You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The programmer hiring process at BlockTrades

in #software3 years ago

I didn't get the HIVE airdrop. I never expected I could be included in the Exclusion list and I was waited the launching, but I realized my HIVE wallet is vacant... I think something is wrong.

Sort:  

Hi, I'm sorry about that, but I asked someone involved in the exclusion analysis to check into this, and it looks like your account was proxied to zzhang at the time of the hardfork, and that account was voting for Justin Sun's sock puppet witnesses that were used to takeover the Steem chain. This is why your account was excluded from the Hive airdrop.

I suspect that you probably weren't the only person to proxy their vote to zzhang without realizing exactly what they were doing, and I know that zzhang offered some sort of reward for doing so.

I often think that the vote proxy feature is a bad one, because it lets people pass their power on to others, without necessarily fully understanding the significance of doing so.

On the other hand, it seems you are still proxied to zzhang on the Steem chain, so I suppose you may still be ok with their voting choices. If so, I can't be entirely sympathetic, since they voted for taking Steem funds from many Steem accounts, including my own.

Thank you for your considerate answers. It helps a lot for me to understand what was going on in steem and hive. As you said, many Korean users including me just vote proxy to zzan.witness without understanding the situations in order to get votes from zzan. I came to steemit as a doctor to write articles about medical knowledge and get rewards from them, and gradually went over to Appics community. I invested to steem and appics at a great cost, so that I just wanted to get more votes but I didn't know that zzhang did bad things to you and many steem accounts. I don't know much about history of high witness of steem and hive, but I now understand there are troubled relations between them and I feel sorry to you if my unintended behaviors affects you bad. But like I said, I am just a author and investor without any political views. I just want to get what I invested, that's all. If I got Hive in a normal way like other steem users, I had continuously posted my articles here, but I couldn't because I didn't get my shares. Also, I tagged 'palnet' whenever I posted articles, but I realized it is here in hive as well. I know it's too late, but I still have regrets and leave a reply. Thanks.

Thank you for responding as well: I appreciate your understanding.

I suppose it's all understandable to some extent: you are probably not the only person who mostly understood Steem as a social media platform, and didn't understand the importance of the governance aspect of a blockchain-based social media network.

With the creation of Hive, there is more emphasis on the importance of the governance model, and we're still working on improvements to the governance system for the future. The proxy system as it stands today is still a problem, I think, because it does allow someone to lend their weight without necessarily knowing what is being done with it. Hopefully our improvements will remove this problem eventually.

Also, I was being waited for SMT project to be done, but it was stopped due to Justin Sun. I think that had blocked the possibility of huge development of Steem and I am so angry with it. There were disagreements between witnesses but I think at least Hive team should have given me chances to choose using Steemit or Hive. After Hive launching, I tried to write several articles in Hive, but it was not easy because I didn't have my Hive power which were originally my valid rights. I feel victimized because I was so against Justin Sun at that time and my proxy was not matter of interest.

There's one basic disagreement we have here: "my Hive power which were originally my valid rights". Hive didn't exist previously, no one was "owed" it. Hive was primarily created for everyone who was actively opposed to Justin Sun's takeover of Steem. And it took effort on the part of many volunteers to create a new cryptocurrency and setup the infrastructure to support it.

During this process, one thing that became very clear is that very few of those volunteers supported airdropping the new currency on voters who actively supported Justin Sun's sockpuppet witnesses. The general sentiment was very straightforward: why reward those people who had actively helped Sun centralize the Steem chain, essentially stealing their home, and forcing all the work associated with creating a replacement chain?

Mayvbe it is not clear what I mean by "sockpuppet" witnesses: I mean these weren't even real people. They were just a bunch of accounts created by Justin Sun's tech guy and voted in by the Steemit tokens. Based on the fact that you said there were "disagreements between witnesses" about Justin Sun, I guess it's possible you didn't understand this. But there wasn't a much of a disagreement between real Steem witnesses, there was a disagreement among the existing witnesses (and the stakeholders who voted for those witnesses) and Justin Sun.

But even if you didn't know this, I'm quite sure that the zzhang proxy did in fact know this. Their representatives were at the meetings between the witnesses and large stakeholders and Justin Sun. And they publicly posted their own stance regarding the disagreement between the other stakeholders and Sun. They were not secretive at all when it came to their opinions, and anyone voting for them should have become aware of it.

Now I think many of the other stakeholders felt that zzhang was essentially holding the chain hostage, by requiring that either Justin Sun or the opposing stakeholders would give in to their own previous demands (some of their posts had been downvoted in the past, for example, so I think they were asking for removal of the downvote function at the time). I think this negotiation tactic annoyed most of the other stakeholders: it's not a nice tactic to extort someone for personal favors when the blockchain's decentralization was facing an existential threat.

Now I don't mean to say that zzhang was the only supporter of Justin Sun. There were a few other stakeholders that felt that Justin Sun would bring marketing benefits that would make it acceptable for control of Steem to be centralized. But most Hive enthusiasts viewed this as compromising moral principles in favor of profit, because decentralization was a core tenet of blockchain technology.

And there were also some people that were convinced that all the existing Steem witnesses were some sort of cabal, and that Justin Sun would be no worse, so they decided to vote for his sockpuppet witnesses. Everyone's free to have their opinion on such matters, of course. But I guess it's not surprising that all the people who worked so hard on a volunteer basis to get Hive going (and this was no small amount of work and was done as a labor of love) were not excited about rewarding people with that attitude either.

I totally agree with Justin Sun's inappropriate works and most members of my team who had written medical blogs with me left steem after Justin Sun's joining. But I wanna ask one more thing, does Hive exists only for the volunteers and witnesses who had made efforts to create Hive, or for every users who wanted to invest and write blogs to Steem and Hive to preserve their system?

From my point of view, you're welcome to post on Hive if you want to.

I can't say for sure about others here, but my guess is that no one would bother you if you posted here now. I hope most have moved beyond the Steem breakup and are focused on the future.

10/10 on the response. Good job #KingNerd