You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago

What is Bob's repair? They had no platform before doing an ico for their SMT.. or appics? Both had no communities before announcing becoming SMTs. Both did or are doing ICO's via SMT. As far as I've read SMTs will allow you to do an ico and start a community as well. You even called EOS a fork of Steem..

I guess I don't see how SMTs are any different than erc20 aside from the fact they run on a better blockchain, and they have some built in voting and naming functionality. Which is what EOS will have.

One more thing I forgot to mention. EOS was a fork of bitshares. People called it a scam because it had the bitshares graphene code in it. So if EOS is a Steem fork, then isn't Steem a bitshares 2.0 fork?

I am in now way a cheerleader for EOS though btw. I have invested more cash into Steem. Even if my EOS is currently worth more..

I just think this is a social media platform that is supposed to be decentralized. So Dan or EOS posting here should be fine. Other people post about other chains all day.

Discriminating on one chain over another is not good, unless it's Steem. We are on Steem so I'm fine with a little favoritism going that way. I just look forward to competition. Without it things are allowed to suck. Even ned said as much in my reply in his 'downvoted for aggrandizement' comment.

I respect your decision though. Sorry for the long winded comment. There is nothing wrong with wanting to support the things that are going to support Steem. Or not wanting to support the things that are not going to support Steem.

In my perfect world Steem and Bitshares are both running on EOS. More inclusivity and less division is surely the best route. If that were the case it would just add users to all 3 blockchains more than likely. This road we are on is a divisive one unfortunately.

Sort:  

HELLO!
You and I we see things MUCH THE SAME mo frair..

"I guess I don't see how SMTs are any different than erc20 aside from the fact they run on a better blockchain, and they have some built in voting and naming functionality. Which is what EOS will have."

I AM SO F*ing DONE with ETH.
Had my fill.. ;-)

SMTs are supposed to be more application specific

And it would be nice if Pepsi and Coke had a group hug, combining their formulas so that everyone could enjoy the perfect cola. The reason it's unlikely is that they started with different interest-holders and agendas. I'd love to see a kumbaya-hug and everyone work together, but I don't see that as likely.

The reason SMTs are better is because they can plug right in to an existing community or site. Sure, there are new ones that want to use SMTs also. Some may be better candidates for ICOs on other platforms, while others will be perfect fits here. The SMT concept predates EOS, by the way.

Pepsi and coke are private companies. Technically MIT should have horded grqahene from Steem, bitshares, and EOS. Hashgraphed it. Instead it's open source code.

I think that having a cherry coke one day is nice, and having a Pepsi the next is nice. I'm glad convenience qbd grocery stores don't have wars against companies. That they allow both on the shelf so the customer has options.

I do agree that that is a good thing to be able to do and that does give SMT that advantage. I just don't know that EOS will not be able to.

I heard about communities after the last HF. I never heard about SMT. Maybe you are right that they came first.

I thought Steem was the social media blockchain. If they focused on that that's a good niche worth billions. Becoming a jack of all trades might leave them a master of none. I hope not.. as I said I invested more money here than EOS. I just don't like having to pick a team and rooting against the other. Which is what crypto appears to be about sometimes.

Thanks for taking the time to get back to me though yo.. I appreciate your thoughts.