You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why aren't more of the top witnesses running/supporting full nodes?

in #steem6 years ago

Not sure why my node is not on there:
appbasetest.timcliff.com

It is currently syncing though, as I am in the process of upgrading it to use RocksDB.

Sort:  

Thanks Tim, added above. Appreciate you running one!

I am not sure what a node exactly is and I am a little bit surprised that so many people know it.
I am not a programmer, developer, witness or something like that, just an ordinary, regular user.
I simply like to say thank you to the witnesses for their work!

FFS, you missed the point entirely.

Missed? Entirely?
I don't think so. Just because I am grateful? Being grateful is never bad.
Even if "We have a severe lack of full nodes and the ones that are available are getting slammed."
No matter how they are doing their work, I am still grateful for their work.
Have a nice evening and weekend!

I stand my my statement.

What can I say? I have much to learn.
But I am still grateful towards the witnesses.

yo @xolosive...the point is they are not doing what they are supposed to do..run FULL nodes !!

As I understand the post, there ARE witnesses running full nodes, just not the sufficient amount of full nodes. Steemit should have more full nodes. My point is to be grateful towards the witnesses. Without them, Steemit would not be Steemit.

Short and easy version, a node is what runs the blockchain, full nodes run the entire blockchain.
They are like the engine of a car.

Thanks for this explanation! It is really short and easy.
I have read some sentences about the topic since writing my comment above and @pradeep.sidd68 wrote 5 hours ago that "Nodes that fully verify all of the rules of block chain are called full nodes...
Full nodes ensure the perfection and accountability of block chain transactions.. which not widely understood."

Thanks to both of your explanations, now I have a very basic, brief knowledge about what a node and a full node is.