You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What are you reading? )

oooo - dog-earing pages, you evil person... But I'm glad you've been saved from that life of destruction! In this case, I destroyed a box for some hydrocortisone cream that my husband got me, but I hadn't needed yet - I prefer to use more natural alternatives when I can. The cardboard was perfect for a bookmark though - and I'm already planning to use some of the info from Joseph Campbell for my writing. His view on marriage is particularly interesting and will fit very nicely in with what I've been doing.

Nah, the techniques the USDA frown upon now were officially promoted by themselves 50 years ago, but some of us are guessing that certain lobbies got involved... after that, all you need are a couple of high-profile cases where someone dies because they don't pay attention to the details in canning safely. Yes, you have to be careful, but you don't have to be paranoid.

The way of thinking of the rebels I've talked to is this: if they can do it in a factory, we can find the way to do it at home. At my altitude, there are serious time issues too - almost doubling the standard canning times! (And when you're starting with a 3 hour waterbath, then a doubling is significant!) But thus far, the results have been outstanding.

I have a number of food-related sensitivities and my husband is diabetic, so it's good when I can make things at home for cheaper and healthier too. I have already lost track of how many times my original investment of canning equipment (only last year) has paid for itself already!

And yes, when you have two writers in the comments section, I'm afraid that a novel is only to be expected!!! But thanks for providing the medium for us to meet!

George Lucas is a genius. If you become acquainted with my writing, you will quickly discover that he's been a major inspiration for me as well... but over the years, it has developed into my own distinct brand and my own world - perfect for escape when the real world proves too much.

Sort:  

Ha ha, I still dog ear music for quicker page turns though. Although, that is a pretty widely accepted thing to do.

Canning and preserving food sounds like a really good skill to learn. Do you need much equipment?

I always loved the extra political stuff in Star wars and the complex backdrop that Lucas had for the universe. The sort of thing that seems to have gone down badly in general with the wider public. However, the cringy love narratives..

There are those sticky tab things for finding music more easily. I'm also a musician when I have the time/energy/instruments... It's been a few years since I've had a piano at my beck and call and the tiny keyboard I got to teach my daughters just doesn't have that "touch me" draw about it. :-p Maybe our next place...

Canning is actually pretty easy. For the vast majority (if you've learned enough to flip off the USDA, anyway) all you need is a waterbath canner (which is done differently in other countries anyway) with a wire rack to keep the jars off the bottom... you also need the special lifting tongs, but otherwise, it's just a matter of jars, lids and rings...

I had to learn other methods when I lived in the UK as I never saw a waterbath canner there - I learned how to do jam with other methods that are definitely not approved by the USDA, lol. But, it almost always worked. Anyway, if you're interested, I would highly recommend one of the Facebook groups - look for "rebel" or "outlaw" in the group name!

I hate politics, yet somehow our entire lives are governed by politics - whether our country, our town or our neighborhood... even our families. So, yes, politics ends up faring heavily no matter what.

Anyway, I hope you're having a great day!

Ha ha, I'm a traditionalist! These new fangled sticky tabs sound like an abomination of technology to me! 😁

I'm sure that's the path to the Dark Side...