Fast

in #shopping2 years ago

Generic square (2).png

Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it.

- Terry Pratchett -



It'll be there on November nineteenth, they told me with confidence before I placed my order. Ok, that's not too bad, I thought and proceeded to click through to make my final payment. I felt good, in a short time my new assaulter belt would be here, a totally man-style belt if ever there was one. I was calling it my Christmas present to myself.

If you're wondering, an assaulter belt, often also referred to as a battle belt, is a belt a soldier uses to attach their equipment to, things like: Spare magazines for rifle and sidearm, the gun holster itself, multi-tools, key-chains, flashlights, handcuffs, lock-picks and just about anything else required and small enough to be belt-mounted. They are super strong, a man can be dragged by it, have a secure but quick-release buckle and are generally very nifty things. They also hold one's pants up. I have a couple but it's time for a new one.

There I was on a popular shopping website ordering two of them, one in black and one in OD green (olive drab). I was happy with the lead-time thinking that was kind of fast considering the package was coming from America. I clicked and paid. They were fast to take my money but I didn't mind because they promised me they'd be fast to deliver my belts; I love it when a plan comes together.

The nineteenth came and went.

The twentieth came and went.

The twenty first came and went.

The twenty second came and went.

The twenty third came and went.

I think you get the idea. No belts arrived. No emails. No nothing...I wasn't pleased.

I went to the website and looked up the tracking details on the twenty forth. Ah ha! It said the package was damaged and has been returned to the online shopping site's facility in San Bernardino, California...On the seventh of November! Assholes! So much for fast shipping and keeping me informed for that matter. The tracking message said I'd receive a refund within three to five days. Remember this is a message on the seventh I was reading on the twenty forth of the month. Hmm.

Today I went to the website to contact the company but of course the contact us link was not apparent; instead it was buried somewhere deep down where a logical person isn't ever going to look. I found it though and initiated a text-chat with someone who probably doesn't even speak English and after about ten minutes managed to get them to agree to a refund which the person said he'd initiate right away. That was this morning.

So, as it turned out fast delivery wasn't to be. I mean, the speed at which they took my money left me feeling a little dizzy but...Yeah, it seems they're not so fast to return it.

I'm annoyed; It's not about the items, I can get them just about anywhere. It's not about the money either to be honest, I don't really need it right now. I'm more annoyed about the way these big companies treat the little people...There's the owner sitting on his pile of 205.4 billion USD and here's me, and probably millions of other people, not able to get a timely refund for something they can't supply me! But we keep going back right? Well nah, not this little black duck.

Anyway, this isn't a very good rant and I should have fired up; I don't tend to rant much anymore though. I guess there's little point to getting upset about it, I mean who cares what I think? Certainly not the owner of that massive online shopping company. Not shopping there is about as good a protest as I can make and maybe if a whole lot of others do so also someone may take notice.

Maybe one day society will use the immense power they have to affect change rather than just lowering their own acceptable standards and feeding the gaping maw of massive corporate entities like this one; but that would take going without and society doesn't like to do that. I'd say companies like this one would change fast if society wised up and took action though - Meaning stopped shopping there.

Do you have an online shopping story to tell? A good or bad experience with the delivery, website, a return or refund? Share below if you have and would like to tell us about it.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

The image is mine, not yours

Sort:  

Debiting customers seem to be their favorite act tbh. Not just them but banks too. I hate how I instantly receive a debit alert without being served as promised.

Yeah, these places are always qui into take and no quick to give back.

Hmmm🤔 How thought of you.

I use to believe the notion that light is the fasty, but the way you shed more light into the matter. I realize darkness is everywhere you go until light arrives.

This is true.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 380000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 390000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Great post boss, happy sunday

I have a US ALICE pack and some miscellaneous web gear I am assembling into a 72-hour pack. I ordered a canteen with nesting cup and stove inside a canteen cover. It's supoosedly the same brand as genuine milsurp, but this is made in China and the quality is abysmal.thll The nylon is thin. The tin has rough, sharp edges. The cup doesn't properly nest in the stove, and the canteen doesn't properly nest in the cup.

Hmm, a familiar story I'd say, that knock-off stuff is cheap but rarely comes up to standard. I think we've all been caught out on that at one time or another.

On the other hand, sometimes civilian tech has improved on mil-spec gear, and we can find better bargains than the military-industrial complex can manage with its money laundering disciplined budgeting process.

The term Mil-spec always made me laugh...It usually means:

Stuff the military bought from the supplier who sold it to them for the cheapest price.

I agree with you completely, there is much civvy equipment that is superior to the military stuff indeed. Hmm, it could be a good post-series.

Stuff that is better than the military equivalent.

When it comes to the AR-15, there was a time when Colt used larger diameter pins for civilian production. Maybe they were scared too many full-auto trigger groups would wander out of army armories and onto the streets. "Mil-Spec" in this rifle only means it uses the standard pin sizes and locations for parts replacement and upgrades.

I suppose there is some merit to meeting military specifications for ruggedness in various electronics and the like, but are the military specs good, or is it just marketeering to jingoistic buyers?

ALICE packs and other web gear isn't necessarily the best option for backpacking. Once upon a time, it was a low price for good gear, but nowadays, better backpacks are definitely available. I've only been building up my kit because I have accumulated enough surplus stuff to be invested in the system. Besides, MOLLE and ALICE are effectively interoperable for practical use, so it all works together thanks to someone being smart enough to consider backwards compatibility for grunts in the field and logistics throughout.

I've nothing to add here but my agreement really.

I'll say this though; the individual needs to determine what's going to be right for them and their surroundings and applications and move in that direction. Although, I guess the real trick (for most) is knowing what's going to be right as so many simply have zero clue what's suitable and what is not.

Most people see mil-spec and make a purchase...Most have no clue whether it's better or not. Marketing, as you say.

I remember once (before online shopping was popular) someone ordered some dog toys for me, including a rubber tire type frisbee. Everything was incredible quality. Only problem was it took like 3 months to arrive 🤣

Three months...It came from the moon? Maybe just China.

That's a good question 🤣 Could be why so many things get lost too, maybe it burns up when it enters the atmosphere.

What a lovely pictures you have a motion picture I love it keep the good work going @galenkp

I'll try and keep up the good work, cheers.

It was a pretty lame rant, but you have so many much better things to do with that energy :)

Did it get resolved?

You're right, it wasn't in me to expend energy on a rant when I could use it more productively.

Yep, the refund came through last night.

Oh good one less annoyance to deal with. Did you end up getting your belts from elsewhere?

Nah, I haven't reordered the belts yet, that's this weekend's job.

I get the frustration. I am more of a mild ranter these days. Not worth getting the blood pressure too high. However, I do tend to feel better after a good healthy rant! lol

It's best to get it all out and, like you, a passive rent is the way it happens...On the blockchain at least. In real life...Maybe not so passive. 🤔