Why aren't more of the top witnesses running/supporting full nodes?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

The primary responsibility of the witnesses is to ensure we have a well running blockchain. They are heavily rewarded for this.

We have a severe lack of full nodes and the ones that are available are getting slammed.

Why don't the witnesses care enough to do something about this?




Current RPC Full Nodes:

@timcliff = appbasetest.timcliff.com
@curie = rpc.curiesteem.com

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Why aren’t they running full nodes? Because that would cut into their profits.

Get me in the top-20 and I’ll run one public and one private. OR... I’ll host a Steem festival/convention in Vegas next year, with actual marketing to real companies that might find a use for this blockchain.

In other words - I’ll do what most of these leeches refuse to do or don’t know how to do. I’m just a nice guy like that.

this actually sounds fun, hey @idikuci @take5 @buttcoins can you consider putting this guy who looks like scorpion in mortal kombat on the witness vote list?

Sounds good to me. I love Vegas and I love Steem.

" I’ll host a Steem festival/convention in Vegas next year" Sounds like jerryfest

How dare you!

We won’t be performing auto-fellatio in front of a crowd of paid followers. And there’s a very good chance that I can get some rather important mainstream tech people there...people from a company such as Intel.

So, already way more potential than Jerry or SteemFest - and that’s barely trying.

 6 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

I think you can use your votes however you want, including on yourself. I also think other people can use their votes however they want, including downvoting the posts you upvote. That’s how the system is designed.

And I think that it’s also OK to point out undesirable or potentially destructive behavior while understanding that everyone can use their stake however they want. That’s what being “social” means - that there may be consequences for our actions, based on the subjective opinions and values of other people in our community and with whom we interact.

It’s a complex and dynamic system.

So, sure...I support the concept of self-voting. It would be absurd to be opposed to it, since the entire platform is based on how much you are invested and based on using that stake to influence behavior/outcomes/rewards in this system.

You discussed in other comments that if you were one of the top 20 witnesses you would run/support a full node. I mean I am assuming that if you would earn more as a top 20 witness in rewards and as such woudln't it be beneficial for you in the long run to run a platform to be such?

So my question I guess is why don't yo run for top 20 witness with your platform starting with something like running a full node? I mean people might dislike you but anyone that runs any form of app or major service will happily vote for someone that offers more stability to the system.

Or is it rather you don't care about pushing yourself for it. I mean you (nextgencrypto) are at 41st position and have what, half the votes behind you (by power, you have 1400 votes and position 20 is about 5800 votes however you have a higher amount of MVests on average per voter)

I don't know, I guess I am just wondering why you don't actively pursue being one of the top witnesses when you spend (or at least spent) so much energy trying to make steemit better.

It is not possible for me to get the votes required to be in the top 20. Those whales would never consider voting for me regardless of how much I contribute, that's the unfortunate truth.

back when @z8teyb289qav9z was voting for me I really gave a shit about this place, but never got around to actually voting, can I vote for @nextgencrypto more than once?

Well as I said with position 20 having only around double the amount of MVests backing him but way more voters, what if your platform was in search of getting as many people to vote for you (not just the whales). I mean I know that a few whales with a few GV each is better than a couple hundred minnows with MVests, but minnows (1 MV to ~100 MV for my definition) and dolphins (101 MV to 500 MV) have tons of unrest in regards to many or all of the whales.

I mean if you got 4000 more votes for witness and using the sigma of steempower is ~1000 with a mean of ~100 (78 but rounded to nearest 100 for as its all an approximation, calculated on old data unfortunately) and giving an approximation of proportion would give you another ~7.5 GV in votes.

I will redo the calculations with current data to make sure it is correct... and even exclude anyone that has voted for you and anyone over a certain size if you want but idk. Maybe it wouldn't work and you are right but I like to be optimistic that us smaller folk could elect witnesses that will actually fight the good fight.

Imo, this is the tragedy (and mistake) of the current system(regime). I obviously don't know you personally, Mr. Sanders, but I've obviously seen you around. And whether or not I or anyone else has always "agreed" with your... techniques, That is ABSOLUTELY beside the point--in fact, it is PRECISELY the reason you should be a witness. Imo, someone who is willing to go against the grain and voice their opinion should be VALUED.

In other words, in "my vision" of a truly decentralized (or at least more so than this) system, the "witnesses" will be an eclectic, diverse group--and purposively so.. . Diversity, in other words, should be sought. It's a shame what has seemingly happened to Steem/ steemit.

But Who knows. The structure is here--it's quite possible some "angel" could see the potential--something perhaps we or I do not atm--swoop-down and fix it all up again.

