How to get DOWNVOTES from good Steemians?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

A lesson learned story

Yes, it hurts - but it has a good reason.

8412419054B243F3B41EE200C7A2B7AC.jpeg


My idea

There is this German spoken picture contest from a business partner with damn cool prizes and I thought to myself

Why not give the German Steemians a hint to join.

So, I asked my partner if I‘m allowed to use his pictures to promote the picture contest and he was fine with this.

grab the pic and and the hashtag

After doing all this, a post with some links was easily done with Steempeak where I did this with using my own template.

7485A38685DE4F8E8CCFB66179ACDE04.jpeg


So far so good

After having the post ready and published, I remember to give that post a bit more visibility and thought to myself....

Would be great if we could make this trending in #deutsch, the German speaking community tag.

I normally don‘t boost my post with bots, so I gave a tool try.


Now I found the
hidden function
to get really great
DOWNVOTES


Like always in life you have to be careful what you do.

That tool - I used - gives you a clear way to measure how much funds you use to promote your post.

Even better, it estimates a position in that TAG you choose. Means how much do you have to spend to reach position 2 in 8 hours or so.

There I messed it up and there is the hidden function to get really good downvotes for good steemians.

Overpromote your post and you earn the „Love“ from this People who have an eye on our system.

My thanks goes to @theycallmedan @acidyo @mmmmkkkk311 @spectrumecons @jarunik @joshman @vikisecrets @waphilip @centerlink @eonwarped @kenanqhd @forexbrokr @lyndsaybowes @devsup @netaterra @heimindanger @howo @argentsilver @remlaps @baro89 @skramatters @meditations @uncommonriad @marki99 @downvoteme @jocieprosza @sk1920 @petanque and all the other Steemians who spend their time

And I really like this feedback, even if this takes away some value from my post, because I misused the boosting function. We need this to keep the reward pool healthy.


Getting DOWNVOTES

This are not always some unfriendly bot or unhappy users.


3F346B3A85A84071902E5376751AB38C.png


People take care for steem

Finally I saw this one today and I had to some and had to „borrow“ the picture from the account @downvoteme

116F2C997F6E4C9BA31E331BDA30C6D4.jpeg


Result

Yesterday after I saw what I did, I was really down.

Building up a good reputation on steem with spending a lot time in quality posts, in my beloved #BeerSaturday challenge and the fun BEER token and all the #SteemMeetupAachen events - I saw that I burned all this with that idea.

Now after a night and a coffee I like to share me ERROR with all of you to help you NOT doing the same.


Make sure
you double check
whenever you play
with new tools!



Shit - I made an error

Not the error is the bad thing. If you don‘t learn from this and you - or other - do the same error again, than you fail!

A8F495D3BB3E4E099B55F2F60EE1931F.jpeg



Have a great day
JOIN the BeerSaturday
and steem on!!



@Detlev love steem

 " "detlev steemit klein.gif""

JOIN Steemit #BeerSaturday

JOIN the Steemit BeerSaturday Challenge TODAY with Detlev.gif

More from @Detlev


Get / shop my book by steem
JOIN BeerSaturday Challenge

Enjoy & Engage Follow & Resteem


Sort:  

This is the best post I've seen in ages! And I just posted my most epic piece ever lol.. But this gives me hope and I Thank you for being a responsible and active steemian! REsteemed!

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't flag you, though I could have left this on your post. Seems some are getting a little pissy about this, but I think it should be a STEEM standard!

NO, you haven't been downvoted (on this occasion!).

Lol, almost hit you on trending also. Good thing i read the comments first :)

The title on this blog says 'got' steemians ?

Bloddy f@cking autocorrect

I was suspected a typo, LOL! 🎯😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was thinking a while about what kind on typo.... „d“ or „od“

I didn't flag it when I saw the post because you're one of the good guys and I've never seen you taking the piss before ! People need to use discretion before going in all guns blazing and ask first , shoot later when it's such a well respected member of the community.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so nice from you and keeps my motivation up.

