Why are creative people not joining Steem?

in #steem5 years ago

From the start I could see that Steem could benefit those who create content, but who struggle to earn much from it on-line. A few YouTubers make good money, but the majority will make little or nothing. Bands make money by selling music, merchandise and gig tickets. Artists need to sell their work, either orginals or to publishers. All of these could be making money on a daily basis just by posting on Steem, but it is only happening to a very limited extent.

I can see a few reasons why Steem is not getting used by such people and I hope to get other opinions on this, especially from those content creators who are using Steem.

They have not heard about Steem

This is quite likely unless Steemians have been reaching out to them. There is little or no visible marketing of the Steem platform going up. Maybe Steemit or others are doing deals behind the scenes, but we need ads in mainstream magazines or on sites that will be seen by the artists. I have mentioned it to plenty of artists, but they have not taken it on for some of the following reasons.

Steem is too small

There are something over a million Steem accounts, maybe nearer two million by now, but only a few tens of thousands are active. Many of those are bots and there are a lot of people just playing games or just interacting with specific aspects. That probably leaves a few thousand who would curate good content. Some of those may have substantial SP, but are they looking out for good, original content? The lack of users is a bit of a chicken/egg situation as good content creators would bring an audience with them, but may want one that is ready-made.

Lack of time

Any artist with a social media strategy is likely to be committed to publishing on a specific set of platforms and these are likely to be those with the widest possible audience. If they are going to be making their art too, then there may just not be time for Steem. They are missing out on the rewards, but when they can reach thousands elsewhere who may buy something that may be a better use of their time. I had a comment discussion with bassist Steve Lawson on his blog that related to this. He has been writing about the benefits he gets from using Bandcamp.

It is blockchain and that is dodgy!

Steve Lawson did seem a little suspicious of this aspect of Steem, but we need to sell it as a freedom rather than as something related to people buying drugs on-line or some sort of pyramid scheme.

It is not real money

Well we know that it is. You can extract Steem to spend via various means, but that may be harder in some territories with restrictive crypto laws.

It is hard and slow to open an account

It should be easier now and anyone with a good amount of SP can create accounts with resource credits. I have done this for a few random people on Twitter and delegated to them so they can operate. This should not be a barrier.

You can get flagged by trolls

This does happen as there are people who are quite happy to mess things up for the 'LOLs'. Good people have been driven away from Steem by flagging campaigns. Some have accused @SteemFlagRewards of this, but I see little legitimate content being flagged. There have been cases where I disagreed with some of it and I spoke out about this. There is plenty of real abuse that needs taking down.

Something else?

What do you think? How can we overcome these obstacles. I am looking for things I can act on as I really want to see some progress.

Steem on!

The geeky guitarist and facilitator of the 10K Minnows Project.

Sort:  

Some are still living in ignorance of not yet informed about steem while some have not yet discover the potential of steem even though they have here about it

I gotta be honest m8. It's not an enticing platform to be on, for creative writers and artists at least.

It's a question of comparative value... I see posts on here daily consistently earn big, why? Because they're about steem. But who from outside this ecosystem wants to read that type of content? This eco chamber effect makes it a very strange platform from a mainstream perspective.

Various whales, orcas etc drive this tendancy to steem-centric content being rewarded higher because they want to push steem away from content rewarded for its own sake, to a model that follows a reward structure that incentivise their business agenda... Just look at oracle-d.

Btw, I'm not attacking oracle-d they're just the most obvious example of what I'm expressing here.

Any artist with a social media strategy is likely to be committed to publishing on a specific set of platforms and these are likely to be those with the widest possible audience.

From my perspective, what you say here is the closest to the way I've slowly started to think over the last 6 months, and I've come very close to leaving to focus on medium and finishing a novel I'm writing. Time Vs return is definitely an issue from a freelance writers view point.

My point is that decent creative writers can earn much better on sites like medium (or patreon if they market themselves right). I can only speak from my perspective, as I'm a creative writer.

I honestly think that a lot of people are missing some very obvious issues that could help steem build a real buzz and drive to adoption simply because they're earning well off the back of buying into the 'lets talk about steem' mentality.

What we need is a way to incentivise some mainstream audience to come here as we're too content heavy ATM. But we also need to entice (and retain) high quality authors, film makers, musicians, YouTubers etc. I know of one decent musician who gets shit all support really, check out the last post I resteemed. He's a drum n bass producer and regardless of whether someone likes that style of music, he does what he does very well.

