Editors for Writing Steem Posts

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I had a post today all ready to go but I was using a non-tested, non-vetted new editor for Steem and I lost it by clicking on an image (which refreshed the page to show just the image) and clicking the back button after that to take me back to the editor. About an hour, maybe an hour and half of thoughts and writing gone.

So this one is short and sweet. Someone suggested the editor I am using now and its great. Its called StackEdit, and can be found at https://stackedit.io.

If you haven't found your editor yet for writing your Steem posts, give it a go. I have gone back and forth and refreshed and all my content in this post is still here.

What is everyone else using?

Have a great Monday everyone! Maybe I can write about something else while I let all those thoughts re-sink in (it was quite long!)

Sort:  

I write all my posts in Scrivener .. I can add the Markdown as I write and then just do copy / paste to the Steemit editor .. seems to work well.

The other day Windows decided to restart on me for updates mid post, but it was all saved when I got back anyway. Not sure how yours could disappear.

Yeah, if you write in the editor on Steem its okay, I was trying out a different one (different website), it apparently doesn't save your content at all so if a failure occurs like the one you mentioned (or the one I had) you lose all your content. No hard feelings against the group that is developing that new editor, I'm sure it will be fine, I'm just a little mad at myself more than anything for using something that hasn't been vetted by others yet and losing what for me was quite an effort.

Ah misread it! Yeah that's a bummer :/

Yeah. It was one of those that you look back at and say, wow, this was a great piece. Oh well, its gone now. I'll have to wait for inspiration to hit me again :P.

Credit to @johnchang for pointing out StackEdit.

Oh man, I feel your pain. Nothing worse than spending a long time working on something, then have it disappear into the void because software does something unexpected.

I'm pretty old-school when it comes to writing Steemit posts. I do all my writing on my iPhone Notes app, then copy & paste into an e-mail to get it on my computer. From there I paste into the Steemit submit form and do markdown formatting. When I've got it looking right, I copy & paste into a Notepad text file and save it for future reference or in case the submit form malfunctions. For spell checking I rely on the built-in Windows spell checker. And that's it. Call me crazy and primitive, but this procedure has worked just fine for me so far.

That's what matters in the end though. That process would probably drive me nuts but everybody's different and used to doing things their own way.

Thanks for the condolences, I appreciate it. In my mind it was a good post - one of those that if you lose it you just have to decompress and let it slowly come back to you. It'll happen. Just not today. :P

Ooops! I write all my posts in Word. I have multiple tabs open as my thoughts flit from one subject to another. I can then save the doc to the cloud and keep everything I post for Steemit.
I've had documents disappear never to be seen again and it deflates me every time!
Good Luck with the next one ;)

How does Word work for you, is there a conversion that you have to do or is it a simple copy & paste? I don't have the desktop version of Word but I use World Online from time to time.

Thanks, I think (and hope) I'll be better with the next one :)