I think I'll stick around for a bit :)

Not sure why my node is not on there:
appbasetest.timcliff.com

It is currently syncing though, as I am in the process of upgrading it to use RocksDB.

Thanks Tim, added above. Appreciate you running one!

I am not sure what a node exactly is and I am a little bit surprised that so many people know it.
I am not a programmer, developer, witness or something like that, just an ordinary, regular user.
I simply like to say thank you to the witnesses for their work!

FFS, you missed the point entirely.

Missed? Entirely?
I don't think so. Just because I am grateful? Being grateful is never bad.
Even if "We have a severe lack of full nodes and the ones that are available are getting slammed."
No matter how they are doing their work, I am still grateful for their work.
Have a nice evening and weekend!

I stand my my statement.

What can I say? I have much to learn.
But I am still grateful towards the witnesses.

yo @xolosive...the point is they are not doing what they are supposed to do..run FULL nodes !!

Short and easy version, a node is what runs the blockchain, full nodes run the entire blockchain.
They are like the engine of a car.

Thanks for this explanation! It is really short and easy.
I have read some sentences about the topic since writing my comment above and @pradeep.sidd68 wrote 5 hours ago that "Nodes that fully verify all of the rules of block chain are called full nodes...
Full nodes ensure the perfection and accountability of block chain transactions.. which not widely understood."

Thanks to both of your explanations, now I have a very basic, brief knowledge about what a node and a full node is.

What we also really need is a private full node service. Serious Steem-based sites and services should not be relying on public nodes and should easily be able to pay for access to a private one.

The appbase and jussi projects should make hosting full nodes much easier and much more stable, so i'm hoping that we see a lot more becoming available in the near future.

Not a bad idea. And, fingers crossed, but I'm not hopeful.

Lead by example!

If I were making enough via witness income to justify it, I would.

Then I guess that's the answer to your question in the title. There aren't many full nodes because people aren't making enough to justify the cost. The amount of RAM it takes to run a full node is exorbitant, it's a serious flaw in Steem (in my opinion). Instead of focusing on SMT's, they should be focusing on ways to reduce the RAM usage because the ram use it too damn high at the moment. Not to mention the space you need and you'll definitely want a SSD.

Thank you for this. And thank you bernie for pointing this out. Witness discussion/ "promotion" transparency/ data, should be on the top priority-list for steemit. It's kind of a strange paradox of "decentralization--" things can become very insular, making dissemination of information diffcult--all the while, a blockchain, by its very design--ensures some form of "solidarity" or uniformity "across all nodes" (as has been explained above--if I 'm understanidng correctly). This, imo, is the problem with DPOS. At least with EOS they kind of seemed to have some sort of "voting"/ procedure to determine block producers--although I could only imagine what a put-on all that could have been. Unfortunately, I'm not close enough to the tech to truly know. But I'm doing my best to learn.

thats because they

Nice one x)

I think since they're already on top, it's impossible for them to see the small fish. Like the politicians!

We are only a pain in the ass to them!

They get paid regardless. Why work and get paid when you can not work and get paid?

No one cares about Steemit or STEEM. It's all just trash money that's being printed out mostly for free to those get the most of it.

There's really no reason to care, or be anything but short-sighted.

Those at the top don't want the young ones to reach their levels, anyways the young shall grow someday... steemit is becoming discouraging and I think a measure should be taken to solve this😗

this so much

Bernie, president did not work out for you, become a witness!

I have a witness - it's @nextgencrypto - if I were a top 21 witness I would run a full node and more, but I don't see that in my future.

I made a post here about helping the smaller witnesses, the community can help! https://steemit.com/steem/@alainite/lets-help-the-smaller-steem-witnesses

didnt know that. Will vote for sure !

Just voted for you for witness. Will do so from my two other accounts late tonight.
Make Steemit Great Again!

Where I can get your roadmap?

Here it is:
You vote for him, he gets more steem power, he upvotes himself and upvotes shitposts.
Censors the truth about him and posts threads like this one or shitposts of his own.
Then he asks for delegations for randowhale so he could weaponize it even more.
Not overly complicated.

@stimialiti is a poor douchebag!!

Voted for your witness here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

As soon as @noblewitness can afford it, we plan to run one, not just for the wider community but for our forthcoming new front end. We're currently at position 60 with a main server and a backup one, which is great, but it doesn't pay that well. And none of us 4 are dolphins, let alone whales.

The cost is almost prohibitive at this point unless you're in the top 20 or so. Hopefully, Velocity drops the RAM required as rumored and it will be a bit more accessible. $650-ish is a tough pill to swallow especially when many of the users don't care enough to have it as a selling point.