I'm not having a go with this comment, but I am giving my opinion about this straight up, no holds barred. I've spoken to two published authors about steem in the last 2 years I've been on here, one of whom is the granddaddy of graphic novels and neither of them would touch it with a barge pole. When I asked one of them why... he said from what he could see when he researched steem, 90% of the writers he read and enjoyed were highly undervalued.

I just think it's truly sad and disheartening, that so many people in power on steem can't realise the simple fact that the original concept of 'rewarding content based on quality' is steems best USP. The reason why a huge percentage of creators we retain are average at best, is because of the system gaming that goes on, mainly by those people at the top of the food chain (I'm talking about the owners of vote buying services, without those so-called services their would be a level playing field).

Ironically, if none of the bots and gaming had happened, and maybe some type of HF to make it essential to power up a certain amount before taking earnings, i think steem would still be in the top ten coins. Everyone would have been a winner, instead of a select few

Dyou think PAL might help resolve some of these problems - seems like a much better place for creatives.

I think Pal is interesting as a proving ground for 50/50. But the way it's set up, much like steem engine, is hardly decentralized. But I'm not down on Pal, I think it's cool.

Honestly m8, IMO there's only one thing that will improve the issue stevec raised. I don't see the people who could intact the changes that I would like to see doing anything other than trying to corner the market as much as they can. The only thing that will turn this platform into a better version of what it was before HF19 is whales/orcas/dolphins removing the majority of their delegations and either manually curating based on quality, or delegating to curation guilds like @curie who have a proven track record for rewarding based on quality.

At the moment we have a tone of dapps building business models based on the idea of giving ROI to those who delegate, but they're not always bringing much real investment of fiat to steem in these scenarios as they get a load of SP by dangling that carrot in peoples faces and raising a fck tone of SP in a week. I'm not sure how this is actually adding any intrinsic value? To my mind, the main benefit is that it's keeping SP on the platform, but one could ask the question; how much steem do the people running the dapp sell? All the while the large SP delegations disappearing to Dapps (and vote buying services) isn't being put to work retaining and onboarding high quality people. I'm not saying dapps are bad, or that people shouldn't delegate to them, but it's a balancing act and at the moment the scales are so far one way that it's destroying the very audience that those dapps need to thrive. Also, the view I've seen bandied about the place that getting/retaining high quality content creators doesn't matter is just bunk. High quality content creators, like my author friend who has had one of his works made into a Hollywood feature film, would bring massive audience if they really got behind the idea of steem.

Right now we have an insane self fulfilling prophesy with a lot of unsatisfied customers and (comparatively) a few people making a quick buck.

I personally think steem is like the proverbial goose that laid the golden egg. The USP (rewarding quality content with crypto) was a winner from day one, but unfortunately a yard full of geese started chipping the gold away for themselves while pecking the sht out of anyone's legs who even tried to get close.

Ha ha, this is turning into an analogy fest 😉

I read a post yesterday from someone I don't particularly read much anymore as 99% of their posts are about steem and that just bores me senseless. They did say one interesting thing though, that steem is like a car that's still in the design stages. However, I'd say their analogy isn't right. It's a popular opinion to have on here that all the projects are amazing and all development is good and we're just a few years away from massive success.

Final analogy, I promise.

Steem had a fully working prototype, but a bunch of people stripped it down, sold the wheels on ebay and they're now trying to rebuild it from the ground up. Seems a bit insane to me that the original prototype was never given a proper chance 😂

Having said all this, my first reaction about HF21 50/50 and the Economical Proposal was that it could possibly incentivise some of these behaviors I see as being what's needed. Higher amounts of SP manually curating, or gaining return from curation guilds via curation rewards for delegation. We shall see.

I read some posts about Steem just to keep up with what is going on, but I'd rather read a comic or listen to some music. I will continue trying to support good content even though my vote is just a few cents. I will add @nickyhavey to the @tenkminnows trail so he gets a little more support.

Yes I agree with much of what you say, it is a terrible platform for serious creatives.

Still, I think this move to 50-50 is a move in the right direction.

I was reading recently that some people in PAL would like to see an 80-20 curation author split.

Now THAT would be interesting! As will Dtube going the opposite way it seems, at least in some ways (don't quite fully understand that yet!)

I like a good analogy, my brain's just not coming up with any ATM unfortunately

I think this move to 50-50 is a move in the right direction.

