My Two Cents on the Impasse of the Last Couple of Weeks.

in #steem5 years ago

Hi guys!

I probably should not weigh in on this since I do not consider myself overly savvy when it comes to matters relating to blockchain and specifically the Steem blockchain. However, it’s hard – for me anyway – not to comment when I see us struggle as we’ve been doing the last couple of weeks.

But I’d like to say that usually when organizations find themselves in a state of near chaos, everyone is fearful and the first knee-jerk reaction is self preservation. It’s part of the human condition. However, I would like to point out this near chaotic state is not necessarily a bad thing. In fact. some perceive it as a very elevated state which is the last step before revelation and solution.

But, let me digress for a minute if I may. When @dan-atstarlite introduced me to Steem and Steemit back in July 2016, I had my doubts. Concepts involving the Steem decentralized blockchain were confusing to me and in some ways counter to many business truths I was familiar with. One such paradox then trying to resolve the relationship amongst witnesses, contributors, investors and members including whales on one hand and Steemit.com, Steemit Inc, @ned and @dan on the other. But, for the greater good, I put my concerns aside regarding this conundrum and once I saw the promise the Steem platform could deliver especially in Arts, Health, Education and Humanitarian ventures, I was committed. But I knew in my heart of hearts that it was not going to be all smooth sailing and voila, we are where we are and it was inevitable. But it is inevitable for all decentralized blockchains – including the juggernaut EOS as we’ve seen since it’s launch.

So, as a result, we are now facing a critical challenge and probably walking on ground never tread on before. I can only hope we are up for it. We have many smart and dedicated men and women in our community, too many to mention here. But be assured, if we can come together and blow through this impasse, we will be golden and run away with the field.

In my opinion, though it’s senseless trying to circumvent these current issues. So, we need to understand ‘not’ what the potential solutions are at this point but to understand the dynamics involved and what the real issues are. In truth we are all on the same side but just with differing opinions.

I congratulate and thank @jesta for attempting to clarify the situation and as well, @lukestokes, @aggroed, @timcliff, @transisto, @ned - hell all the guys you contributed know who you are.

But there are just some things we need to understand and accept moving forward.

Firstly, be careful what you say. It’s not what you say that counts. It’s what is heard that will prevail.

Further when a company or an individual perceives a threat, whether real or not, defensive action usually results and oft when companies are involved it’s mandated to act.

Also, like it or not, it is not pragmatic to build a solution to any impasse based on altruism. There are millions, if not 10's of millions of dollars at stake here and it’s naïve to think that this reality can be overlooked or excluded from any solution.

As often as not, the pathway through situations like these can usually begin by working together on an incidental goal and in so doing establish the new dynamic.

It’s also a good idea to cool our jets after such entrenching action has occurred and everyone commit to him or herself to cease any further action or crossover discussion until a suitable discussion forum can be established.

Also, please commit to putting all the negative talk of the last few weeks behind us.

Also, work at not taking criticism personally.

I know. This stuff is straight-forward, but there are times when we need to be reminded and I just felt this is one of those times.

Therefore, in summary and in the hope of moving forward, once we let things settle for a week or two, it’s probably a good idea to set up a new communications forum - there’s nothing wrong with it being sequestered for the time being – but the forum is not to discuss solutions. The goal of the forum is to bring witnesses together with @ned to identify, discuss and come to some agreement on what the problems are - if any. The meeting needs to be adjudicated and all parties need to accept the concept of adjudication.

Please accept this in the spirit in which it is offered.

Good luck to all and to Steem's promising future.

Sort:  

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



There are more than two cents in this post. And some good advice too.

All valid points! Uncharted water for sure! It is cool to be part of this.

It is and it's a story we need to follow.

To be honest I missed most of the negative things and talking you describe and I am glad I did. I believe it all will work out fine sooner or later and if not for the people who are present here now, others will come and join.

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @brian-rhodes ... you may want to take a look at the posts from @steemalliance which was just setup this week. There is a discord attached to it where anyone can join. @ned has been dropping in and chatting informally. There is a Townhall meeting there on Sunday.

Yesterday, the new Managing Director, Elizabeth, and the Director of Content, Andrachy participated in the monthly Witness Chat on The Ramble. The recording of that is expected online today on my account.

This afternoon @pennsif will be hosting the next in a series of very well attended forums on the State of Steem which will be aired on MSP-waves from the PAL discord.

On Saturday, also in the PAL discord, @aggroed will be hosting a Witness forum of the top 20.

There is communications going on. The ones between Steemit Inc and the community is a new addition and something everyone, including them, are hoping will blossom.

I suggest you join. If you are not yet on Discord, I'd suggest you download the desktop version. Links to the discords I've mentioned can be found in the posts. If not, feel free to hit me up in Direct Message (DM) and get links from me. Be more than happy to help.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

On the third saturday of every month, @ned should think of doing a Fireside chat ala: U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt. He did 30 of them. Just to let people sort of know what was going on. If something is scheduled on a regular basis, then people will find it, will listen, and may even participate. If for what ever reason @ned is unable to make any particular third saturday, then he should have the com-gal (elizabeth, I think), do the show in his place.

it's a more comfortable environment for @ned in shows already underway and there is more interaction with the audience than trying to do something like a livestream.

the 'com-gal' is the Managing Director... a very smart professional lady.

Hi @brian-rhodes

Great piece of work buddy. Just one question: wouldn't you like to add some picture? Your post without thumbnail photo does look a bit like spam.

introduced me to Steem and Steemit back in July 2016, I had my doubts

Wow. Are you here since 2016? I didn't know Steemit existed that long already. (I also noticed that your friend @dan-atstarlite already stopped posting over 2 month ago :(

to understand the dynamics involved and what the real issues are. In truth we are all on the same side but just with differing opinions.

Seriously you grabbed my attention right here.

Thank you for sharing your valuable point and views with us.

Yours
Piotr

Lets just hope cooler heads prevail for the good of all.

Posted using Partiko iOS