Introducing the Mentions App for Steem

in #steem7 years ago

Have you ever wanted to see all the posts you're being mentioned in?
Are people referencing your posts in theirs, and what are they saying?
Or perhaps more generally, what kinds of discussions happen around particular topics?

I have built a concept search app to answer some of these questions I've been having.

Screenshot from 2017-05-29 15-51-42.png

You can search for 3 different kinds of relationships.
1.) User Mentions
2.) References (backlinks)
3.) Search Terms

User Mentions

User mention is when someone refers to someone else in their post using the @user notation.

Usage
To find all recent posts that mention someone, type their @username in search (@ is necessary).

For example, when I narcissistically searched for myself I found plenty of responses to my own posts that I never knew existed, novel ways of using SteemData, ideas for SteemQ, and other goodies.

Backlinks

Like user mentions, backlinks are a powerful way of discovering replies, and broader discussions around ideas sparked by particular posts.

Usage
To search by backlinks, simply paste a link of the original post into the search.

For example, here you can see all posts that mention recent busy.org announcement.

Keywords and Phrases

While User Mentions and Backlinks are very precise tools, sometimes its useful to look for areas of discussion around a broader topic.

Usage
Treat the search box like a basic search engine. For example, here are the results related to machine learning.

To search for keywords and phrases effectively, follow these strategies.

Post Includes ANY of the keywords

machine learning

Post Includes ALL keywords (unordered)

machine+learning

Post includes a phrase (ordered keywords)

"machine learning"

Mix and match (machine learning posts that mention 'brain')

"machine learning" brain

Exclude a keyword (machine learning posts that don't talk about 'brain'):

"machine learning" -brain

Closing Thoughts

Mentions is a concept application, and as such, it has many rough edges.

I would love to hear your feedback...

  • is the app useful to you, and what are you using it for?
  • what kind of problems does it solve?
  • how can I improve it?

You can find the Mentions App Here

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Cool, eSteem detects mentions of @ username and backlinks. Used to send notification for plain mentions as well as part mentions, but some users got unnecessary notifications 😀 like libertarian would notify libert, libertar, etc. users. But now, logic has been updated and it does only notify proper users... Noticed libert searches for all combinations here as well, might need some refinements... 😉 great tool, powered by SteemData!!! btw, really like image...

I use esteem and get the notifications, but the backlinks never work.

You mean when you open notification and redirection to post or comment doesn't work?

Yes. I click the mention notification, and it opens esteem, presents me with the pin, and then I'm just left on my home feed not knowing how to find the mention.

Sweet, definitely a nifty way to see who/when your getting mentioned and referred too. Right now I just get the pop-ups in my browser when they happen, but than that's it. No historical summary, it will be great to search and see it all in one place.

Yup, this is sooo awesome! I hope putting it to use daily!

Oh my gosh I needed this! Thx @furion

my reaction too!!

dayum that makes three of us!!! Thank yo so much for this @furion (mention intended :) )

@furion

Have you ever wanted to see all the posts you're being mentioned in?

yes! is that narcissistic? hmmm...
but then it may show us a lot after all most replies start with our user names being mentioned too

Dude! You've just solved half my life's problems. I've had a dozen people ask me about tracking mention and this gets it done! Keep up the good work @furion! :)

Nice concept! Hope it comes into place well. Keep it up, I know when I'm coding positive feedback always encouraged me. Upvoted ~

Perfect! One of my first posts (written at the time when I realized it) was about inability to track mentions, but since it didn’t get any attention, I thought that people here are ok with it. I’m glad that is not the case! I have been watching you closely lately and the time has come to cast my 4th overall witness up vote. Keep up the good work!

Thank you :)

You're scary productive @furion - what you have created in support of this platform .. it's really nothing short of amazing. We owe our current and future success to the hard work of individuals such as yourself. Thanks for all that you do .. Long Live the Developers!

I have recently discovered a holly grail of increasing productivity. I should probably write a post on how I did that.

or you can keep the tricks up your own sleeve :) If you decide to share bump me or I will probably find your post on the trending page :)

thanks man! this is great! long time no talk. looking forward to explore the possibilities of steemdata. keep up the amazing work!