I'm hopeful... but I'm not allowing myself to become emotionally invested as I have too much skin in this game to not end up losing my mind a little if HF21 just makes things worse and steem plummets even further. But honestly, I understand the reasoning behind Trafalgar's proposal and how it could work. If it does own it that way it should improve things which will be great 🙂

As you say

I was reading recently that some people in PAL would like to see an 80-20 curation author split.

And about dtube.

I agree, these experiments in different author/curator splits are interesting and great for testing the waters in how to incentivise behaviours that grow the user-base of the platform. Also just from an analytical perspective to watch human behaviour in action. At the end of the day the most effective way to stop people being selfish is to make it more rewarding to not be lol

The human condition.... cut off your nose to spite your face 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

PAL may help some people, but it is likely to get abused too. We have freedom on this blockchain. I wonder if PAL bots will spring up, but maybe the way rewards work here will discourage it.

I know the MSP project are holding back 2M PP (PalPower) and while that's more for emergencies, they reserve the right vote against the worst abusers.... that's 1/10th of the pool.

50-50 may make it impossible to run a profitable bot?

We shall see. I hope they can make palnet a more productive place, but the community has to decide if they want quick profits or a sustainable platform that people will want to use.

This is the sort of honest feedback I wanted. I appreciate that a lot of good content is not earning much. I am more likely to vote for that than another post about Steem, but some of those have paid votes. There is a lot of good writing, art, comics and music here that keeps me coming back. The community needs to appreciate that supporting that could bring in more.

There is a lot of good writing, art, comics and music here that keeps me coming back. The community needs to appreciate that supporting that could bring in more.

Yeah, I agree. It's the virtuous cycle thing. The reality is that crypto in general is highly speculative, so what steem needs to do is create buzz and attention by really rewarding those who produce what mainstream costumers want. Mainstream consumers across the board, from your X-factor watching lover of reality TV, to your reader of the observer news paper arts section... all these people are valid consumers who wouldn't last 5 seconds scrolling through the steem trending page. And if they could see what they like on trending, and steem was marketed properly it could have become like the crypto version of medium/YouTube.

I've heard a particular view point coming mainly from people who create massive value in the fact that they develop things behind the scenes, but aren't really making content. The view being; that all steem's problems come from the fact that there is higher sell pressure than buy pressure. And this is the fault of content creators. Whenever I hear this it just makes me laugh. They're not completely wrong, but how would steem ever work without a carrot for the end of the stick. That's the whole value proposition from an outsider's perspective, to be paid either to create or curate. Of course people are just gonna take when there isn't systems in place to make it more profitable to 'both' stake and sell steem. I really think if some type of mechanism had been implemented to make staking important to be able to function on steem before they changed everything up early 2017, then we'd have a very different steem right now.

This is all conjecture of course, but the logic follows that a steem without (or with limited) bot abuse and a strong incentive (or requirement) to stake a minimum would be a much more healthy ecosystem. I also think that if there had have been the happy coincidence of that type of scenario during and after winter 2017 bull run, steem would probably have seen some level of mainstream adoption by high level artists/musicians/writers/film makers.... hell even a celeb or two. I remember being very encouraged in my field of content to see an award winning poet on here in 2017 called Yahia. I don't think he still posts.

I am more likely to vote for that than another post about Steem, but some of those have paid votes.

I get what you're saying, and I'm the same in that 99% of the time I vote based on what I like to consume, not trying to front run on posts that I have no interest in to play the curation game. But this is another issue with steem tbh, the tip jar effect sends money flowing toward people who buy votes, or have networked well! Some of those lucky few who've caught an orca or twos eye do produce decent content, but more often than not it's that they work for them in a discord community or they are fulfilling an agenda based around a project etc. I'm not saying any of that is wrong per say, just that networking is king here, and to a talented creative watching it all the message they go away with is that quality doesn't matter. I could name 8 talented fiction writers on steem who produce 1000 word+ stories that are well crafted who make less than a dollar for those creative posts, and easily name 8 people who make short average content who make $20+ every time... and I don't mean people with over 10000 SP.

It is what it is. I don't mean any harm in what I'm saying, or particularly don't want to see them do well, but this ties back into my first point

it's a question of value

Only the stubborn 1000 word plus fiction writers have stayed, or like I have, they've changed up what writing they post to steem and keep the fiction for submitting to traditional literary journals and magazines.

