Silver proof Franklin half dollar/ Re-blog lottery for 3 HSBI!

I've always liked Franklin half dollars. Something about the feel of a fifty cent piece is just kind of cool. Bigger than a quarter but smaller than the old silver dollars... and 90% silver! They were produced from 1948 to 1963 to honor Benjamin Franklin who was not a president of the United States which also made it kind of cool.

Benjamin Franklin was a multi-talented man. As an inventor he came up with bifocal glasses as well as the lightning rod. He was the founder of the University of Pennsylvania as well as the United States ambassador to France vital to receiving French aid during the US Revolutionary War. He was also an accomplished publisher and a signer of the US Declaration of Independence. He played a key role in the early days of the United States as a nation and is one of the few men on US coinage and bills who was never the president. In addition to being a very talented man by many accounts extremely well liked and very personable.

An interesting fact about the coin is that the first few years it was in production relatively few were produced due to the large number of Walking Liberty half dollars still in circulation. Philadelphia was the only mint to produce them in 1955 and 1956 for that reason alone. It is also one of the easier coins to collect due to it's short run in circulation. Here's the coin of the day:

s-l1600 (50).jpg

s-l1600 (51).jpg
photos mine
Pretty isn't it?

About the coin:
Composition: 90% silver/ 10% copper
Mint: Philadelphia
Minted: 1960
Mintage: 1,691,602 in proofs
Strike type: proof
Weight: 12.5 grams
Diameter: 30.61 mm
Total silver: 0.36169 troy ounces
Design: obverse- John Sinnock reverse- Gilroy Roberts
Obverse: Benjamin Franklin
Reverse: Liberty Bell

The Franklin half is a great coin to collect and stack because it's 90 percent silver. A lot of these are sold as junk silver in the heavily circulated varieties. If you have any question or comments feel free to leave them below. Also if you have questions about the #silvegoldstackers you can do the same. Thanks for stopping by!

And my disclaimer: Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:
Wikipedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_Franklin
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_half_dollar
PCGS
https://www.pcgs.com/coinfacts/coin/1960-50c/6701

image.png

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! The people who re-blogged were: @daniellef @florakese @matthew1 @olaf.gui @trautenberk

Thanks everyone! It really helps my engagement which I'm working hard to improve!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Screenshot (288).png

Congratulations @matthew1
I just sent over the funds for your 3 HBI units!

Screenshot (290).png

Now for day six of the re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. Bots aren't allowed to enter please. Contest ends when I publish my next post which should be tomorrow.

Good luck to everyone!

What are HBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

image.png

Sort:  

Very nice!

When I think of the Franklin half, I always think of my dad. He had a large mason jar filled with them. I suppose he still does, but I haven't asked him about it since I was a kid.

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dbooster just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

That's cool, I'm sure he still has them stored away. Thanks for the PIMP, I'm out of calls for the day but have some
!PGM
!lol
!meme
!luv

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@dbooster, @thebighigg(5/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Very nice proof coin. I wish I could have one like that.

They aren't horribly expensive, but with economic conditions anymore everything costs more... The Philippines produce some nice coins too!

I like the eagle next to the bell very much, it's beautiful, I think it's the result of collecting Polish, German and Russian coins for half my life, there are eagles everywhere 😂

American coinage also has the bald eagle on almost every coin. German marks have that cool eagle too, I'm not as familiar with Polish or Russian coins. I can't wait for you to share some of them!

I'm not as familiar with Polish or Russian coins

then I'll give you an interesting fact. There are Russian-Polish coins. which have two denominations 10 zloty - 1 1/2 ruble

Very nice Franklin, I am jealous. Working on putting together a set of Franklins myself. Just started not long ago though.

Thanks! This was an older pickup that I have pictures of on the laptop. Nice Franklin's have been going up in price recently I've noticed which make it harder on us collectors...

I buy them when I remember to, hehehe!
Nice coin. @thebighigg !

Thanks you!
!LUV

@silversaver888, @thebighigg(1/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Not my most favorite design but can't deny the proof looks nice

Design was too simple I think, they could have done a better job. The proofs are cool coins though!

Beautiful Franklin proof half dollar my friend!😀
The year's eludes me, but there were several years where they produced "special mint sets" instead of Proof sets.....
Just as beautiful!😀

Thanks! A lot of those sets were broken up to sell coins separately I believe, but I've seen them for sale at coins shows fairly often.

I need to go check now I have at least a couple of the special mint sets with Franklins 😊

I have a few of these that I bought at a flea market.

That's really cool. They aren't the fanciest coins but I've always liked them.
!luv

@florakese, @thebighigg(3/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Make me rich!

Let's all get rich!

Nice coin!

Reblogged

Thanks! I got you down, good luck!

Most people don’t like Franklin halves, but I do. A very undervalued series.

I completely agree, I think they're great investments.

Very nice 1/2 dollar bro. I'm a Portuguese Canadian and I like those 1/2 dollars too. I just got to Newark, NJ, USA. Tomorrow I will be visiting The Bank of America near me to buy $100 USD of 1/2 dollar rolls. I'm hoping to be getting a few silver 1/2 dollars. Good work my friend.

Thank you! Sounds like you should enjoy Newark. How is your trip going?

Bro what a run around I got between yesterday and today until I finally tracked down 8 rolls. I got all 8 from a bank called Peabody or something similar to that. So far 2 rolls i opened. I am getting these half dollar coins with the dates on them 1776-1976. Once I get back home i will be uploading my pictures. I love the US.

Those bicentennial coins are pretty cool. Can't wait to see your pictures. Las Vegas is one of the best place to get half dollars because they are used as payouts in blackjack.

You received an upvote of 9.3% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

thank you ssg-community!

Congratulations @thebighigg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 10

Congratulations @thebighigg! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Thank you!

It's great to see you contributing to the growth of Hive, @thebighigg. Thank you for participating in Hive Power Up Day!

Congratulations @thebighigg! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12