.

We are a big family, I count on your help. I will also always be here supporting you. count on me and our community🇧🇷❤️

Spamming on Hive is not a good idea.

Spend more time and effort to engage with people in a genuine way will be more effective and you could get more support that way.

You have proved you can create good content in your introduction post, why not carry that effort through and build on it rather than waste time spamming people.

You don't even bother to respond to comments to your own posts or support and comment other people's posts. If you don't action on your own words then don't give all the "We are a big family" crap

This is not spam, I asked for help from the community to vote and there were only two people. This is interacting and making new friends and also helping me. I followed them, I liked them. But it's okay, I'm sorry, I won't do it again

Eu sou um novo usuário que está apendrendo q usar uma plataforma sozinho. eu não sei onde posso falar ou não, mas minha intenção não foi criar um spam. eu queria ajuda. e foi de uma forma que eu escrevi com minhas palavras.

I am a new user who is learning how to use a platform on my own. I don't know where I can talk or not, but my intention was not to create spam. I wanted help. and it was in a way that I wrote with my words.

It's not good to directly ask for vote and be all "if you follow me I'll follow you as well", it doesn't work like that here. Go follow some people who post about things you enjoy reading, engage on their posts, ask questions about their posts, etc, and build relationships. If they don't engage with you then move on to other people. You want connections of similar interests, that way you get more consistent support on your own posts, etc.

It is highly necessary that one daily watch his or her health irrespective of the work because our health is the first thing that should come first

One thing that really helped me with breaking the soda habit was seltzer/sparkling water (it's called different things in different places; just don't fall for the "sparkling water beverages," since they're just diet soda hiding behind another name). Turns out it was the bubbles that I missed about soda, more than the sweetness. So switching to unsweetened seltzer (it comes in a ton of flavors now, or you can buy a carbonation rig and make your own, like I did) was a huge help.

I also second the recommendation of stretching/warming up to prevent shin splints. When you're busy working on the computer all day, sometimes it can be a challenge just to get up and move around, much less take the time to stretch first. But it really helps!

Good luck in your health improvement efforts!

Dude good for you! It's so hard on your body sitting in front of a computer for long hours (I know, I do it too), it's great to get out and walk even a few minutes a day. I'm no good at it but my wife hates being stuck in the house so she usually gets us out even for a short walk most days. I sometimes get that pain in my shins too but the more regularly you go out the less it will happen, your body will adapt to the new routine. Changing eating habits is probably the healthiest thing you can do, that's the one that is hardest for me, but honestly even just cutting out soda will be huge, there is so much unnecessary sugar in it. Ive heard mixed things about coffee though, some say its fine some say its better to cut it out in order to just keep up with the healthy mentality. I drink black coffee mostly though and it has almost no calories so I don't feel bad about that one, plus Im super addicted 😂. Keep up the good work, you will never regret working on your health! Oh also, something that helped me stay motivated in the past was wearing a fitness tracker. They are pretty cheap these days and they have really helped me to keep up a good routine.