Anyway, I'm glad my comments were valuable and constructive. I've had a tendency in the past to get wound up about this type of thing but the last month or two I've found my objectivity. Been meditating a lot 🤣😉

I agree. This platform will scare away artist in short time unless they have time to fit in and do extra next to their own creations.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it is a question of time, commitment and if you care about the rewards. I know many people put out excellent creative content on other sites on the internet for free, but that doesn't take away from the fact that once you come into a system like steem, as a decent writer... or artist.... or musician it ends up feeling like a massive slap in the fact when you see shit posts or just very insular posts rewarded so highly.

And so the quality is driven away and the shit rises to the top. It is what it is unfortunately, but maybe things will change... I'm still hopeful :)

Some great points on there.. tbh

Cheers, yeah... just trying to be honest while staying objective. There are many things that have caused steem to get to the point it's at now. It's a hard climb now for steem to fulfill its potential, and I honestly think it could have been avoided.

Posted using Partiko Android

Some do but change. Why? Because you have to join a community or more, join contests to earn SP and be able to post.

You do not earn for good content or art. You need friends and if it comes to art the level is low here so are the people who response on it.

There are better sites for the creative ones and if you like to create, show your art and be with the ones who think and are like you this is not the place.

There is no room for real creativity here. If you join you frequently have to follow so many rules it kills your creativity and if not it is rated very low, because in the eyes of common people creativity is different from what an artist, real creative mind is.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think we can say that creativity does not earn here. Some people do, but they can get lost in the noise of bot votes and groups who just support each other.

If you want my two cents as a content creator about this platform, I won't hold back.

All bid bots must disappear completely from this platform. Full stop.

When I first got here, it was obvious that the trending feed was manipulated with poor effect. One sentence posts with a gif of a dancing turd earning $300... Come on!

These guys have over 30% of the steem rewards pool locked up in a never ending cycle of self upvote rings with various other bot accounts, anyone can see it in a week. Then they leave. Understandable when the content creator spends hours on their next piece for it to consequently get 5 cents tops!

I think HF20 was pretty damning for new accounts (which is complex enough to get your head around but then people can't post comments after their RC has run out).

I also believe HF21 is going to see another exit of what content creators were left after HF20 with potential author rewards dropping by up to 42%.

Just hard fork the bid bots out and then that trending feed would be filled with varied content that would excite the outside world but it's just the same steem related boring stuff that no one understands if you aren't a developer! SMTs... Who cares? Where's the travel posts, music posts, fictional writers, latest current affairs news and reviews, funny original videos... Nowhere to be seen.

That's why people don't stay.

Thanks for the tag in a comment thread with @raj808 and I appreciate the support as well.

Why do I stay? Because I want to develop my blogging, writing and video skills in the communities I'm in here. The reason I joined in the first place to earn something from writing and music and learn a few new tricks. And it's something I do on the side of my job (or when I had one before travelling) so it's not my sole income, which I'm not planning on taking out for a while either.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for joining the discussion. In theory HF21 should make bots less attractive as you will get less of the rewards from their vote, whilst they would make even more. From what I have seen buying votes for 'promotion' does not generally work unless you get on the first page of trending. I see posts with $50 in paid votes, but no real comments. The author may only make $2 from that, but the bot wins from selling the vote and curation.

I will get behind projects that support real content. My @tenkminnows account is part of that and you should get more votes via it now. I want creative people to stick around, but I have limited power to help. I don't care that much how I make for myself as I've done okay so far.

I hope that theory comes true then. I have to admit, I don't know how the process of bid bots work, just see the effect of them from the trending page and comments thread. Like you said, there aren't really any comments or interaction on those trending posts. I get more engagement on some of mine so I guess it depends on what's important to those that use them.

Thanks for putting me on the 10k minnows support. I'm personally trying to be smarter with the steem I get from post payouts. I've been using steembasicincome but slowing down on that so I start to see some of the return I put in. Otherwise, when hf21 hits, I'll be trying to grow by even more curation.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't disagree with any of what you're saying here Nik.

The only thing is that I don't think it's possible to HF bidbots out of steem unless you get rid of delegation outright. That's my understanding of it anyway. As a dolphin who just wants to create content on here, and reward good content I enjoy I'd be fine to see delegation go. But I don't think most people would tbh. But I do agree with this statement 100%

All bid bots must disappear completely from this platform. Full stop.

I think the only way it will happen though is to make them less profitable to delegate to than legitimate projects or curation guilds.

Posted using Partiko Android

Then let's hope the changes in HF 21 can deter people from using them.