I saw that post yesterday but l can't understand a word (dutsh). This is the hard way to learn a lesson (thanks for share it), but your attitude of recognize it and move forward is what I admire the most. Cheers to that!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @liliana.duarte for understanding this attitude I have for steem.

I still didn’t quite get it, I think...
Was the problem the very precise tool you used? (Whichever tool that was.)

Or was the problem the “overpromoting”? And how do we measure overpromoting?

Isn’t that a matter of subjective interpretation?

I’m still a bit scared to post or use the ocdb bot since the HF.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @connecteconomy

As I wrote it was a mixture. I had the idea to show that photocontest to German steemians - to have fun and win something and than I overpromoted it with steemium - which is a good tool if you don’t act as stupid as I did.

Did all this on my travel back from Berlin in the train

Anyway, it happend, I learned, I try to teach other and paid my part.

Show the community respect or get rekt that’s what #newsteem is all about

Wh00ps! It happens :D

I'm actually sort of glad 'good Steemians' are not given a pass, if we want to clean up this place we have to be consistent.

I think everyone who knows you realizes that it's a one time error from your part :D

And you have a good war time story to tell at your Steem Meet-ups ;-)

Hehe dear @soyrosa,

Errors happens and life goes on.

Next #SteemMeetupAachen is at the 20th of September and I Love to chat with you while sipping a Beer

You happened to post at a time where the Steem community is discovering it can have a positive effect on trending. You have done so much to build the community and it is a shame you suffered like this, but I am sure you will get over it.

Things are getting interesting as bot owners find they are losing business. Nobody has the right to earn here and it should be up to the community to decide where rewards go, but a small group wield a lot of power. If they use it to attack good people then it could destroy what confidence is left in Steem. That will benefit nobody.

Hi @steevc,

I‘m fine and I can stand some „kicks‘n‘downvote“ and even better - I love to learn.

Have a great weekend and hope to see you soon again.

Gute Darstellung, aber ich denke ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit Gebot-Bots sollte eine für beiden Seiten lohnende Alternative darstellen.

Bid-Bot-Missbrauch könnte dann zu Bid-Bot-Gebrauch (Bid-Bot Abuse → Bid-bot use) werden, welches von der aktiven Community reguliert werden würde.

Danke für Deine Rückmeldung.

In der Tag ist das immer ein schmaler Grad den man mit all den bots bewandert.

Richtig oder Falsch ist mit sehr sehr viel Graubereich vorhanden.

Anyway, das Leben geht weiter und Fehler sind dazu da das man sie macht und LERNT!!

To be honest I find this kind of hard, also hard to believe all these Steemians read your post. They used tools to scan in no time and down vote while others read content by content and vote manually. There are way worse content, just a link, copy-paste and I have not seen any of these names downvoting these posts. I wonder why. Because they do not earn anyway?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing your mistake, luckily, I hate bidbots!!

Just like the others, I didn't flag you, you don't normally use bidbots and you did say the high vote value was a mistake, no reason to flag someone for a first time mistake, we all make mistakes :) Nice to see you didn't take things badly, you will probably make a lot of the STEEM if not more with this post only.

and all the other Steemians who spend their time

Why they don't spend time to look where ist the next meetup post
and supporting them?
i got the same downvote for my post with all Meetups in Germany, Austria and Swiss.
cheers and good luck for your Meetup at 20.September in Aachen!

Good idea my friend. This #SteemMeetupAachen needs another Post....

Lies dir mal diesen post durch,
wenn das Schule macht,
dann gute Nacht!!

Er hat einfach nur eine Meinung kuntgetan:

https://steemit.com/steem/@crypto.piotr/open-letter-to-whales-please-be-mindfull-with-your-mass-downvotes-before-it-s-to-late

Congratulations @detlev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 68000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 69000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You are great working on steemit platforms

Posted using Partiko Android