That said, with Velocity and some promotion, I could see getting one in the top 40.

Boss we need randowhale again.

The most consolidated post explains and answers the questions and raises new questions,

The clearest guide to understand what are "Witnesses". They are essential to Steem. Without them, Steem can't exist. Support them and they'll support you. This is a core principle that most Steemians haven’t thought much about and one this post hopes to solve

Here is the source for everyone to know more about the witnesses and the nodes, why witnesses and how does one witness and how a witness is created, how are they rewarded.

Original post:
https://steemit.com/witness/@teamsteem/what-are-steem-witnesses-and-why-you-should-support-them

I hope everyone commenting here needs to go through the post for better understanding on the functionality. I'm no different than you all.

Nodes that fully verify all of the rules of block chain are called full nodes...
Full nodes ensure the perfection and accountability of block chain transactions.. which not widely understood.

I found an article interesting to the topic by @teamsteem from last year

Posted using Partiko Android

Forgot the purpose of community development. Network strengthens the community and the top witness should be on full nodes. Finding an answer in comments. Thanks for the thought

I didn't know much about this.. So I read up on an article on witness and theier functions and what not. Here's the link :
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitguide/steemitguide-what-is-a-exactly-is-a-steem-witness-and-why-every-user-should-vote

May be, they mean the block chain tree should grow like palm/coconut tree straight in air than a Banyan tree which spreads across the area and provides shade to a large community.

Coconut trees are the top witness and we hear under your share of banyan tree :)

I didn't know much about this.. So I read up on an article on witness and their functions and what not. Here's the link :
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitguide/steemitguide-what-is-a-exactly-is-a-steem-witness-and-why-every-user-should-vote

Maybe because it's very tedious to do so!

agree with you they need to do something about it.

Wow! Something extraordinary question and want to listen to their answers. Thank you for sharing very well @berniesanders!

Maybe there should be like a voting expiration? Like if the witness has no full node in 1 year the chain turns off votes? IDK if it could work...

Maybe they don't belive the project anymore

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes no sense to me at all. It's about securing your investment - do everything you can to make what you're involved in succeed.

Howuch extra work / effort / money is involved in running a full node?

Anywho - hope you're doing well B.

vote for @nextgencrypto as a witness - at least something will happen then!

Got my vote :)

They certainly aren't doing the job, but we're the ones to blame for giving them power without really knowing if they're great voices to get us through.

Maybe they give the power to each other, and the combined power of those who still care isn't big enough to do anything about it.

Yeah i also agree with you.
They need to do this.
Otherwise we have face some problem.

I'm seeing tons of 504 Gateway Time-out messages lately. Is this related or simply a bandwidth issue?

The main mistake we make is voting for witnesses we don't know and then believing they will do the job.

There should be elections for witnesses. That way we'd be more incentivized to reflect on our witness choices every year or so.

We should be able to give negative votes for witnesses.

Flag'd

people get tired and move on to next projects. There's no incentive to work hard if you are a whale

The idea, as in everything, is to take advantage of the weakest and to benefit. If a person is hungry and someone comes along saying they have food, you go and believe them. Siren Tales

Well maybe we should ask Jerry? I don't think I know enough about witnesses to fill make a comment. But don't people endorse him as a witness to?

Posted using Partiko Android

If it's true, you have to do a good job to try harder, since you are rewarded for it, quality is to have success.

If it's true, they have to do a good job to try harder, since they are rewarded for it, quality is to have success.

We should care more about our vows and rethink them. In the real world too.

I don't want to make a hasty decision but the outcome of this post will certainly affect my witness votes. ..

Do not judge, maybe they work. We have to wait

I didn't know much about this.. So I read up on an article on witness and theier functions and what not. Here's the link :
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitguide/steemitguide-what-is-a-exactly-is-a-steem-witness-and-why-every-user-should-vote

Its good to learn about what a witness can it!

WTF? Their making so much as witnesses and can’t do their one freakin job?

Does anyone have a link - not the one already spammed to death in the comments, I know what a witness is - to explain what the difference between a full and partial node is, for those of us non-coder type people, or a quick explanation? Is it just a matter of more data? Thanks. I promise I'm not trolling, I just really don't know.

How much Mulaj/Time & sweat power does it take to become a witness?

Please read my last post!))

See what "GOOD" content is!)

Looking forward more interesting things like this but beleive me I ain't serious though. 😉

Once they feel empowered, they usually lower the level of help from the little ones.

I do not know much about witness, but count on me.

There are 2 pages
Pages