If they can't go then I'd like to see them change their tack and work with manual curation initiatives to make the best use of the sheer voting power those bid bot accounts have and support content chosen by manual curation folks. Can you imagine the difference that would make. Curation rewards alone with 50/50 coming in would be staggering and it would benefit everyone.

The trending feed would look good with real world content and it would be varied.

Posted using Partiko Android

The Palnet trending page is a little better as it is not controlled by bots.

I'll definitely be using palnet a lot more. I am mainly on the go via Partiko on steem which uses the steemit trending page I believe. Ib have faith that it will get better though. At least things are being tried out 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Delegation is a powerful tool on Steem and too valuable to give up. I delegate to lots of people, but not to the big bots. 50/50 author/curation rewards should make buying votes less attractive. Some bots do have some ethics and operate blacklists for abusers, but there are enough who do not and cause problems. It will be interesting to see if they survive HF21. I am sure they will try to find other ways to make money.

Lack of a strong narrative is in my opinion a big reason.

People are prone to follow trends and do things for little other reason than "everybody else is doing it".

Steem is from this perspective a complete outlier. Anyone from "the middle class" of content creators who'd come here would be seen as something of a nerd.

It would be different if a BIG influencer, a pop star or something would open an official account on Steem and draw others to the platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Too complicated to figure out. People like to log in and just post. They don't need or want to learn about keys and infrastructure ect.... 3speak is doing a good job of bypassing this and bringing in youtubers. Will be watching to see how it works.

You get ignored as a small account and lose interest before you find your place in the system. I think it was only pure stubbornness that kept me here for the first year of being ignored and earning a cent per post. We need content discovery and hopefully the tribes will help for that as well as finding your place on the site.

It is more complex than other platforms, but with the decentralised nature it's hard for it to be otherwise. Still, a lot of less technical people seem to cope. When you start you have to sell yourself as you would anywhere, but if you have niche interest then your audience may be small.

There really is not "Outlet" for an artist to sell his/her products on the steem blockchain. There have been a few attempts at making store type fronts for people to use, but they have not succeeded very well. Right now the only way for an Artist to see any revenue is through the votes received.

The seven day time out of a post somewhat restricts the visibility if an artist has something for sale. Right now about the only thing an Artist can do is advertise themselves and their product on steem, and give free samples away in the form of posting a picture of what they have to offer.

For a writer, well a lot of them have been driven off steem because of adverse comments and vote actions and accusations of just raping the reward pool and reposting already published items. Four Authors that I Personally enjoyed reading stories from are pretty much gone from steem blockchain strictly because of the Harassment received.

There is a lot of talk about the permanence of the blockchain, but the reality is that beyond and past that 7 day window, people do not look very often. If a painter wanted to show pictures of his paintings for sale he can do a post and then send them to his "for sale" site like Etsy or amazon or even face book.

So steem blockchain as far as professional bloggers, artist, authors, photographers, wanting to sale something can only really be used as a means of advertising themselves, and to get that advertising out there to the crowd so to speak, they need to spend a lot of time commenting and replying or face the reality of obscurity and maybe votes but no eyes at all on their content.

Great points.. I forgot about the whole 7 day thing.. that makes it so that things seem stale that might have grown over time a la the slow clap to thundering applause phenomena. Or things that are shared and become cult favourites. There's simply no way to create that kind of vibe here..

We desperately need a marketplace for trading Steem for products. I have bought various things and spent several hundred dollars to acquire some cool stuff, but it involved using email to sort out the details. I don't mind if the marketplace takes a small cut to cover costs if it makes the process easier.

The 7 day thing is a pain. It was 30 days in the early days. At least we can earn more through PAL and Snax now.

What do you think?

Many people who are here probably use Steem as a source of "income" to fund their other crypto ventures. As long as crypto is still seem as some questionable magical beans, real people won't be coming here in droves.

Look at all the bot farms, bidders, etc. Steem is just a "poor man's mining rig". You click and earn. You get some money to ask bots to provide "more money", which is really just inflation that devalues everyone else's stake.

Then, you sell it before everyone else does so you make profits while others suffer depreciation in their Steem wallets.

Let's not get started on the most inept stakeholder of them all: STINC.

They don't market. They don't set the tone. They don't lay down ground rules with their massive stake for years. But, they have no problem playing the "shadow puppet master" who still want to influence the politics, hard forks, etc.

Their delegations have a history of massive abuse. Abusers were never held accountable. You have projects that are nothing more than giant Steem mining pools. Those projects don't generate revenue. They don't have real business models. They are just there...mining Steem. It's funny because Trevon James uses that mining term a lot.

