You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Safe Steemit ~ 1 Day Voting Moratorium for the Whales

in #steem8 years ago

I think the base of Steemit is to have a decentralised social network. I think it's not about who is on the trending page. Yes it can help, but the basis is to find people you like to talk to and read articles from, as well as discover new articles, right? And have a decentralised social network were no-one owns your content and is not using your data to sell to advertisers.

So IMHO one could just neglect the 'trending' page and move over to 'new', 'hot' or even their own 'feed' so you see articles by people they follow. I mean yes Twitter has trending pages, but do you look on them, or are you interested in what other people you care about post (e.g. follow a hashtag). Or on Reddit, do you check deep buried communities or read the frontpage? If you are into something you just go to the niche community.

Also you could use search to stumble articles about topics which might interest you and discover it that way and start commenting on articles to build a follower base / social graph and/or follow new people you like.

What i try to say is, embrace the fact of having a decentralised social publishing network, instead of the power of the whales to control the trending page... Or is this Steemit all about the money?

Sort:  

regardless of this, for an experiment, this could actually be great fun and interesting to see.

Everybody just needs to chill out, stop worrying about the inequity, which will solve itself as more accounts reach higher steem power. Good freaking cow, it's not that complicated. Free market. Leave it alone.

I agree with the majority of what you're saying. However, if Coke or Pepsi (on our wishlist) someday wants to buy a lot of STEEM to Power up, so they can post Corporate Announcements on here.. we want those types of whales coming in to promote their own stuff. This will buy up a lot of the liquid steem out there.

It's a difficult problem. If it goes to all minnows and dolphins, it can be bad. If it a goes all to whales, it can be bad. We need a self-adjusting vote regulator that dynamically responds to the daily trends. That requires an artificial intelligence module to learn and watch. That may take some time to make I think..

BTW, sorry I saw the post a day later. :(

Yes, using the slider does help. Even for me. If I feel really good about a post, I upvote it 100%. If I'm a little "meh", it's a good post, just it doesn't have the full force behind it, I go to 30%. If I'm on the fence.. I see the value, and think it should be voted, but I don't want to cheerlead it on, I give it 50%

So my mood greatly affects my slider. Each time I slide my slider, I'm kind of waiting for someone to call me out on my decision, which I could qualify each time if they did... but luckily no one does that.. and I don't have to.. :)

The slider is something that may be key, I agree. good post.

Those who are leaving were contributing jack all to begin with in most cases. Attrition is normal. Those that don't meet the demands of the market fall out. Why is that a problem?