Hopefully you can find a use case for your machine learning tutorials.

dont get me started :)

THANK YOU this is REALLY helpful I needed this badly to help make sure I can find and upvote everyone's posts talking about me 😀

I use eSteem for this purpose. Not very convenient. And sloooow.

If you are desktop users, @furion got you covered 😉

This is a great tool. It's only showing me the past 3 mentions though. Is that the way it's supposed to work?

Congratulations @furion!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 2 with 828 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 5 with 129 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 1441,82

This is a really great tool! Unfortunately, not many people have mentioned me, but it was nice to take a look and comment on those that had :P Thanks for putting together this tool, @furion!

I been looking for this type of Tool for quite some time! Appreciate it Furio, this will be used by me on the daily basis. It's great to see Developer, socially interact with the Community but it's even better to experience Developers build tools specifically for the Community!

yahoo! your the man!

This is great @furion! many us could have great benefit of being able to find where we are mentioned and tagged with the many things we work and involved with. Great thanks & appreciation to what you do.

Very useful tool! Thank you for this.

THANKS FOR SHARING THIS INFORMATION, IT IS THE VERY FIRST TIME I COME ACROSS IT!

I have seen other work relating to some of what you have done, on autos teem, but I have yet to try this one. Thanks again for the excellent information and the opportunity to discuss the matter. I'll be checking it out soon enough... ;)

Namaste :)

This is a great way to track who mentioned me and in what context. A truly cool app. Upvoted, followed and resteem

This is genius my friend, you are doing us a very very big favor. Thanks!

Yay @furion!!! Such great value you bring to Steemit. I'm so grateful we get to be the recipient of your intelligence. Thanks for filling in the gaps where the filling is needed. Once again blessed by you!

I'm using it already and spreading the word around. This app works amazingly well--just what Steemit needed! Thanks again @furion.

This is awesome thank you!

Nice! It seems very usable and helpful. Good work @furion

Very good tool to have. Great Job!

While I doubt I'll see myself mentioned much, I am interested in the concept of this app. It's alot like the search engine Reddit uses in which you can peruse particular topics for discussion. Cool stuff @furion.

I just started using steemit after signing up and buying some steem power in August of last year (dumb!) so I searched and dint find anything under my username yet. I sure gonna use this app and have bookmarked it. Thanks

The results are limited to last 90 days only.

Think I asked for this 20,000 times! Most needed feature!!! Thanks Thanks Thanks!!!

This is just awesome!!! I search for my username & came to know that one of my friend had mentioned me on his post.

What I'd love to see is a WP plugin that tracks SteemIt traffic. I know from testing this that SteemIt does not show up in the traffic reports, which is also true for some other social media. This looks good for internal SteemIt traffic, but if it could be extended outside SteemIt and integrated with other platforms, that would be ideal.

Great idea! Resteeming ~

Very nice, should further tighten the community by providing additional links from/to users with similar interests 👍🏾

This is great, Steem has been needing a better search option. Awesome job @furion

Badly needed this! Much much thanks :D

Wow ...excellent search app...found my post.....Upvoted followd and resteemed..


Thanks
@bibek

very necessary and useful and it worked :D
Thanks, man! Glad to see you've been working hard since SF :)
Cheers!!

Wow, such a great idea. Very well done 👍

The older steemit become the more features will come along like a growing child. Cheer for all the hard work you put in dear @furion . This feature is definitely going to help the users and also increase the activity in steemit.

Yes more and more tools! keep on pumping out steemit tools to us! we needed this. #searchme.

oh waw!!!!

Everyone is looking for an app like this one, @furion! You have just received my Re-steem, upvote and follow!

Wow.. This is great.. Very useful👍👍👍

  • upvote and following*

This is awesome, thanks @furion!

I love it!

Brilliant! Primeaux ! Excelente !! Thanks @furion @furion-forever !
keep calm.jpg

great job! I was asking for this today (and SteemWatch seems down ;) )

Thanks a lot for making this! I have wanted this since a long time!!!

There are 3 pages
Pages