Back to the bots, they are the same thing: mining pools. STINC manages to approve tens of thousands of accounts for faucet farmers, but real users have to wait. It's so hard to create means to delegate RC, apparently. So, they are left with leasing out 15 SP per farm account. It makes you wonder if they are the ones operating those voting farms.

How about the promotional services? Very few of them even attempt to check what they are voting. They are basically "lawful" mining pools run by some known names on the platform. Take the silence from @therising or @rocky1, for example. They don't care. They pretend they don't see or hear you. But, if people are complaining they didn't get a vote after paying, you bet your ass they will jump right on it.

And Danite whales like @freedom doesn't care. They are here to reap quickly and retire early. It was never about any long term investment. It was about being able to mine as many shitcoins as possible and keep cashing out until it's no longer sustainable.

Those bots that do not discriminate on what they support are contributing to making Steem worse. There are persistent abusers who just keep pumping up junk posts to take a little profit each time. SFR has to expend a lot of effort to cancel their profit, but the bots just get richer and more powerful.

I hate to see the potential of Steem being wasted.

I think the two most important are already highlighted....steem is way too small compared to other platforms and yeah, it isn't real money

It is real money if you can buy stuff with it and I have :)

I think if you remove all the alts there is only around 3 000 to 4 000 active users on here. If you have talent and are creative you also need time as that won't guarantee you success. Engaging with other users is more valuable than talent and if you do this with whatever talent you have then you will be fine.

Time is the main issue I think and if you make cents it may not seem worth spending the time that might actually might help build on that. Vicious circle :(

I think right now the rewards just aren't worth it for a lot of people. I also think a lot of people are scared for Crypto Currency. Especially in the US where the rules and laws about it are so much more strict. It can just be a huge pain to have to deal with all of that. Hopefully things will turn around in the future though.

There are opportunities for early adopters, but it requires a commitment of time that many cannot spare.

You make tons of excellent points and refute them as well..

But here's the thing.. the learning curve

refuting them after the fact when you know the system is easy.. knowing what refuting them means when you are an outsider is just a non-proposition.. why invest brain power learning why getting over the hump and getting into steem is of any value when there are, as you say... so many other things to think about for creative types..

In my world... comedy... so much of it is live, and so much of social media is FB for promo of events.. and asides and jokes.. and twitter is practicing your puns and one liners..

I started @assfaceproject to see what having a steem presence would be like.. Problem is I feel guilty everytime I post there since there's not much content and too much promo.

I tried to convince some burlesque people who were losing their accounts on instagram to come over.. but none have taken the bite..

And honestly (second point), when they look at any feed all they will see is endless posts about crypto. drugwars. actifit activity. And worst of all TONS of posts about people leaving steem or lamenting the low value of steem and powering down or the flag wars and people taking the piss out of ned and steemit..

What a welcoming community.

I lucked out and got brought into the arms of the @welcomewagon people.. but many of them are lamenting the HF21.. And validly so..

So take a look with fresh eyes. Imagine reading posts today as a newbie and wonder if this is the kind of place you want to invest hours of your creative time to be rewarded with possible pennies a post... and maybe even a downvote.

That said, I am still into it. It reminds me too much of livejournal although I know my posts are like pissing in the rain.. but hey.. it's a place for me to put stuff out there into the nothing and let it drift off to oblivion..

Anyhoooooooo... also going to keep trying to tell my peeps to come on over to the dark side and have a presence here as well as FB, twitter and youtube..

It is intimidating for newbies. I am sure there are efforts to welcome creative people, but they may have limited power to support them. @welcomewagon looks interesting. My issue is lack of time to keep up with what is new, but I have automated some of my voting to support people I know are doing good stuff. I want to make more minnows!

You've mentioned few good reasons out there mate

People weren't buying Bitcoin when it was 3 years old

When we BUIDL our ecosystem they'll join

If you do build a great experience, customers tell each other about that. Word of mouth is very powerful

Steem is still fairly young in social media terms, but it's about time it broke out. Thanks for all your efforts to make this happen and for your support.

Steemit has become unfit for monetising creative content (and I for one can no longer in good conscience recommend it to artist friends for that purpose). There's your elephant. It's in the room.

That is sad to hear you saying that. This platform has such great potential that is being wasted for the sake of greed.

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.925 which ranks you at #372 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 377).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 125 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server