Sort:  

It is not like I am going to stop writing

Good. You really shouldn't. I understand your frustration, or at least, try to. But maybe you should just take it easy, remember that Steemit is still a wonderful opportunity, one that did not exist five years ago, something good and even that air that's just enough to breathe might not have been here :) I know you know this and probably understand what Steemit means way better than me, but still...everyone needs a bit of cheering up :)

:)

I think I just feel stagnant and a little inept that I am unable to do a little more each day. I think it is time for some experiments.

Well, it can't hurt trying something new, can it? Who knows when you strike gold. At the very least, these experiments of which you speak might get you out of this mood, which I'm sure would be a very good thing.
A little more for yourself or the community? 'Cause it seems to me like you do plenty for the community already :)
Whichever it is, I hope you find what you're looking for.
:)