Stepping into downvote hell >_>

in #spam6 years ago

So I downvoted this post. (Could have been one of millions.) And surprise-surprise! I get downvoted from 4 different accounts. Pretty cool actually! This is the future, no longer are you tortured by real-life bullies, no! Give the bullying to your bots.

What I find especially interesting is the way in which they hide their identity behind a veneer of legitimacy, let's look at the different accounts that recently downvoted me shall we :)

Veneer Of Legitimacy

So first up, a short list of the slave accounts spamming the flags:

Now imagine these guys downvoting everything you've ever posted XD

Anyway most of them are pretty weak, if even one of them is what the steemian natives called a whale I'd have been in the deep end.

Now you might be asking what's the harm in this idiot downvoting everything I posted? It's not like it actually changes anything...

It's not about me this time.

It's about stealing identity to gain credibility among others. Bang!

The danger of accidental trust

Seeing torbrowser on the list was kinda surprising, how could they hate me? I've done nothing to them. But I soon saw that they weren't really the people I though they were.

Until there is some way for steemians to ensure that the accounts they are talking to are the actual official accounts we're going to keep seeing these problems.

Luckily this bot owner didn't post any malicious links with this account but I can see it happening in the future.

It's not like I think this is the only account that the bot owner has either. If he's targeting semi-well known accounts. Then its almost certain that he's got others also under his control.

Until the time we get some kind of verification running I'd suggest that companies/celebrities please clearly link to their steem account on their websites.

Sort:  

I don't understand why you are down voting me.
I don't even know why someone would hate my post. Hell I try to help others as much as possible. I believe I deserve a explanation.

How to trade Crypto with a 400% gain guarantee screams scam (As soon as you have the word guaranteed in the title its a scam)

I showed proof of how to do it I'm not selling anything. This method is arbitrage buying a cryptocurreny on one exchange selling on another the profit margin today is almost the same. So you down vote posts not even pertaining to this post. If you have a objection leave a comment explaining my "Fatal" words. You I'm new here just learning the ropes but I know one thing these sorts of actions push new people to the Platform away. Isn't the whole cryptocurreny game about gaining mass population adoption? I feel your actions are ridiculous. You should really get a new hobby.

I haven't down voted this post though its too old

This doesn't even have anything to do with steem, its common practice on online media. I've received masses of email spam before, and unfortunately some posts are similar.

Your down vote is equal to spam. I see that discussion of these issues are useless. You have your mind set. Have you even tried Universal Basic income ? They actually give you crypto.

I've read about it. But your post didn't reveal any of that information.

Well oh my what should be your recourse in these actions?

It says free Crypto

Do you even understand the meaning of spam? I'm trying to help you here, if you fix up the article you can repost it and it might even do better than it's doing currently.

I completely understand the spam concept. Yes it's not the greatest post in the world but it's far less offensive than your actions. You wanna see a post you'll see one tomorrow Im sure your brain will be tickled into extasy. I'm giving my earnings away to help people starting out and your basically killing the #MinnowSelfHelpProject I hope your proud of your actions. Ive distributed funds and votes to many smaller accounts. I guess now I'll just upvote the contests pull in my 3cents a day sell all my Steem and devalue the cryptocurreny. Thanks for the inspiration I'm off to kill the Steemit plattform.

Do you realize that I wasn't the only person that downvoted your post. it would never have fallen so much with my meager influence. If you want to avoid those spam check bots then add the relevant information.

The post I flagged also screams scam.
You are trying to take advantage of peoples greed. (A typical scam artist technique)
You are offering them something in return for increasing your exposure.
Your representation of mannabase isn't accurate, it doesn't have anything to do with steem.

Yes your right nothing to do with Steem but alot to do with cryptocurreny. It costs them $0 it's all free. How is that a problem? So anyone posting anything not pertaining in Steem is evil? This is absolutely crazy.

Where's my great gains of this scam? Giving some free stuff isn't a scam.

I'm not saying you are successful, I'm saying your post comes off as a scam.

I'm don't even think you're trying to be like this. It's just an unfortunate result of being inexperienced with the internet.

I sure is I sent that Nigerian Prince my retirement fund and I'm trying to get it back here on Steemit duh huh

Congratulations @alterna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!